$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

The Drake Hotel

4 stars
140 East Walton Place, Chicago, IL 60611-1501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
285 reviews
A Great Chicago Weekend

The Drake provided a perfect home for a weekend of Chicago experiences. Its location is perfect for... See full review

  • Sparkster
  • Jul 21, 2014
Family Trip

The Family guest room was amazing. Very comfortable and large. Walking distance to amazing shopping... See full review

  • FL family visits Chi Town
  • Jul 14, 2014
From its beginning on New Year's Eve 1920 to today, The Drake Hotel has defined elegance and hospitality. Set in the prestigious Gold Coast neighborhood at the start of the Magnificent Mile, this iconic Chicago hotel is footsteps from Oak Street Beach and Lake Michigan.Relax at The Drake Hotel in one of 535 elegantly decorated guest rooms and 74 suites, including the Princess Diana Suite, which was graced by the Princess of Wales herself. Appreciate the amenities that include classic decor, plush bedding, marble bathrooms, and views of Lake Michigan and the city. The Executive Lounge on the top floor features amazing views, and Executive Level Guests will enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast, hot and cold beverages, and an honor bar with evening appetizers.Become a part of Chicago history. Relax with a cocktail in Coq D’Or, one of the first establishments in Chicago to serve alcohol after the repeal of Prohibition. Enjoy a memorable dinner at Cape Cod, where Joe DiMaggio and Marilyn Monroe hand-carved their initials in the bar, or take afternoon tea at Palm Court, just as Queen Elizabeth II did in 1958.The Drake Hotel provides the perfect spaces for meetings and gatherings. Hold a meeting in the heart of Chicago in the sophisticated boardrooms, or host an elegant Windy City celebration in the Gold Coast and Grand Ballrooms. Write your own chapter of Chicago history at The Drake — one real Chicago moment at a t

Hotel Map

41.9004 -87.6232
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 14.00, MI, NW; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 17.00, MI, SW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Drake Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Macys: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • City Hall: 1.2 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Opera House: 1.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (285)

Ratings and reviews for The Drake Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
285 out of 285
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kenny K The coach
NYC
Aug 16, 2012

What great hotel the staff treated you like a king

I loved the location you had everything at your finger tips shopping, food and the greatest lake front I ever seen and only minutes from the Drake, I also love the Cape Cod Room they had some of the best seafood i ever had ,and im not putting down better than some of the places on the east coast and I really like history of The Drake I would tell all my friends that when there in Chicago that they have to Stay there also the public transportation was fantastic and easy to, to me the hotel gave me first class treatment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Try it for your self you will not be disappointed with The Drake

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sparkster
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Jul 21, 2014

A Great Chicago Weekend

The Drake provided a perfect home for a weekend of Chicago experiences. Its location is perfect for strolling the Magnificent Mile or enjoying views of Lake Michigan. The Hotel itself was memorable - stylish, beautiful and comfortable. The staff was attentive and helpful. We appreciated the commitment to excellence that was evident throughout our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Architectural Boat Tour.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FL family visits Chi Town
Florida
Jul 14, 2014

Family Trip

The Family guest room was amazing. Very comfortable and large. Walking distance to amazing shopping and restaurants. This is an older and very elegant building so plumbing was a bit slow, though not a big deal. If you are traveling with kids and want a comfortable room to lounge in between city activities this is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pancake House for breakfast is a quick walk and good food. Sit outside if weather permits. The concierge recommended and it was a good pick.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rwdbs
Mpls, MN
Jul 12, 2014

A great old hotel.

A really great old master hotel. Our 3 day stay was perfect. Great breakfast. Close to many downtown Chicago shopping venues. Our first stay here since the 1980's and it remains one of favorite places to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Red Wizard
Madeira Beach Fla.
Jul 10, 2014

The Magnificent Mile at it's Best!

Live the High Life at the Drake Hotel. Born and raised in Chicago and spent the past 35 years in Florida. Came home for the 4th and took my wife to the Drake on a recommendation. What a perfect spot to enjoy downtown Chicago. Walk to all the best shops and restaurants and experience the best of Chicago. You will not be disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to The Tempo restaurant in the am for the best breakfast you can imagine. Just ask Tommy the Bell-Man for directions.

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
82Hawk
Des Moines, IA
Jun 24, 2014

expected more

we paid $450+ thus had high expectations. I was disappointed. The Drake is a huge classic place. The flowers are beautiful! I was on the "Executive Floor". Room was spacious - bathroom is really small with a single sink and a tub shower. I travel a lot and the competition is way ahead in bathrooms! This felt dated. This is a minot thing but...there was not a pen and scratch pad in the room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate at The Gilt Bar and it was fantastic! Our Waiter was wonderful! It is busy but so worth checking out!

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RSTtraveler
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
May 27, 2014

Wonderful stay

My trip was very quick, but the time I did have in my room was great. The room was huge, the view of the lake was gorgeous, and the bed was incredibly comfortable! Breakfast was wonderful and the staff was so friendly and personable. I loved the old-world aesthetics and the attention to detail as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AcuNutritionistAlexTuggle
Business
Los Angeles
May 24, 2014

Perfect business trip accommodation

Awesome room cleaning service! Enjoyed the cafe which was a great place to get some business done. Very nice accommodations I would visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Local

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cdn2014
Ontario
Apr 21, 2014

Long Weekend Getaway

Love this hotel - classic, classy. New, modern hotels are nice but there's nothing like the elegance of a 100 year old hotel that still has the luxury it had when it was built.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't t recommend Shaw's Seafood, but the Chicago Chophouse is great!

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trishalish79
Denver, Colorado
Apr 20, 2014

beautiful hotel...paper thin walls

The Drake Hotel is beautiful, great architecture and style. Part of our stay was intended for relaxation However, we got hotel security called on us for talking (no yelling or loud talking), we heard someone in the next room throwing up, and could hear conversations clear as day. If you are looking to stay somewhere where you plan on being quiet, this is the spot for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at the Original Pancake House down the street and skip the over priced breakfast at the hotel. Go as early as possible, it gets crowded. Great food!

Review of The Drake Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bandl2
chicago
Feb 18, 2014

weekend get away

Lovely weekend getaway. Great location, great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top