$191 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Swissotel Chicago

4 stars
323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-9722
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
493 reviews
GREAT SURPRISE

We were not expecting our hotel as good as it was. The location is very good and we got a room on... See full review

  • Arquigon
  • Jul 4, 2014
Anniversary weekend in Chicago

This is our second time staying at the Swissotel and I was even better than the first. Upon arrival... See full review

  • LukeK
  • Jun 23, 2014

An all-glass triangular hotel, wedged into the confluence of the Chicago River and Lake Michigan, has spectacular wrap-around views from Navy Pier to Grant Park.

Swissotel Chicago offers 661 air-conditioned, tastefully decorated and generously oversized rooms and suites. Relax above the city in our Penthouse Swimming Pool, Whirlpool and Health Club. Spa services available.

Overnight parking charge will be $65.00/day with in and out privileges. Hybrid vehicles receive a 50% discount.

A fee of $15.00 per room, per day (up to 4 guests) will apply for the use of the health club/swimming pool.

Swissotel Chicago Rooms

Deluxe Room
The Classic room offers a spacious accommodations with either one King or Two Double beds. Amenities include a spacious marble bath with seperate shower, fine Italian duvet covers, large work area, mini refrigerator , plush robes with spectacular views of the city skyline or Grant Park. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Field Museum Package
Meet one of the finest meat-eaters ever to walk the earth or unlock the secrets of tombs, mummies and marshes. The Package includes deluxe accommodations with one king or two double beds, two general admission tickets to the Field Museum including to special exhibits, and free access to the penthouse health club and pool. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Deluxe Lakeview Room
The Classic Lakeview room has breathtaking views of Lake Michigan, the Chicago River and Navy Pier. Amenities include a spacious marble bath with separate shower, fine Italian duvet covers, large work area, mini refrigerator, plush robes and offers either one King or Two Double Beds. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Corner Executive Suite
The perfect blend of work and play can be found in Swisstel Chicagos new one-bedroom Corner Executive suites. Exclusively designed with the business traveller in mind, this 750 ft (228.6 m) suite features burnished hardwood floors and an executive office with a multi-media docking station that lets you use media devices (laptop, mp3 player, DVD player and more) simultaneously, in one handy location. Conduct business or entertain clients in style in the parlour area, which highlights its own wine bar.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Swissotel Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8876 -87.6195
Area served
Downtown Chicago, IL
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport and Chicago Midway Airport
Area description
Swissotel Chicago, is located along the shores of Lake Michigan and the Chicago River. Near Navy Pier and Millennium Park.

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.8 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose from 31 air-conditioned meeting rooms or meet in the luxury of your spacious guest suite.

Dining

Geneva
Offering an American breakfast buffet with European flare.
Amuse
Meet up with your family and friends at this special corner of the world "where the river meets the lake." Relax in front of the fireplace and share what you explored in Chicago. In the morning sun rises over a steaming cup of coffee, cappuccino, or frothy latte.
The Palm
If steaks and seafood are your flavor try The Palm, located in Swissotel Chicago.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (493)

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Chicago

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
493 out of 493
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cmwags
South Haven, MI
Dec 12, 2012

Great location for all the plans!

We arrived early but our room was ready so we were able to drop our bags & headed out to enjoy the day. The staff here has always welcomed us in a friendly way so we keep coming back. The location is great for scenery, shopping, restaurants and parks. The classic room is a nice size for the 2 of us. Love the fitness area and the pool! This is our 3rd stay here and for more short trips to Chicago we will mostly likely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping on N. Michigan, Navy Pier, State Street, Millennium Park all close by.

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mommy for getaway
Chicago, IL
Jul 6, 2014

Family july 4 getaway

Very friendly staff, decent clean room, Access to pool amenities was extra cost. Great location to navy pier proximity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great for navy pier proximity

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arquigon
Business
Puebla, Pue. Mexico
Jul 4, 2014

GREAT SURPRISE

We were not expecting our hotel as good as it was. The location is very good and we got a room on the 27th floor that had a wonderful view towards the river, navy pier and the lake. We would definitely como back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Yolk restaurant. Great breakfast and very good service

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
urban enthusiast
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Jul 2, 2014

Great location, nice room, average common spaces

I was here for a convention and was happy they had complimentary coffee & tea out before 6am since I had to get going early to my meetings, and their coffee bar didn't open till 6. The bar & restaurant and lobby experience was just ok, nothing special. But the room was very nice, spacious and comfortable. Pretty quiet, too. The location was perfect for my needs -- you can walk across the street and take a stair down to the river walk, and walk along the lake -- I did a loop that connected me to Millennium Park but I think if you go the other way you can access Navy pier. So that was great for getting fresh air and exercise since I was stuck in meetings all day. It's also easy access to the entrance to Lake Shore Drive, which was great when I took a cab to the convention center or up to Lincoln Park to visit a friend. The gym facility was bright with full windows and pretty big -- had treadmills, elipticals, precor weight machines, and free weights. Note that the "pool" is only about 40 feet long and was full of kids when I went, so not that great for laps. The hot tub was closed when I went. The staff were nice. They couldn't locate my reservation at first, so they gave me a drink voucher for the bar while they sorted it out. That was a nice touch even though I would have preferred to just get into the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

River Walk. Walk across the street and take the stairs down (at Columbus) and you'll be on a great walking path along the river where you can rent bikes or kayaks, too!

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LukeK
Toledo, OH
Jun 23, 2014

Anniversary weekend in Chicago

This is our second time staying at the Swissotel and I was even better than the first. Upon arrival we went to check in and were asked if we were in town for any special reason. I told the woman checking us in that it was our anniversary she congratulated us and continued the check in process. As it turns out the computer system was being rebooted at the time and she could not get us keys. She was kind enough to offer us a free drink at the bar while we waited for the system to come back online (15-20 minutes). When everything was back up and she was completing our check-in she was able to upgrade us to a corner room with an amazing view of the Chicago river and the lake. Everything about the room was great. Comfy bed, clean bathroom, and amazing view. We will definitely look to the Swissotel first in the future for our trips to Chicago. Great staff and great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
teacher escape
grand rapids michigan
Apr 7, 2014

Beautiful location

Loved the view of Lake Michigan from the window of our room. The room was spacious and the furniture could be moved around for conversation or tv-watching. It was incredibly quiet and we had a relaxing weekend. The staff at the front desk were patient and efficient and very personable. Overall - a great hotel with great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

check the local establishments in streeterville

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling girls weekend
Madison, WI, USA
Apr 7, 2014

Great view of river and lake!

The hotel is a great location between shopping, dining, Millenium Park and other attractions. Rooms are very clean, service is great, and we'll stay here next time we are in town!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jones1234
Wisconsin
Mar 25, 2014

Sissotel

Our experience was nice at Swissotel. WE were located in the heart of Chicago, close to shopping and site seeing destinations. The rooms were clean and staff were friendly and courtious. I would recommend staying here to anyone who wishes to visit Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travel for exhibition
Business
Austin
Feb 25, 2014

Hotel for a Meeting

Picked the hotel because of proximity to the exhibition. Staff were friendly and room was clean and bed was comfortable.I didn't use the amenities as I was there for the exhibition. Good hotel as long as you can get it for a good price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tere Supermom
Mexico
Jan 3, 2014

New Year's Experience

Great location, nice romos, incredible amenities. Excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LouPaul
Peoria
Jan 1, 2014

Traveling with adult children

Great location for our two purposes, shopping and the Packers...I mean the Bears... Game!!! It was cold but we could still walk to both. The room was fine, nothing special, but spacious and comfortable. Bathroom was small and fairly generic but well stocked. The housekeepers and waitstaff were excellent and completely responsive to our every request. Also, my GPS had diffulculty finding the main entrance after I took my daughter to Midway and I ended up driving around in circles for a half hour or so. Finally I parked (on the sidewalk!)about a half block away and walked to the hotel. The valet graciously went and got my car and parked it for me!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top