$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Swissotel Chicago

4 stars
323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-9722
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
305 reviews
Marathon Weekend

The Swissotel is one of the better choices for the Chicago Marathon weekend. It's a very close walk... See full review

  • seattle runner
  • Oct 14, 2014
Great room, Perfect location

My 12-year old daughter and I enjoyed an overnight stay - great location for Michigan Ave shopping.... See full review

  • Business traveler 13
  • Oct 10, 2014

An all-glass triangular hotel, wedged into the confluence of the Chicago River and Lake Michigan, has spectacular wrap-around views from Navy Pier to Grant Park.

Swissotel Chicago offers 661 air-conditioned, tastefully decorated and generously oversized rooms and suites. Relax above the city in our Penthouse Swimming Pool, Whirlpool and Health Club. Spa services available.

Overnight parking charge will be $65.00/day with in and out privileges. Hybrid vehicles receive a 50% discount.

A fee of $15.00 per room, per day (up to 4 guests) will apply for the use of the health club/swimming pool.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Swissotel Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Swissotel Chicago Rooms

Deluxe Room
The Classic room offers a spacious accommodations with either one King or Two Double beds. Amenities include a spacious marble bath with seperate shower, fine Italian duvet covers, large work area, mini refrigerator , plush robes with spectacular views of the city skyline or Grant Park. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Field Museum Package
Meet one of the finest meat-eaters ever to walk the earth or unlock the secrets of tombs, mummies and marshes. The Package includes deluxe accommodations with one king or two double beds, two general admission tickets to the Field Museum including to special exhibits, and free access to the penthouse health club and pool. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Deluxe Lakeview Room
The Classic Lakeview room has breathtaking views of Lake Michigan, the Chicago River and Navy Pier. Amenities include a spacious marble bath with separate shower, fine Italian duvet covers, large work area, mini refrigerator, plush robes and offers either one King or Two Double Beds. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Corner Executive Suite
The perfect blend of work and play can be found in Swisstel Chicagos new one-bedroom Corner Executive suites. Exclusively designed with the business traveller in mind, this 750 ft (228.6 m) suite features burnished hardwood floors and an executive office with a multi-media docking station that lets you use media devices (laptop, mp3 player, DVD player and more) simultaneously, in one handy location. Conduct business or entertain clients in style in the parlour area, which highlights its own wine bar.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.8 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose from 31 air-conditioned meeting rooms or meet in the luxury of your spacious guest suite.

Dining

Geneva
Offering an American breakfast buffet with European flare.
Amuse
Meet up with your family and friends at this special corner of the world "where the river meets the lake." Relax in front of the fireplace and share what you explored in Chicago. In the morning sun rises over a steaming cup of coffee, cappuccino, or frothy latte.
The Palm
If steaks and seafood are your flavor try The Palm, located in Swissotel Chicago.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (305)

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Chicago

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 305
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chicagos Double B
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 9, 2012

Worst Hotel ever

No one notified us there was a movie shoot there on the day we checked in and we had to park 2 blocks away and walk with our bags in 91 degrees. The room wouldn't get below 70 degrees. You have to hold down the handle until the toilet flushes. Instead of just taking your credit card for misc charges at the end of your stay they put a charge for $75 on your card. You are charged $75 at check in for no reason, they will credit it back after 3-5 days. Alll the employees apologize but don't do anything to remedy problems. It takes 3 minutes for the water to get hot. HD-TV's with no HD channels. 1 bar wi-fi that keeps loosing signal on all devices. I sent them a complaint about my stay and they won't even respond. You are better off on a park bench.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jan 1, 2011

Not what was expected for a 4 Star!

Wasn't what I expected for a 4 star hotel price seemed to high for what was offered. The bathroom was to small shower was tiny. I had reserved a room with a king size bed and got two doubles... view wasn't what was promised... Customer service was less than satisfactory... didn't feel welcomed at all. I had went to bed at 3am and the sun had woken me up at 6am there wasn't shades to keep out the sun light... I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone... [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
indiana
Aug 11, 2010

not the hotel for a honeymoon

too much money spent to stay at a super 8 comparable hotel just in downtown chicago so the price was expensive. could have got the same service for a quarter of the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

close to navy pier if its a nice day. milinnium park right around the corner. parking is rediculously priced

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
baranh
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 4, 2010

Swissotel Chicago

Not good experience , from both hotel's check-in [...]Once you can actually check-in hotel seems a bit nice. I was told that I would get a lake view and king size bed in my room and when i got there i talked to the receptionist and she told me that there is no way! I talked to her manager, she treated me like .... I was surprised and they actually lied to me! They said that there is no way that they can get me those rooms, and i argued over 10 minutes, and got all the information that i can get to file a complaint and finally they gave me the rooms, that still wasn't what i reserved but something close to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis
Sep 7, 2009

Unwelcome surprises

Disappointed to learn there was a $15/ use charge for the pool and fitness center which was not mentioned on Orbitz. We picked the hotel because it had a pool. As great as the location is would not stay there again for that reason. Plus, we asked for a single queen bed and were stuck with a room with two double beds which felt very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 1, 2011

Stay on New Years Eve

Well, this hotel is nice, but nowhere near to 4 stars. To me, it's really a 3 star hotel. I've been staying in a 3 star hotels prior to this one a lot and most of them are a lot better, with a free breakfast. Room was clean and everything, but… - I purchased a "lake view" which cost a little more, but when we were checking in, rep was going to give us a regular room… How is this possible? - The elevators are terrible. I had a lot of confusion with getting to different floors. Not only me, by the way. - No free breakfast and it's a 4 star hotel. - Bathroom shower was leaking. Other than that, the location is great. Three minutes and you are on Michigan Ave. Also, it has great views. We were on 39th floor and enjoyed it very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RDwife
Business
toronto
Oct 2, 2012

it was OK

Hotel was OK. glad we got it for a discount. My husband and I didnt like the pillows, we didn't realise that you had to pay extra for Wi Fi and there was a loud fan in the washroom that would not tun off. but the location was great and the bed was comfortable and the rooms were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Staycation bday weekend
Business
Chicago, il
Sep 30, 2013

Birthday celebration weekend

We arrived about 5 mins before check-in time. We had requested a lakeview room w/a king size bed. There were no more rooms with king sizes so we downgraded to a city view so we could have a king size. Then we waited an hour and a half after check-in before our room was ready. While we waited we weren't even asked if we would like our luggage checked. When our room was finally ready I had to wait in line again to get keys. For a big and very expensive hotel I was very disappointed at how long we had to wait and not even be offered anything for the inconvenience. The Concierge desk was very rude. I felt like I was being a bother to them instead if feeling appreciated for staying at their hotel. I liked the pool but it was cooler than I thought it should be. I wasn't very impressed at all with this hotel. I more than likely won't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago Illinois
Apr 6, 2010

Wife

We really would've preferred a better room with an open view. A lot of buildings blocked our view of the lake. Plus we had to pay 15 to use pool and fitness center, The jacuzzi and pol was too small people were waiting to use it. A lack of space around the pool we was the part we wanted to do because of our physcial disabilities. We spent most of time in room which was boring. Plus we had to pay $52 for parking which was okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manalapan, N.J.
Aug 18, 2009

nice place to stay for business

My husband and I wanted to get away for a few days to a different city. Chicago was a great place to visit. The city is not like NY. IT'S Clean. Lots to do even thou we left the kids behind. We enjoyed the pier,wrigley field tour,sears tower,aquarium,and all the modern buildings. Deep Dish pizza highly recomened as well as a chicago style hot dog. The hotel was not what we expected. Rooms were not very clean and found it was more for business travel. We didn't spend too much time in the hotel other than to sleep so if you need to stay not in a 4 star there are other places to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Walking is what you will be doing here. The weather was great which was a good thing. Double Decker tour was a great help getting around and really showing us the city you can hop on and off all day. It runs for a day or 3 consective days. It's a must have!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top