$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

Swissotel Chicago

4 stars
323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-9722
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
300 reviews
This is a nice hotel....

This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at the Swissotel. When I first stayed in the... See full review

  • Grampa Don
  • Aug 27, 2014
Absolutely wonderful!

The hotel is beautiful and the beds are the most comfortable beds I've slept on at a hotel!... See full review

  • Lolla Attendees
  • Aug 6, 2014

An all-glass triangular hotel, wedged into the confluence of the Chicago River and Lake Michigan, has spectacular wrap-around views from Navy Pier to Grant Park.

Swissotel Chicago offers 661 air-conditioned, tastefully decorated and generously oversized rooms and suites. Relax above the city in our Penthouse Swimming Pool, Whirlpool and Health Club. Spa services available.

Overnight parking charge will be $65.00/day with in and out privileges. Hybrid vehicles receive a 50% discount.

A fee of $15.00 per room, per day (up to 4 guests) will apply for the use of the health club/swimming pool.

Hotel Map

41.8876 -87.6195
Area served
Downtown Chicago, IL
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport and Chicago Midway Airport
Area description
Swissotel Chicago, is located along the shores of Lake Michigan and the Chicago River. Near Navy Pier and Millennium Park.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Swissotel Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Swissotel Chicago Rooms

Deluxe Room
The Classic room offers a spacious accommodations with either one King or Two Double beds. Amenities include a spacious marble bath with seperate shower, fine Italian duvet covers, large work area, mini refrigerator , plush robes with spectacular views of the city skyline or Grant Park. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Field Museum Package
Meet one of the finest meat-eaters ever to walk the earth or unlock the secrets of tombs, mummies and marshes. The Package includes deluxe accommodations with one king or two double beds, two general admission tickets to the Field Museum including to special exhibits, and free access to the penthouse health club and pool. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Deluxe Lakeview Room
The Classic Lakeview room has breathtaking views of Lake Michigan, the Chicago River and Navy Pier. Amenities include a spacious marble bath with separate shower, fine Italian duvet covers, large work area, mini refrigerator, plush robes and offers either one King or Two Double Beds. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Corner Executive Suite
The perfect blend of work and play can be found in Swisstel Chicagos new one-bedroom Corner Executive suites. Exclusively designed with the business traveller in mind, this 750 ft (228.6 m) suite features burnished hardwood floors and an executive office with a multi-media docking station that lets you use media devices (laptop, mp3 player, DVD player and more) simultaneously, in one handy location. Conduct business or entertain clients in style in the parlour area, which highlights its own wine bar.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.8 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose from 31 air-conditioned meeting rooms or meet in the luxury of your spacious guest suite.

Dining

Geneva
Offering an American breakfast buffet with European flare.
Amuse
Meet up with your family and friends at this special corner of the world "where the river meets the lake." Relax in front of the fireplace and share what you explored in Chicago. In the morning sun rises over a steaming cup of coffee, cappuccino, or frothy latte.
The Palm
If steaks and seafood are your flavor try The Palm, located in Swissotel Chicago.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (300)

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Chicago

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
300 out of 300
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
P.K.
chicago il.
Aug 3, 2012

One little thing.....

We spent our 47 anniversary at Swishoteland had a good time BUT NO WIFI I get free Wifi at Mcdonalds and had to pay 9.95 every 24 hours at this hotel....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We bought a three day pass on the Chicago Trolley..As seniors we paidn23. We went on two neighborhood tours..and took their hop on and off tour for sightseeing. Just Great....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maywood IL
Jan 7, 2010

wonderful experience

wonderful experience GREAT STAFF

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dougs hot links
minneapolis, mn
Jul 30, 2012

Lovin' Chicago

Good hotel experience once the confusion at check-in was cleared up. Description identifies 2 bed options - King or 2 doubles. You are unable to select the option on the packager site. When packager was called the agent indicated that I needed to call the hotel to specify the room type. Called hotel and was helped over the phone. There was added confusion at check-in as we had requested a roll away online and over phone with hotel and were told that the room available would not accommodate a roll-away. This was solved by the desk agent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're a foodie - get reservations ASAP

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Prometheus
Chicago
Aug 7, 2012

Nice Stay

Clean and great location. Friendly and courteous staff. Had an excellent time shopping on Michigan avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Central Florida
Aug 31, 2009

Great Hotel for the price

This was our 2nd trip to Chicago and we decided to stay downtown this time. Last time we stayed about 10 miles north of Chicago and traveled into town via a rented car. This stay at the Swissotel was a great choice as it was within walking distance of quite a few attractions. We also saved by getting a 3 day MTA pass for 14.00 and riding public transportation from O'Hare to the hotel to Wrigley field to all over downtown area. Our last trip the car rental and parking fees alone were more than the cost of renting a room at this hotel for 2 nights. The only thing I wished they offered was free Wi-Fi. It is available for 9.95 a day. Also no continental breakfast. Not a deal breaker but would have been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Csquarred
New York
Aug 31, 2009

A great place to have a great time

This is one of the nicest hotels I have spent time in. They had a top notch fitness center and pool that sported some great views of the Navy pier. The room had a lake view, if your going to stay do yourself a favor and get the lake view. At night the view was nothing short of amazing. The only real negative was the room near the elevator. Although we had a spectacular view, the room was behind the elevator shaft. This made for some interesting noises. I would suggest asking for a room that was not directly behind the elevator. Other than that this was a great place to spend a few days, and I will be going back on my next trip to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
My kids mom 83
Central Illinois
Sep 8, 2009

Baseball weekend

The staff did not seem well organized or educated about making decisions. There was inconsistency regarding our perks/benefits associated with an upgrade. The same concierge was arrogant and rude on two different evenings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

IF you want to save money on breakfast (the buffet at the hotel is $26.00pp) consider the Corner Bakery an option. A short walk from the hotel and reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
USQEiii
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 10, 2011

One night stay for business

very helpful staff, great view of lake--one of best I have ever had in Chicago, room and bath were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Mar 7, 2011

a wonderful retreat

the spa was wonderful--sauna,hot tub, the pool was 85 degrees,the gym was perfect CLEAN I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will not hesitate to return. The bed had down pillows, feather top mattress making for a great nights sleep. I highly recommend staying here..if you enjoy a more european experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Syracuse, NY
Jul 31, 2009

Spectacular views-great location

The hotel was convenient to popular Chicago areas. The concierge was not available during the early part of the week. The hotel definitely had a great flair about it which filtered through the spacious comfortable rooms and nice quiet lobby where fruit infused ice water was available for guests. I would recommend this hotel. The only downside was the pool an additional $ 15.00 per visit and not all that great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Underground food and convenience shops next block down on same side of street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search