$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2015 Check-out: Sep 24, 2015

Swissotel Chicago

4 stars
View map of 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-9722

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Chicago

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
303 out of 303
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sue Travel Girl
Family
Chicago, IL
Jan 23, 2011

Not As Expected

This hotel charges for use of their swimming pool. In our past experiences at this hotel, this was never the case[...]. We took a family trip with swimming in mind. Poor experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Prisma
Single
Iowa
Jan 11, 2011

It's Swiss it's great

It's pricy but it was totally worth it. I stayed in the Swissotel for New Years Eve and I felt very secure once I went in the hotel. It has a great location so everything is within walking distance. Parking is expensive if you drive and it's not included. They made a mistake on charging me for a massage I didn't get (although it would've been nice) but when I talked to them, there was no problem and they credited my account immediately. Overall it's a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Symphony Weekend Stay
Couples
Wheeling IL
Jan 9, 2011

Great Location, Great Service

We stayed here on a Saturday evening to attend the Chicago Symphony, it is a short cab ride or a reasonable walk weather permiting to the Symphony Center. We ate at Catch35 which is also great, it is only 3-4 blocks away. We received an upgrade to a corner room with a lake view which was great. This hotel is a good value for the money, they do have high charges for additional services. Parking is $52.00 per day, and the breakfast buffet is good but very expensive. It is best to upgrade your room to include the breakfast buffet if you plan on eating there. It will only cost about $30 for a couple instead of almost $60 if you don't get the room with breakfast buffet package. Bring your own water bottles unless you don't mind paying $8.00 for the water they offer in the room. The most annoying thing about our stay was the mini bar. We put a few things in the refrigerator that we bought at a local grocery store and learned that if you lift or move anything in the mini bar you will be automatically charged by some ridiculus electronic sensing system. When I requested a credit for these bogus charges the hotel staff was quick to provide a credit but this system is very annoying. Bottomline it's a great hotel for a competitive price but don't even think about touching the minibar unless you don't mind getting charged $10.00 for touching the small jar of nuts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Catch35 is just a few blocks away. Great food, perfect service, nice atmostphere, and a decent price for what you get.

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
new year
Family
grand rapids, mi
Jan 6, 2011

Great hotel, Great staff!

Comfy feather beds! Great view! Staff super friendly and helpful. The pool was shallow-4ft at the deep end, but on the 45th floor with a great view of Navy pier. The elevators were slow! Had to wait 10 min at one point to get down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

starbucks in lobby bar!

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago
Jan 1, 2011

Not what was expected for a 4 Star!

Wasn't what I expected for a 4 star hotel price seemed to high for what was offered. The bathroom was to small shower was tiny. I had reserved a room with a king size bed and got two doubles... view wasn't what was promised... Customer service was less than satisfactory... didn't feel welcomed at all. I had went to bed at 3am and the sun had woken me up at 6am there wasn't shades to keep out the sun light... I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone... [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Villa Park IL
Jan 1, 2011

a great new years eve getaway

A beautiful new years eve hotel getaway. We had a gorgeous lake view of Navy pier. Check in was great, service great and the palm restraunt was excellent. Close to Navy Pier which was great!The in room movies and mini bar are too pricey but all in all this was a very good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Saugatuck/Douglas, MI
Dec 31, 2010

short stay, great service

Never had a bad stay at this hotel. Good service, great location, nice views....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Millenium Park

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Seattle
Dec 30, 2010

Excellent Stay

Nice stay. Nice room, Excellent Staff. Great deal rom [...], but a number of added fees that were not included stacked up (parking >$50/day), wifi costs, good but expensive breakfast buffet. etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Wheeling, Illinois
Dec 4, 2010

Great Hotel

It was a great hotel friendly staff and very clean!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mag mile is right there and you can see Navy Pier

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
toledo , oh
Nov 25, 2010

it was good

the hotel was great in terms of the room and bed quality .. but it was very poor in the details like the towels shampo and even in complementary coffe, they know that we were 3 in the room and they only provid us samples for one person.. also they where very the hotel shoud alow to use the pool without extra charge.. compared to my last travel [...] to orlando 3 months ago my stay in hilton was great in all ways also pool + jacuzzi was with no extra charge ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

the very nice street .. 5 min from hotel called michigan ave...great shoping from all brands world wide .... entertanment, dinnig and all in one street we had a splash there

Back to menu Return to top