$188 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Swissotel Chicago

4 stars
View map of 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-9722

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Chicago

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
316 out of 316
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
darnold13
Business
Pittsburgh
Aug 23, 2010

Great place. Convenient to all.

The location was ideal, both for the view and for its' proximity to a relative of mine and many midtown Chicago attractions and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Independence, KS
Aug 23, 2010

Great location!

The hotel was great: friendly staff, impeccably clean rooms, great location. Our room had a view towards milennium park, but we were able to see all the way to the navy pier from the windows in the hallway. The hotel is located about a block east of Michigan Ave so it was perfect for getting around and being near all of the attractions. The staff was readily available to help with anything...for a price. The only downfall was that we had to pay for everything. Pool and Gym were $15 extra per person per day. Internet was $10 for a 24 hour period. For the price, these should've been included, but we paid for location. Great overall, i would just look more closely at what is included for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dearborn, MI
Aug 22, 2010

Swissotel Chicago

Went to Chicago for the weekend for a concert. Stayed at the Swissotel, overall the hotel was great. Very clean comfy rooms, modern. Beds were very comfortable. It is about 3 blocks from Michigan Ave. You need to walk a bit to find food, but it's very close to Millennium/Grant Park and Navy Pier. Hotel Parking is pricey but thats with any hotel in Chicago, found cheaper parking SE of the hotel near the little park below. The hotel was actually better than I had expected because it was cheaper than some of the newer hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WildOnWacker
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 17, 2010

Primo location at a nice price

The location just off Michigan Ave is awesome. Blocks north of beautiful Millennium Park, and just south of the Magnificent Mile shopping bonanza. The hotel itself is very nicely appointed, with large rooms. Somehow I always seem to get one with a great view of the Chicago River below and glimpses of Lake Michigan as well. For the location and the unusually low price (compared to other area 4-star hotels) this was a great deal and we would happily go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Evergreenpark Il.
Aug 16, 2010

Location, Veiw, Comfort

Met the great bartenders in the loby bar. Had Starbucks coffe in the morning. Great people!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Put on your walking shoe's and enjoy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandma Carolyn
Business
Springfield, IL
Aug 11, 2010

Best views river, Navy Pier, fireworks

Staff got all of us in rooms together even though we arrived on different days. Loved the fruit infused water in lobby. The view was dynamite. Breakfast int eh concourse was great and the service excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Aug 11, 2010

Nice Place

Everything went great. The staff was friendly, the room was big and clean, the location was great. We asked for a crib ahead of time and they were able to accommodate us. Valet is expensive, however I never felt worried about my car and they always had it ready for us by time we got down stairs. They allow you to have full access to your car in the garage if you need to get something, which we did. We brought our 1 year old along, so we used the stroller all the time. Getting to the Navy Pier, for example, would have been easier without it b/c of all the stairs for the multilevel streets. By the second or third day we figured out that you could walk to michigan ave, cross the bridge the go back to columbus st, and then follow the signs to the pier and the beach, then there were no stairs to work around. So in our situation, it took us longer to get around. Also, we got charged for a snickers bar out of the mini bar that we did not eat, the hotel pens in our room disappeared the night before our last day, and I don't know why they would charge to use the swimming pool... Other than that, we had a great time here, great views, nice room with a big TV, and there is lots to do within walking distance. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Giordano's delivered us a pizza to the hotel. The place is only 2 blocks away, but I read reviews about how great their chicago style pizza was, however they would wait an hour or more to get their food. I do agree that their pizza was awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
indiana
Aug 11, 2010

not the hotel for a honeymoon

too much money spent to stay at a super 8 comparable hotel just in downtown chicago so the price was expensive. could have got the same service for a quarter of the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

close to navy pier if its a nice day. milinnium park right around the corner. parking is rediculously priced

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sluggo
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 10, 2010

Poor Value

Chicago is a fairly expensive city, and I took this information to heart when booking my trip. I paid more up-front for a hotel expecting that the amenities which I expect would dampen the price. I was wrong. This hotel nickel-and-dimed me the entire stay. They advertise a swimming pool. This is true, they have a pool HOWEVER if you want to use it you must pay $15 per person per day. Pay-per-view is accessible in the hotel room for the bargain basement price of $17.99 plus taxes and fees per movie. Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and signal strength is excellent HOWEVER you must pay $9.99 per device per day. In an age where the internet is the lifeblood of society, and every Starbucks and Howard Johnson offers this service for free, why is it that these "upscale" establishments feel the urge to gouge its customers? Seriously, I got room service one night for myself and my sister. The items ordered were two hamburgers, and two glasses of (tap) water. The bill? $64.99 plus tip. This hotel was outrageous, and with how close its competitors are, I'd highly recommend that anyone look elsewhere if they want their money to work for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pacific Grove, CA
Aug 10, 2010

Affordable luxury with great views!

What a wonderful hotel! Luxurious room with a terrific view of the Chicago River and close to everything. We could walk everywhere. I would definitely stay there again. My only complaint--all restaurants very expensive--would be nice if there was a reasonably priced coffee shop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Chicago Architectual Foundation River Cruise! We went at 5 p.m.--fabulous and so interesting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top