$180 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Swissotel Chicago

4 stars
View map of 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-9722

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Chicago

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
332 out of 332
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 9, 2009

Great hotel: Poor staff

The hotel was super nice. Very modern and chic. However, the hotel staff was noticeably unfriendly. Only a few staff members were helpful while the rest remained cold and inhospitable. Was never greeted once by a hotel staff upon entering the hotel. Even the people at the front desk had bland personalities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sue Travel Girl
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 23, 2011

Not As Expected

This hotel charges for use of their swimming pool. In our past experiences at this hotel, this was never the case[...]. We took a family trip with swimming in mind. Poor experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr. Moore
Business
Houston, TX
Jan 26, 2011

Poor value for an otherwise nice hotel

The room and facilities were nice (but not exceedingly so). However, the excessive cost of meals, incedentals, etc. -- and several errors on the part of the staff -- eroded any goodwill that the Swissotel brand enjoys. Breakfast buffet was nearly $30 for one??!! $12 for cofee and English muffin??!! I can afford it, but I was offended nonetheless. I'll just go elsewhere next time...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shaker Hts, OH
Oct 8, 2010

It is ok but you sholuld know

The location of hotel is great, however the I think reception staff can definetly improve their personality to talk to people. In addition you have to pay seperately for Internet wireless, water, GYM, pool everythinig you beleive should be included in your hotel price, you have to pay for that!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Jul 5, 2010

OK

They checked us into a room that was already occupied. We had to call for extra towels several times. We had four people staying and yet they only provided 2-3 towels. They did not clean our room at all on our final night. Location was great. Concierge and guys our front were very helpful. Front desk staff did not seem knowledgable or terribly friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

At the John Hancock Center your can pay to go to the observatory (15.00 each) or go to the restaurant/lounge at the top and buy a soda. The view is the same. We had drinks and a appetizer and saved 30.00.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago Illinois
Apr 6, 2010

Wife

We really would've preferred a better room with an open view. A lot of buildings blocked our view of the lake. Plus we had to pay 15 to use pool and fitness center, The jacuzzi and pol was too small people were waiting to use it. A lack of space around the pool we was the part we wanted to do because of our physcial disabilities. We spent most of time in room which was boring. Plus we had to pay $52 for parking which was okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manalapan, N.J.
Aug 18, 2009

nice place to stay for business

My husband and I wanted to get away for a few days to a different city. Chicago was a great place to visit. The city is not like NY. IT'S Clean. Lots to do even thou we left the kids behind. We enjoyed the pier,wrigley field tour,sears tower,aquarium,and all the modern buildings. Deep Dish pizza highly recomened as well as a chicago style hot dog. The hotel was not what we expected. Rooms were not very clean and found it was more for business travel. We didn't spend too much time in the hotel other than to sleep so if you need to stay not in a 4 star there are other places to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Walking is what you will be doing here. The weather was great which was a good thing. Double Decker tour was a great help getting around and really showing us the city you can hop on and off all day. It runs for a day or 3 consective days. It's a must have!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Switzerland
Aug 23, 2010

You get what you pay

The rooms are really nice and the beds are super comfortable. Location is OK. Parking is expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Independence, KS
Aug 23, 2010

Great location!

The hotel was great: friendly staff, impeccably clean rooms, great location. Our room had a view towards milennium park, but we were able to see all the way to the navy pier from the windows in the hallway. The hotel is located about a block east of Michigan Ave so it was perfect for getting around and being near all of the attractions. The staff was readily available to help with anything...for a price. The only downfall was that we had to pay for everything. Pool and Gym were $15 extra per person per day. Internet was $10 for a 24 hour period. For the price, these should've been included, but we paid for location. Great overall, i would just look more closely at what is included for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travel beth
Business
Richmond, VA
Aug 13, 2009

added costs

Great hotel but extra costs everywhere! charge for pool internet and so expensive. orbitz does not explain this either does the hotel at the time of checkin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top