$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 12, 2014

Swissotel Chicago

4 stars
323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-9722
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
493 reviews
GREAT SURPRISE

We were not expecting our hotel as good as it was. The location is very good and we got a room on... See full review

  • Arquigon
  • Jul 4, 2014
Anniversary weekend in Chicago

This is our second time staying at the Swissotel and I was even better than the first. Upon arrival... See full review

  • LukeK
  • Jun 23, 2014

An all-glass triangular hotel, wedged into the confluence of the Chicago River and Lake Michigan, has spectacular wrap-around views from Navy Pier to Grant Park.

Swissotel Chicago offers 661 air-conditioned, tastefully decorated and generously oversized rooms and suites. Relax above the city in our Penthouse Swimming Pool, Whirlpool and Health Club. Spa services available.

Overnight parking charge will be $65.00/day with in and out privileges. Hybrid vehicles receive a 50% discount.

A fee of $15.00 per room, per day (up to 4 guests) will apply for the use of the health club/swimming pool.

Swissotel Chicago Rooms

Deluxe Room
The Classic room offers a spacious accommodations with either one King or Two Double beds. Amenities include a spacious marble bath with seperate shower, fine Italian duvet covers, large work area, mini refrigerator , plush robes with spectacular views of the city skyline or Grant Park. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Field Museum Package
Meet one of the finest meat-eaters ever to walk the earth or unlock the secrets of tombs, mummies and marshes. The Package includes deluxe accommodations with one king or two double beds, two general admission tickets to the Field Museum including to special exhibits, and free access to the penthouse health club and pool. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Deluxe Lakeview Room
The Classic Lakeview room has breathtaking views of Lake Michigan, the Chicago River and Navy Pier. Amenities include a spacious marble bath with separate shower, fine Italian duvet covers, large work area, mini refrigerator, plush robes and offers either one King or Two Double Beds. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Corner Executive Suite
The perfect blend of work and play can be found in Swisstel Chicagos new one-bedroom Corner Executive suites. Exclusively designed with the business traveller in mind, this 750 ft (228.6 m) suite features burnished hardwood floors and an executive office with a multi-media docking station that lets you use media devices (laptop, mp3 player, DVD player and more) simultaneously, in one handy location. Conduct business or entertain clients in style in the parlour area, which highlights its own wine bar.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Swissotel Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8876 -87.6195
Area served
Downtown Chicago, IL
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport and Chicago Midway Airport
Area description
Swissotel Chicago, is located along the shores of Lake Michigan and the Chicago River. Near Navy Pier and Millennium Park.

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.8 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose from 31 air-conditioned meeting rooms or meet in the luxury of your spacious guest suite.

Dining

Geneva
Offering an American breakfast buffet with European flare.
Amuse
Meet up with your family and friends at this special corner of the world "where the river meets the lake." Relax in front of the fireplace and share what you explored in Chicago. In the morning sun rises over a steaming cup of coffee, cappuccino, or frothy latte.
The Palm
If steaks and seafood are your flavor try The Palm, located in Swissotel Chicago.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (493)

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Chicago

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 493
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Council Bluffs IA
Feb 10, 2010

The Great trip! Stayed at better hotels.

Over all, my trip was great; I got to spend time with my best friend. We did some shopping and site seeing. Trip was overall great. The only thing was our hotel stay was not up to speed with other luxury hotels I have stayed at. Some of the walls had wall paper missing, most of the faucets leaked, there was water stains on the ceiling in the bathrooms, some of the furniture had very visible stains, the fire alarm was coming off the wall in the main bedroom. we stayed in the corner suite on the 37 floor room 3711. Considering what ones pays for the room you would think the pool would be free and they would not charge for every single small amenity. I do not plan on staying there again. Apart from the trip was great![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't eat at the Palm restaurant that is located in the hotel,it's expensive and the food is tasteless. It had a Small Menu, I ordered a filet Mignon and all I could takes was the burnt outside and I ordered it medium rare. I could not wait to get out of there.

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Council Bluffs IA
Feb 10, 2010

The Great trip! Stayed at better hotels.

Over all, my trip was great; I got to spend time with my best friend. We did some shopping and site seeing. Trip was overall great. The only thing was our hotel stay was not up to speed with other luxury hotels I have stayed at. Some of the walls had wall paper missing, most of the faucets leaked, there was water stains on the ceiling in the bathrooms, some of the furniture had very visible stains, the fire alarm was coming off the wall in the main bedroom. we stayed in the corner suite on the 37 floor room 3711. Considering what ones pays for the room you would think the pool would be free and they would not charge for every single small amenity. I do not plan on staying there again. Apart from the trip was great![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't eat at the Palm restaurant that is located in the hotel,it's expensive and the food is tasteless. It had a Small Menu, I ordered a filet Mignon and all I could takes was the burnt outside and I ordered it medium rare. I could not wait to get out of there.

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wisconsin
Aug 24, 2010

Good View, Hidden Costs

Good location, walking distance to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue. Many hidden costs. $52/day to park...$15/day/person to use the pool. Expensive mini-bar expenses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Call a cab to got out to eat.

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frances Bean
Chicago, IL
Dec 19, 2011

So disappointed!!

My parents stayed at this hotel 2 years ago and raved about it. Well it has gone downhill in 2 years. Although we booked online we ended up calling the hotel for additional info and emailing them. Never once did they let us know that the building is under construction. You have to pay $52 to "valet" park. Their idea of valet is different than mine. We had to drive down to the garage and park the car ourselves and then the next day they wanted us to go down and get it ourselves. When I emailed them I asked if they ever discount parking and they stated they would give me 50% off. When we got there they would not honor it. They claimed our car needed to be a hybrid which they did not explain in the email. We had booked 2 rooms and the girl at the front desk asked us if we would like to be on the same floor. We stated we did but instead of putting us on the same floor she put us in the same room number two floors apart. We tried to eat at the restaurant, which is the main reason we booked there. We had theatre tickets that night and they would not take our reservation because the kitchen closes at 10 and the last reservation they would honor was at 9! On a Friday night the week before Christmas!! The Keurig was not working in our room so we went downstairs to get the Starbucks in the lobby. When we got back the maid was in the room. We were checking out that day and she said they needed the room. But the worst part was she was not stripping the bed. Instead she was making the bed. I am very disappointed. I will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wisconsin
Aug 24, 2010

Good View, Hidden Costs

Good location, walking distance to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue. Many hidden costs. $52/day to park...$15/day/person to use the pool. Expensive mini-bar expenses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Call a cab to got out to eat.

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northville, MI
Apr 28, 2011

Very nice hotel

Very nice hot tub, pool and work out center overlooking the city of Chicago from the 42nd floor, also we loved the hot cider and fruit water in the lobby. After all the walking a nice drink when you walked in the hotel was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birthday giver
Suburbs of Chicago
Jul 4, 2012

Great hotel

The hotel staff was wonderful and knowlegable. The room had an amasing view and was super clead. Great Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anish
Kalamazoo MI
Sep 1, 2009

excellent location

Basically i went for a holiday. i roamed about there. my stay at hotel was good. The hotel was perfectly located at the centre of the downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
May 11, 2009

Great location for great hotel

Super friendly and helpful staff. Clean room with gorgeous view. Walked to Navy Pier from hotel. Walking distance to subways. Parking was $52 dollars but valet was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
philadelphia, pa
Aug 15, 2009

polite staff

excellent with nice amenities. business center with internet access. had complimentary coffee in am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top