$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

Swissotel Chicago

4 stars
323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-9722
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
306 reviews
Marathon Weekend

The Swissotel is one of the better choices for the Chicago Marathon weekend. It's a very close walk... See full review

  • seattle runner
  • Oct 14, 2014
Great room, Perfect location

My 12-year old daughter and I enjoyed an overnight stay - great location for Michigan Ave shopping.... See full review

  • Business traveler 13
  • Oct 10, 2014

An all-glass triangular hotel, wedged into the confluence of the Chicago River and Lake Michigan, has spectacular wrap-around views from Navy Pier to Grant Park.

Swissotel Chicago offers 661 air-conditioned, tastefully decorated and generously oversized rooms and suites. Relax above the city in our Penthouse Swimming Pool, Whirlpool and Health Club. Spa services available.

Overnight parking charge will be $65.00/day with in and out privileges. Hybrid vehicles receive a 50% discount.

A fee of $15.00 per room, per day (up to 4 guests) will apply for the use of the health club/swimming pool.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Swissotel Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Swissotel Chicago Rooms

Deluxe Room
The Classic room offers a spacious accommodations with either one King or Two Double beds. Amenities include a spacious marble bath with seperate shower, fine Italian duvet covers, large work area, mini refrigerator , plush robes with spectacular views of the city skyline or Grant Park. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Field Museum Package
Meet one of the finest meat-eaters ever to walk the earth or unlock the secrets of tombs, mummies and marshes. The Package includes deluxe accommodations with one king or two double beds, two general admission tickets to the Field Museum including to special exhibits, and free access to the penthouse health club and pool. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Deluxe Lakeview Room
The Classic Lakeview room has breathtaking views of Lake Michigan, the Chicago River and Navy Pier. Amenities include a spacious marble bath with separate shower, fine Italian duvet covers, large work area, mini refrigerator, plush robes and offers either one King or Two Double Beds. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Corner Executive Suite
The perfect blend of work and play can be found in Swisstel Chicagos new one-bedroom Corner Executive suites. Exclusively designed with the business traveller in mind, this 750 ft (228.6 m) suite features burnished hardwood floors and an executive office with a multi-media docking station that lets you use media devices (laptop, mp3 player, DVD player and more) simultaneously, in one handy location. Conduct business or entertain clients in style in the parlour area, which highlights its own wine bar.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.8 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi

Dining

Geneva
Offering an American breakfast buffet with European flare.
Amuse
Meet up with your family and friends at this special corner of the world "where the river meets the lake." Relax in front of the fireplace and share what you explored in Chicago. In the morning sun rises over a steaming cup of coffee, cappuccino, or frothy latte.
The Palm
If steaks and seafood are your flavor try The Palm, located in Swissotel Chicago.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose from 31 air-conditioned meeting rooms or meet in the luxury of your spacious guest suite.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (306)

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Chicago

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 306
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bummed about Swissotel
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 27, 2011

Think long and hard

As life long residents of Chicago we dedcide to stay-cation. I chose this hotel because we wanted to try something out of the oridnary. It claimed to have updated rooms (not really). The service and attitudes of the hotel and Palm resaurant employees were rude and pitiful in this economy. The pool was not very warm or clean, our shower leaked all over the bathroom floor, we could not rent movies, the room service prices were ridiculous for mediocre food. When we called for the leaking shower & movies, the reply would be "What would you like me to do about that?" The only saving grace of this establishment was the hotel's restaurant in the lower lever, the staff was fabulous and food was delicious! We enjoyed a wonderfully filling breakfast on Sat. and returned for the same on Sunday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Stay away from The Palm Restaurant! Food quality was garabage and service equalled!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Charles, IL
Dec 1, 2009

We were unimpressed

There is a $15/day charge to use the pool - -YUCK! The pool and whirlpool are nice, but shouldn't be an added cost. This is a big chain hotel with little luxury to offer. Felt like the mini-bar was fitted with a camera. Something fell out and we had a knock on our door 15 minutes later asking if we needed the minibar restocked - - weird. The lobby has no draw to sit and relax (more like pass through and get out). There is coffee in the lobby that looks inviting, but then you notice the sign that indicates "For British Airways Only". They offered to upgrade our room for an additional $100/day. Hmmmmmmmm. Not really much of a bargain.The place really lacks atmosphere in all respects. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sluggo
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 10, 2010

Poor Value

Chicago is a fairly expensive city, and I took this information to heart when booking my trip. I paid more up-front for a hotel expecting that the amenities which I expect would dampen the price. I was wrong. This hotel nickel-and-dimed me the entire stay. They advertise a swimming pool. This is true, they have a pool HOWEVER if you want to use it you must pay $15 per person per day. Pay-per-view is accessible in the hotel room for the bargain basement price of $17.99 plus taxes and fees per movie. Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and signal strength is excellent HOWEVER you must pay $9.99 per device per day. In an age where the internet is the lifeblood of society, and every Starbucks and Howard Johnson offers this service for free, why is it that these "upscale" establishments feel the urge to gouge its customers? Seriously, I got room service one night for myself and my sister. The items ordered were two hamburgers, and two glasses of (tap) water. The bill? $64.99 plus tip. This hotel was outrageous, and with how close its competitors are, I'd highly recommend that anyone look elsewhere if they want their money to work for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
W Hollywood
Jun 8, 2008

Not as you would think

So I stayed because I had a great rate. Good location, easy to get around, close to the el stations and lots of the main attractions of Chicago. The staff was a bit rude and just not friendly. The room was simple and nice, the beds very comfortable. You have to pay for the fitness center, which is a bit cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close by to Michigan Avenue, Millenium Park and everything else

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
a man called horse
Business
iowa
Sep 26, 2012

good stay

good experience. good location. good staff. easy access to all activities we wanted to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WinfieldTraveller
Business
Winfield, IL
May 28, 2013

Great Room.

Positives: Great, large room with large bathroom. Beautiful view of the river and lake. Negatives: The pool was lukewarm. It took a while to get the pack n' play, and my son normally sleeps well, but not in this one. The bed was bowed so we were not able to sleep well. We ordered a bellhop, but never came.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grandmom Speg
Business
Minneapolis MN
Oct 18, 2013

Couldn't find my reservation

Had to wait half hour with very unapologetic staff when they couldn't find my reservation--according to the staff, it was a "third party reservation"--like somehow that was a lesser reservation. We arrived at 10 pm and tired. Not what we were expecting from a hotel of this price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Patti Softball Mom
Business
Twin Cities
Oct 28, 2013

Mag Mile Weekend Stay

Staff was wonderful and the lobby very inviting and beutiful. Need better directions to get to the hotel with the lower and upper Wacker Drives. Rooms were clean and the beds were comfortible. But being a 4 star hotel the rooms could have been updated a little better, the rooms were small, beds are small, cleaning staff left 2 conditioners instead of shampoo, door broken on the cabinet were frig was, no microwave in the room. A little far from shopping on Mag mile, but inbetween if you want to visit the park also, and shopping on state street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Fly into Chicago, see if hotel has a shuttle from Airport, or take a taxi or hire a service. Parking and the price of parking is way out of range.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Jul 5, 2010

OK

They checked us into a room that was already occupied. We had to call for extra towels several times. We had four people staying and yet they only provided 2-3 towels. They did not clean our room at all on our final night. Location was great. Concierge and guys our front were very helpful. Front desk staff did not seem knowledgable or terribly friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

At the John Hancock Center your can pay to go to the observatory (15.00 each) or go to the restaurant/lounge at the top and buy a soda. The view is the same. We had drinks and a appetizer and saved 30.00.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Independence, KS
Aug 23, 2010

Great location!

The hotel was great: friendly staff, impeccably clean rooms, great location. Our room had a view towards milennium park, but we were able to see all the way to the navy pier from the windows in the hallway. The hotel is located about a block east of Michigan Ave so it was perfect for getting around and being near all of the attractions. The staff was readily available to help with anything...for a price. The only downfall was that we had to pay for everything. Pool and Gym were $15 extra per person per day. Internet was $10 for a 24 hour period. For the price, these should've been included, but we paid for location. Great overall, i would just look more closely at what is included for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top