$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Swissotel Chicago

4 stars
323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-9722
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
495 reviews
great family stay

Great pool, nice room, superb location. We will stay there again. See full review

  • travel family 949
  • Jul 13, 2014
Very nice

Excellent view-great hotel --steak at the palm was expensive but worth it See full review

  • Dkhanna
  • Jul 10, 2014

An all-glass triangular hotel, wedged into the confluence of the Chicago River and Lake Michigan, has spectacular wrap-around views from Navy Pier to Grant Park.

Swissotel Chicago offers 661 air-conditioned, tastefully decorated and generously oversized rooms and suites. Relax above the city in our Penthouse Swimming Pool, Whirlpool and Health Club. Spa services available.

Overnight parking charge will be $65.00/day with in and out privileges. Hybrid vehicles receive a 50% discount.

A fee of $15.00 per room, per day (up to 4 guests) will apply for the use of the health club/swimming pool.

Swissotel Chicago Rooms

Deluxe Room
The Classic room offers a spacious accommodations with either one King or Two Double beds. Amenities include a spacious marble bath with seperate shower, fine Italian duvet covers, large work area, mini refrigerator , plush robes with spectacular views of the city skyline or Grant Park. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Field Museum Package
Meet one of the finest meat-eaters ever to walk the earth or unlock the secrets of tombs, mummies and marshes. The Package includes deluxe accommodations with one king or two double beds, two general admission tickets to the Field Museum including to special exhibits, and free access to the penthouse health club and pool. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Deluxe Lakeview Room
The Classic Lakeview room has breathtaking views of Lake Michigan, the Chicago River and Navy Pier. Amenities include a spacious marble bath with separate shower, fine Italian duvet covers, large work area, mini refrigerator, plush robes and offers either one King or Two Double Beds. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Corner Executive Suite
The perfect blend of work and play can be found in Swisstel Chicagos new one-bedroom Corner Executive suites. Exclusively designed with the business traveller in mind, this 750 ft (228.6 m) suite features burnished hardwood floors and an executive office with a multi-media docking station that lets you use media devices (laptop, mp3 player, DVD player and more) simultaneously, in one handy location. Conduct business or entertain clients in style in the parlour area, which highlights its own wine bar.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Swissotel Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8876 -87.6195
Area served
Downtown Chicago, IL
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport and Chicago Midway Airport
Area description
Swissotel Chicago, is located along the shores of Lake Michigan and the Chicago River. Near Navy Pier and Millennium Park.

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.8 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose from 31 air-conditioned meeting rooms or meet in the luxury of your spacious guest suite.

Dining

Geneva
Offering an American breakfast buffet with European flare.
Amuse
Meet up with your family and friends at this special corner of the world "where the river meets the lake." Relax in front of the fireplace and share what you explored in Chicago. In the morning sun rises over a steaming cup of coffee, cappuccino, or frothy latte.
The Palm
If steaks and seafood are your flavor try The Palm, located in Swissotel Chicago.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (495)

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Chicago

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 495
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GinaB
Texas
Aug 7, 2012

Great hotel!

Great view of the lake, and within walking distance to Navy Pier, Michigan Avenue, and Millennium park. Perfect hotel for a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Stay in the hotel to watch the fireworks at Navy Pier, or walk right outside the entrance of the hotel to see them. No reason to walk to the pier and fight the crowds - the view is even better right from the hotel!

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 12, 2008

Very convenient location

Location is so convenient,easy to walk to Michigan Ave and many stores/restaurants. Nice view from room to see downtown scene. The only thing I concerned that is the refrigeratory electric system, I put my breastmilk bottle in the refrigeratory and move a bottle of water away, so my milk bottle could be in the refrigeratory. In the end we drank one bottle of water, but we might move the milk bottle around once, I have no choice, my baby has to drink milk from it, she is only 2months old. I wish the hotel will supply a small refrigeratory or change the electric system. Because in the end we paid 2 bottle of water instead of one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk around you will find aMexican restaurant and a pizza restaurant are nice to try.

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 2, 2008

Best beds ever!

Swissotel has extremely comfortable beds and a great location. I would not pay full price, but when they offer discounts it is definitely a great place to stay for adults. Be prepared to bring your own snacks and drinks in or expect to pay whopping prices at the hotel. Do not open the mini-bar! The beds are well worth it-a delightful nights sleep and an IPOD dock and alarm is a plus. Bathroom was nice, but the toiletries were not what you would expect for a 4 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Millenium Park, Grant Park, Michigan Ave. shopping, Navy Pier-all fairly close, but not close enough for people with back or knee problems.

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
May 28, 2007

Nice amenities, nice neighborhood

Our room at this hotel was larger than we expected for a central city hotel. We had two double beds and plenty of room for three of us. The bed linens were very nice, and the beds comfortable. The heating and cooling unit for the room was very easy to use the room temperature responded extremely quickly to resetting the thermometer. Made for comfortable sleeping. The elevators were fast and we never had to wait at our floor for long at all before the elevators arrived. In fact, the view from the elevator of Lake Michigan and Navy Pier was so good that we finally spent some time looking at it before calling for the elevator since there wasn't time otherwise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is just a couple of blocks from Millenium Park and is directly adjacent to the walkway along the Chicago River. The Art Institute is about half a mile away, an easy walk down Michigan Avenue.

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hortonville,WI
Jul 26, 2011

Unbeatable location for great price!

We had a wonderful room with great view of Navy Pier. We enjoyed watching the Pier's fireworks from our room. We enjoyed use of the pool. The concierge was very helpful and friendly,as well as the rest of the staff. We were within walking distance to the magnificent mile as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Yolk restaurant was a great restaurant for breakfast and a short walk from the hotel. It was great for kids too.

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 12, 2008

Very nice place to stay

The Swissotel was a very nice place to stay in Chicago. The location was great with Michigan Avenue not far away along with Navy Pier and Grant Park. The room was very nice, clean with a great bath and the beds were very and confortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 30, 2008

Great vacation getaway

The Swissotel Chicago, was a great last minute vacation getaway hotel. The room was very comfortable, clean and spacious. The staff where very kind. The Swissotel was in a great location. Two blocks from Micagan Ave. great restaurants and great shopping. Fantasic view from the hotel to navy pier, just in time for the fireworks. The hotel pool was a hit with the kids. Loved the fact that they had locker rooms with showers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Need to get away
Cleveland, Ohio
Nov 29, 2009

Need to get away!!

AWESOME HOTEL!!! Staff was incredible from check in to check out... We upgraded to suite and could not believe the views over the Navy Pier and lake!! My 8 year old was treated was like a princess. Lobby lounge was awesome. We went every night. Quick taxi ride to everywhere or walking distance. Hotel restaurants pricey but not unexpected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hortonville,WI
Jul 26, 2011

Unbeatable location for great price!

We had a wonderful room with great view of Navy Pier. We enjoyed watching the Pier's fireworks from our room. We enjoyed use of the pool. The concierge was very helpful and friendly,as well as the rest of the staff. We were within walking distance to the magnificent mile as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Yolk restaurant was a great restaurant for breakfast and a short walk from the hotel. It was great for kids too.

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Freeburg, IL
Jul 27, 2008

Very clean and comfortable

The Swisshotel was right in the middle of all the downtown action - close to shopping, the Navy Pier, Shedd Aquarium, etc. We were able to walk or drive a short distance to wherever we wanted to go. The hotel and room itself was very nice and comfortable! The only problem we had was since we were not real familiar with Wacker Street (there is an upper and lower Wacker) we had a little bit of a time finding the front of the hotel, and had to drive around the block a few times in heavy traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It's right on the Chicago River and so we had an enjoyable and relaxing time walking near the River area, which was very clean and nice. There was a small outdoor cafe/bar right there also.

Back to menu Return to top