$178 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 22, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

Swissotel Chicago

4 stars
323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-9722
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
305 reviews
Marathon Weekend

The Swissotel is one of the better choices for the Chicago Marathon weekend. It's a very close walk... See full review

  • seattle runner
  • Oct 14, 2014
Great room, Perfect location

My 12-year old daughter and I enjoyed an overnight stay - great location for Michigan Ave shopping.... See full review

  • Business traveler 13
  • Oct 10, 2014

An all-glass triangular hotel, wedged into the confluence of the Chicago River and Lake Michigan, has spectacular wrap-around views from Navy Pier to Grant Park.

Swissotel Chicago offers 661 air-conditioned, tastefully decorated and generously oversized rooms and suites. Relax above the city in our Penthouse Swimming Pool, Whirlpool and Health Club. Spa services available.

Overnight parking charge will be $65.00/day with in and out privileges. Hybrid vehicles receive a 50% discount.

A fee of $15.00 per room, per day (up to 4 guests) will apply for the use of the health club/swimming pool.

Hotel Map

41.8876 -87.6195
Area served
Downtown Chicago, IL
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport and Chicago Midway Airport
Area description
Swissotel Chicago, is located along the shores of Lake Michigan and the Chicago River. Near Navy Pier and Millennium Park.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Swissotel Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Swissotel Chicago Rooms

Deluxe Room
The Classic room offers a spacious accommodations with either one King or Two Double beds. Amenities include a spacious marble bath with seperate shower, fine Italian duvet covers, large work area, mini refrigerator , plush robes with spectacular views of the city skyline or Grant Park. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Field Museum Package
Meet one of the finest meat-eaters ever to walk the earth or unlock the secrets of tombs, mummies and marshes. The Package includes deluxe accommodations with one king or two double beds, two general admission tickets to the Field Museum including to special exhibits, and free access to the penthouse health club and pool. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Deluxe Lakeview Room
The Classic Lakeview room has breathtaking views of Lake Michigan, the Chicago River and Navy Pier. Amenities include a spacious marble bath with separate shower, fine Italian duvet covers, large work area, mini refrigerator, plush robes and offers either one King or Two Double Beds. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Corner Executive Suite
The perfect blend of work and play can be found in Swisstel Chicagos new one-bedroom Corner Executive suites. Exclusively designed with the business traveller in mind, this 750 ft (228.6 m) suite features burnished hardwood floors and an executive office with a multi-media docking station that lets you use media devices (laptop, mp3 player, DVD player and more) simultaneously, in one handy location. Conduct business or entertain clients in style in the parlour area, which highlights its own wine bar.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.8 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi

Dining

Geneva
Offering an American breakfast buffet with European flare.
Amuse
Meet up with your family and friends at this special corner of the world "where the river meets the lake." Relax in front of the fireplace and share what you explored in Chicago. In the morning sun rises over a steaming cup of coffee, cappuccino, or frothy latte.
The Palm
If steaks and seafood are your flavor try The Palm, located in Swissotel Chicago.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose from 31 air-conditioned meeting rooms or meet in the luxury of your spacious guest suite.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (305)

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Chicago

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
305 out of 305
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cmwags
South Haven, MI
Dec 12, 2012

Great location for all the plans!

We arrived early but our room was ready so we were able to drop our bags & headed out to enjoy the day. The staff here has always welcomed us in a friendly way so we keep coming back. The location is great for scenery, shopping, restaurants and parks. The classic room is a nice size for the 2 of us. Love the fitness area and the pool! This is our 3rd stay here and for more short trips to Chicago we will mostly likely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping on N. Michigan, Navy Pier, State Street, Millennium Park all close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chicagos Double B
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 9, 2012

Worst Hotel ever

No one notified us there was a movie shoot there on the day we checked in and we had to park 2 blocks away and walk with our bags in 91 degrees. The room wouldn't get below 70 degrees. You have to hold down the handle until the toilet flushes. Instead of just taking your credit card for misc charges at the end of your stay they put a charge for $75 on your card. You are charged $75 at check in for no reason, they will credit it back after 3-5 days. Alll the employees apologize but don't do anything to remedy problems. It takes 3 minutes for the water to get hot. HD-TV's with no HD channels. 1 bar wi-fi that keeps loosing signal on all devices. I sent them a complaint about my stay and they won't even respond. You are better off on a park bench.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jerry Callo
Business
New York New York
Dec 14, 2009

Will not return

Very pricey especially parking. Paying guests should not have to pay $52 for parking per day!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
indiana
Aug 11, 2010

not the hotel for a honeymoon

too much money spent to stay at a super 8 comparable hotel just in downtown chicago so the price was expensive. could have got the same service for a quarter of the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

close to navy pier if its a nice day. milinnium park right around the corner. parking is rediculously priced

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny,ny
Jun 21, 2011

Horrible experience

Location was good. Other then that the experience at swissotel was horrible. Small beds...terrible maid service. Ordered towels and room cleaning multiple times with no response. The toilet overflowed and wasn't cleaned til the next day despite many attempts for assistance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jan 1, 2011

Not what was expected for a 4 Star!

Wasn't what I expected for a 4 star hotel price seemed to high for what was offered. The bathroom was to small shower was tiny. I had reserved a room with a king size bed and got two doubles... view wasn't what was promised... Customer service was less than satisfactory... didn't feel welcomed at all. I had went to bed at 3am and the sun had woken me up at 6am there wasn't shades to keep out the sun light... I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone... [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bummed about Swissotel
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 27, 2011

Think long and hard

As life long residents of Chicago we dedcide to stay-cation. I chose this hotel because we wanted to try something out of the oridnary. It claimed to have updated rooms (not really). The service and attitudes of the hotel and Palm resaurant employees were rude and pitiful in this economy. The pool was not very warm or clean, our shower leaked all over the bathroom floor, we could not rent movies, the room service prices were ridiculous for mediocre food. When we called for the leaking shower & movies, the reply would be "What would you like me to do about that?" The only saving grace of this establishment was the hotel's restaurant in the lower lever, the staff was fabulous and food was delicious! We enjoyed a wonderfully filling breakfast on Sat. and returned for the same on Sunday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Stay away from The Palm Restaurant! Food quality was garabage and service equalled!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sluggo
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 10, 2010

Poor Value

Chicago is a fairly expensive city, and I took this information to heart when booking my trip. I paid more up-front for a hotel expecting that the amenities which I expect would dampen the price. I was wrong. This hotel nickel-and-dimed me the entire stay. They advertise a swimming pool. This is true, they have a pool HOWEVER if you want to use it you must pay $15 per person per day. Pay-per-view is accessible in the hotel room for the bargain basement price of $17.99 plus taxes and fees per movie. Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and signal strength is excellent HOWEVER you must pay $9.99 per device per day. In an age where the internet is the lifeblood of society, and every Starbucks and Howard Johnson offers this service for free, why is it that these "upscale" establishments feel the urge to gouge its customers? Seriously, I got room service one night for myself and my sister. The items ordered were two hamburgers, and two glasses of (tap) water. The bill? $64.99 plus tip. This hotel was outrageous, and with how close its competitors are, I'd highly recommend that anyone look elsewhere if they want their money to work for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Council Bluffs IA
Feb 10, 2010

The Great trip! Stayed at better hotels.

Over all, my trip was great; I got to spend time with my best friend. We did some shopping and site seeing. Trip was overall great. The only thing was our hotel stay was not up to speed with other luxury hotels I have stayed at. Some of the walls had wall paper missing, most of the faucets leaked, there was water stains on the ceiling in the bathrooms, some of the furniture had very visible stains, the fire alarm was coming off the wall in the main bedroom. we stayed in the corner suite on the 37 floor room 3711. Considering what ones pays for the room you would think the pool would be free and they would not charge for every single small amenity. I do not plan on staying there again. Apart from the trip was great![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't eat at the Palm restaurant that is located in the hotel,it's expensive and the food is tasteless. It had a Small Menu, I ordered a filet Mignon and all I could takes was the burnt outside and I ordered it medium rare. I could not wait to get out of there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
W Hollywood
Jun 8, 2008

Not as you would think

So I stayed because I had a great rate. Good location, easy to get around, close to the el stations and lots of the main attractions of Chicago. The staff was a bit rude and just not friendly. The room was simple and nice, the beds very comfortable. You have to pay for the fitness center, which is a bit cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close by to Michigan Avenue, Millenium Park and everything else

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
baranh
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 4, 2010

Swissotel Chicago

Not good experience , from both hotel's check-in [...]Once you can actually check-in hotel seems a bit nice. I was told that I would get a lake view and king size bed in my room and when i got there i talked to the receptionist and she told me that there is no way! I talked to her manager, she treated me like .... I was surprised and they actually lied to me! They said that there is no way that they can get me those rooms, and i argued over 10 minutes, and got all the information that i can get to file a complaint and finally they gave me the rooms, that still wasn't what i reserved but something close to it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top