$206 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Swissotel Chicago

4 stars
View map of 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-9722

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Chicago

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
301 out of 301
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike reed
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 17, 2011

Nice hotel for business except...

The hotel is very pleasant, spotless and professional. It feels a little odd if you are not used to European hotels. Room was slightly larger then most and the big desk was very convenient. Bathroom was large and well appointed. A huge downside was the Internet. The speed would fluctuate from slow to unusable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buck N Trong
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Chicago-Great time at Swissotel!

The hotel is great, truly a luxury hotel that competes with any American luxury hotel. This was my first time in Chicago, and my first time staying at a Swissotel. I was very happy and comfortable and safe during my entire stay. I stayed on the 16th of 42 floors and had a great view. Chicago is a busy city, so naturally I heard some environmental noises during my stay (traffic, boats, construction), but all was quiet at night, other than in the awesome hotel bar and Palm restaurant located in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Chicago has so much to do. Great hotel experience at Swissotel. The only issue was at check in..., I had paid Orbitz a higher rate for a specific type of room (Lake view, renovated, king bed) at this hotel, and upon check in, they had me in a standard room. The front desk clerk summarily asked me if I wanted to pay for an upgraded room. Thankfully I had my Orbitz paperwork, and she honored my booking arrangements as expected through Orbitz.

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Klug
Business
Madison WI
Aug 16, 2011

Once we got there...

The hotel was difficult to get to for those of us not familiar with Chicago. The Upper Wacker Drive/Lower Wacker Drive combo had us going in circles. Once we arrived, the room was very nicely appointed and the staff was great. One negative was the workout/pool/jacuzzi facility -- an extra $15 and you have to wait in the "registration" line to get your key card validated for the facility. Easy walking to Navy Pier and Millenium Park, the Art Institute, and more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 11, 2011

No otel like Swissotel

Best bang for the buck I have encountered. Helpful staff, great location and room was perfect. From bedding to view could not ask for more. Completely surprised by the family friendly environment of the hotel and downtown area. Check out great eats in the pedway area for breakfast and lunch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Both the hotel and adjoining building have underground pedestrian way. Great affordable options for breakfast and lunch.

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grizzled Concert Veteran Andy
Business
New York, NY
Aug 9, 2011

Great location, fantastic views

I stayed at the Swissotel during Lollapalooza. It was the perfect location—right next to Grant Park—and I had a magnificent view from my 20th floor window. The room was spotless with modern amenities. My only complaint is that the restaurant for breakfast is in the basement, forsaking the fantastic views it could have had from a higher floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ideal for exploring Millenium Park, or for festivals in Grant Park.

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DLaurel
Business
Chicago
Aug 8, 2011

Comfortable & Luxurious

We stayed in Chicago for Lollapalooza weekend as we've done in the past. The Swissotel was very accommodating and our room was perfect - great bedding linens, too. My only disappointment was with the extremely slow service at breakfast on Saturday. The restaurant was practically empty but it took at least three-fourths of an hour to order & receive breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dinners are great - breakfast on the concierge level was too slow!

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BigBadBubba
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Aug 5, 2011

Great Experience

Overall I am very happy with my experience at Swissotel. I'll say up front that it is not cheap. But looking around downtown Chicago, all hotels charge the same or more for the same services (parking, pool use, etc.) I knew this going in so I have no complaints. The hotel itself is extremely nice. The outside look, the lobby, decorations, etc. are all impressive and inviting. The staff were unbelievably friendly and professional ([...] is awesome), and accommodated our every request with urgency.The location was perfect. We were able to walk with our luggage from Millennium station with three kids in tow without issue. We also were able to walk to Navy Pier, Michigan Ave. and several nearby restaurants within just a few minutes. The River Walk is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If traveling from the hotel to either Navy Pier or Willis Tower, the water taxi is a great alternative. It's fun for the kids, super convenient, and MUCH cheaper than the guided architectural boat tours. The dock is almost directly across the river from the hotel.

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Aug 1, 2011

Weekend in Chicago at the Swissotel

Very nice hotel. Spacious rooms with a nice view of the city and lake. Comprable to other hotels I have stayed at in the area only at half the price. Great location to walk or cab to local attractions. Convenient to Grant Park, Buckinham Fountain, Millenium Park, Navy Pier, Mag Mile, the Loop, the museum campus, Art Institute and much more. Can't say enough about the valet service! THe other services were ok, a little attitude and several requests needed follow up before they were accomplished. Overall a good experience. By the way, the elevator issues mentioned in other reviews were not a problem. Stayed during a very busy summer weekend and never had to wait long. You do HAVE to pay attention to the display on the button for elevator as it will tell you which elevator to take. If you just get on to the next car that arrives you may not get to the floor you want. Otherwise, it was a very efficient system - never had to wait longer than a minute for a car to arrive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hortonville,WI
Jul 26, 2011

Unbeatable location for great price!

We had a wonderful room with great view of Navy Pier. We enjoyed watching the Pier's fireworks from our room. We enjoyed use of the pool. The concierge was very helpful and friendly,as well as the rest of the staff. We were within walking distance to the magnificent mile as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Yolk restaurant was a great restaurant for breakfast and a short walk from the hotel. It was great for kids too.

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Urbana, IL
Jul 25, 2011

Great, but some things cost more

Our family (2 adults, 2 kids) stayed at this hotel for a weekend. We booked it because it was affordable for the location and looked nice. It was very comfortable and clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. A few things that bugged me: when we declined to upgrade to "high floor with a great lake view" they put us on the 3rd floor and said it was all they had; the pool costs $15 per person, per day, which seemed too expensive for the kids to cool off for an hour; I could not find anyway to turn off the bathroom fan- it interfered with my sleep. That said, I'd stay here again. Also, it's very close to Millennium Park and Michigan Ave. The kids liked that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to The West Egg, a good family breakfast place.

Back to menu Return to top