$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

Swissotel Chicago

4 stars
323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-9722
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
305 reviews
Marathon Weekend

The Swissotel is one of the better choices for the Chicago Marathon weekend. It's a very close walk... See full review

  • seattle runner
  • Oct 14, 2014
Great room, Perfect location

My 12-year old daughter and I enjoyed an overnight stay - great location for Michigan Ave shopping.... See full review

  • Business traveler 13
  • Oct 10, 2014

An all-glass triangular hotel, wedged into the confluence of the Chicago River and Lake Michigan, has spectacular wrap-around views from Navy Pier to Grant Park.

Swissotel Chicago offers 661 air-conditioned, tastefully decorated and generously oversized rooms and suites. Relax above the city in our Penthouse Swimming Pool, Whirlpool and Health Club. Spa services available.

Overnight parking charge will be $65.00/day with in and out privileges. Hybrid vehicles receive a 50% discount.

A fee of $15.00 per room, per day (up to 4 guests) will apply for the use of the health club/swimming pool.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Swissotel Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Swissotel Chicago Rooms

Deluxe Room
The Classic room offers a spacious accommodations with either one King or Two Double beds. Amenities include a spacious marble bath with seperate shower, fine Italian duvet covers, large work area, mini refrigerator , plush robes with spectacular views of the city skyline or Grant Park. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Field Museum Package
Meet one of the finest meat-eaters ever to walk the earth or unlock the secrets of tombs, mummies and marshes. The Package includes deluxe accommodations with one king or two double beds, two general admission tickets to the Field Museum including to special exhibits, and free access to the penthouse health club and pool. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Deluxe Lakeview Room
The Classic Lakeview room has breathtaking views of Lake Michigan, the Chicago River and Navy Pier. Amenities include a spacious marble bath with separate shower, fine Italian duvet covers, large work area, mini refrigerator, plush robes and offers either one King or Two Double Beds. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Corner Executive Suite
The perfect blend of work and play can be found in Swisstel Chicagos new one-bedroom Corner Executive suites. Exclusively designed with the business traveller in mind, this 750 ft (228.6 m) suite features burnished hardwood floors and an executive office with a multi-media docking station that lets you use media devices (laptop, mp3 player, DVD player and more) simultaneously, in one handy location. Conduct business or entertain clients in style in the parlour area, which highlights its own wine bar.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.8 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose from 31 air-conditioned meeting rooms or meet in the luxury of your spacious guest suite.

Dining

Geneva
Offering an American breakfast buffet with European flare.
Amuse
Meet up with your family and friends at this special corner of the world "where the river meets the lake." Relax in front of the fireplace and share what you explored in Chicago. In the morning sun rises over a steaming cup of coffee, cappuccino, or frothy latte.
The Palm
If steaks and seafood are your flavor try The Palm, located in Swissotel Chicago.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (305)

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Chicago

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
305 out of 305
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
newport
Milwaukee
Oct 1, 2012

Great couples getaway

Spent our anniversary weekend attending Chicago Gourmet. Swissotel was the perfect location- room overlooking the river and just a short walk to Millenium park. Arrived early to have our luggage put in storage before heading to our event. Front desk staff very courteous and said they had a room available and we could head on up - and it was only 11 am. We would definitely return again for another stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M.Smith
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 11, 2012

Very nice.

My husband and I took our 1 year old daughter here for a weekend staycation. It was a very nice hotel (we felt under-dressed most of the time) but there were a few things that would keep me from going back. The fees were insane. A daily fee of $15 per person for access to pool area...even if you don't use it, really annoyed me. Also, it's $50 to park (which we didn't do). The location isn't bad if you don't mind walking, but it's not really close to anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wildberry has the most amazing breakfast!!! Try their signature pancakes. Yum!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lieslp
Business
Thousand Oaks, CA
Apr 10, 2012

Good Family Getaway, Some Flaws

We love this hotel - great rooms, location, pool is wonderful for the kids. The only issues we had were with housekeeping (didn't show up one of the days and said we had a do not disturb sign up - we did not). We also had a few issues with room service - we could never reach them and when they finally called us back, they messed up our order twice. We would go back though. Great place overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BKOM
Business
North Carolina, USA
Mar 28, 2012

Excellent staff

Despite the lobby undergoing major renovation, I had an excellent stay. All the staff (reception, housekeeping, waitstaff in The Palm, bellman) could not have been nicer or more accommodating. The room was clean and the bed was more comfortable than what I sleep on at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Steak at The Palm is as good as advertised. Order a side of mushrooms too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Theatre Business
Business
New York
Mar 5, 2012

AMAZING staff and a prime locale

Extremely clean rooms and perhaps the friendliest and most accommodating staff I've encountered on a business trip. The gym is free and the location is close to the subway and theatres. The lone negative is that the hotel is under repair and currently lacking a bit in external aesthetics...but renovations/repairs should be completed soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tbone62
Business
Bloomington, IL, USA
Feb 26, 2012

My Weekend in Chicago

It was a great hotel!!! The rooms provide great comfort as well as an AMAZING view of the Chicago skyline. Plus, the rooms even come with bathrobes!! Yeah, I know, awesome. Anyway, overall it was an amazing hotel and really impacted our experience in Chicago. A++++

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steveo76
Business
Fresno, CA, USA
Feb 1, 2012

Wonderful location and extremely fine hotel.

First of all the staff was fantastic. The room comfortable and well equipped for business as well as pleasure and the bed was so comfortable. Outstanding view of Navy Pier and walking distance to many fun activities and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy Millenium Park as well as Navy Pier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boomer33
Business
Lemont, IL, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Great Weekend Trip

Swissotel was great from check-in to check-out. All of the views were amazing in their own way and the staff was extremely friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Truexplorer
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Great weekend getaway

Hotel was what we expected from Swissotel clean, well laid out and courteous staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to many Chicago attractions from the location or use the L.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frances Bean
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 19, 2011

So disappointed!!

My parents stayed at this hotel 2 years ago and raved about it. Well it has gone downhill in 2 years. Although we booked online we ended up calling the hotel for additional info and emailing them. Never once did they let us know that the building is under construction. You have to pay $52 to "valet" park. Their idea of valet is different than mine. We had to drive down to the garage and park the car ourselves and then the next day they wanted us to go down and get it ourselves. When I emailed them I asked if they ever discount parking and they stated they would give me 50% off. When we got there they would not honor it. They claimed our car needed to be a hybrid which they did not explain in the email. We had booked 2 rooms and the girl at the front desk asked us if we would like to be on the same floor. We stated we did but instead of putting us on the same floor she put us in the same room number two floors apart. We tried to eat at the restaurant, which is the main reason we booked there. We had theatre tickets that night and they would not take our reservation because the kitchen closes at 10 and the last reservation they would honor was at 9! On a Friday night the week before Christmas!! The Keurig was not working in our room so we went downstairs to get the Starbucks in the lobby. When we got back the maid was in the room. We were checking out that day and she said they needed the room. But the worst part was she was not stripping the bed. Instead she was making the bed. I am very disappointed. I will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoeVisitsChicago
Business
Minnesota, USA
Nov 17, 2011

Fun Working Weekend

I really enjoyed the location, it's proximity to the Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue. By taxi we went north to Blue Man and south to McCormick Place. We walked Millenium Park and the Navy Pier. I am not a fan of needing to pay an additional price for internet service or to access the fitness center. Because of that I did not use the hotel's ammenities to their fullest. I felt that the hallways needed some attention (room doors were a little beat up), and there was a small blood spot on the duvet cover, that was obviously thoroughly bleached and safe, but unsightly, but otherwise I loved the room and it's comfort level. I would definitely stay there again if the opportunity arose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top