$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

Swissotel Chicago

4 stars
323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-9722
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
305 reviews
Marathon Weekend

The Swissotel is one of the better choices for the Chicago Marathon weekend. It's a very close walk... See full review

  • seattle runner
  • Oct 14, 2014
Great room, Perfect location

My 12-year old daughter and I enjoyed an overnight stay - great location for Michigan Ave shopping.... See full review

  • Business traveler 13
  • Oct 10, 2014

An all-glass triangular hotel, wedged into the confluence of the Chicago River and Lake Michigan, has spectacular wrap-around views from Navy Pier to Grant Park.

Swissotel Chicago offers 661 air-conditioned, tastefully decorated and generously oversized rooms and suites. Relax above the city in our Penthouse Swimming Pool, Whirlpool and Health Club. Spa services available.

Overnight parking charge will be $65.00/day with in and out privileges. Hybrid vehicles receive a 50% discount.

A fee of $15.00 per room, per day (up to 4 guests) will apply for the use of the health club/swimming pool.

Hotel Map

41.8876 -87.6195
Area served
Downtown Chicago, IL
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport and Chicago Midway Airport
Area description
Swissotel Chicago, is located along the shores of Lake Michigan and the Chicago River. Near Navy Pier and Millennium Park.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Swissotel Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Swissotel Chicago Rooms

Deluxe Room
The Classic room offers a spacious accommodations with either one King or Two Double beds. Amenities include a spacious marble bath with seperate shower, fine Italian duvet covers, large work area, mini refrigerator , plush robes with spectacular views of the city skyline or Grant Park. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Field Museum Package
Meet one of the finest meat-eaters ever to walk the earth or unlock the secrets of tombs, mummies and marshes. The Package includes deluxe accommodations with one king or two double beds, two general admission tickets to the Field Museum including to special exhibits, and free access to the penthouse health club and pool. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Deluxe Lakeview Room
The Classic Lakeview room has breathtaking views of Lake Michigan, the Chicago River and Navy Pier. Amenities include a spacious marble bath with separate shower, fine Italian duvet covers, large work area, mini refrigerator, plush robes and offers either one King or Two Double Beds. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Corner Executive Suite
The perfect blend of work and play can be found in Swisstel Chicagos new one-bedroom Corner Executive suites. Exclusively designed with the business traveller in mind, this 750 ft (228.6 m) suite features burnished hardwood floors and an executive office with a multi-media docking station that lets you use media devices (laptop, mp3 player, DVD player and more) simultaneously, in one handy location. Conduct business or entertain clients in style in the parlour area, which highlights its own wine bar.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.8 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose from 31 air-conditioned meeting rooms or meet in the luxury of your spacious guest suite.

Dining

Geneva
Offering an American breakfast buffet with European flare.
Amuse
Meet up with your family and friends at this special corner of the world "where the river meets the lake." Relax in front of the fireplace and share what you explored in Chicago. In the morning sun rises over a steaming cup of coffee, cappuccino, or frothy latte.
The Palm
If steaks and seafood are your flavor try The Palm, located in Swissotel Chicago.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (305)

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Chicago

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
305 out of 305
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
madison wi.
Aug 1, 2011

great

great stay but pool was very dirty reported it next night was still dirty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Aug 1, 2011

Weekend in Chicago at the Swissotel

Very nice hotel. Spacious rooms with a nice view of the city and lake. Comprable to other hotels I have stayed at in the area only at half the price. Great location to walk or cab to local attractions. Convenient to Grant Park, Buckinham Fountain, Millenium Park, Navy Pier, Mag Mile, the Loop, the museum campus, Art Institute and much more. Can't say enough about the valet service! THe other services were ok, a little attitude and several requests needed follow up before they were accomplished. Overall a good experience. By the way, the elevator issues mentioned in other reviews were not a problem. Stayed during a very busy summer weekend and never had to wait long. You do HAVE to pay attention to the display on the button for elevator as it will tell you which elevator to take. If you just get on to the next car that arrives you may not get to the floor you want. Otherwise, it was a very efficient system - never had to wait longer than a minute for a car to arrive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hortonville,WI
Jul 26, 2011

Unbeatable location for great price!

We had a wonderful room with great view of Navy Pier. We enjoyed watching the Pier's fireworks from our room. We enjoyed use of the pool. The concierge was very helpful and friendly,as well as the rest of the staff. We were within walking distance to the magnificent mile as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Yolk restaurant was a great restaurant for breakfast and a short walk from the hotel. It was great for kids too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Urbana, IL
Jul 25, 2011

Great, but some things cost more

Our family (2 adults, 2 kids) stayed at this hotel for a weekend. We booked it because it was affordable for the location and looked nice. It was very comfortable and clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. A few things that bugged me: when we declined to upgrade to "high floor with a great lake view" they put us on the 3rd floor and said it was all they had; the pool costs $15 per person, per day, which seemed too expensive for the kids to cool off for an hour; I could not find anyway to turn off the bathroom fan- it interfered with my sleep. That said, I'd stay here again. Also, it's very close to Millennium Park and Michigan Ave. The kids liked that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to The West Egg, a good family breakfast place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington DC
Jul 12, 2011

Great experience in sum

I stayed here with a convention and overall it was excellent. I am wheelchair dependent and the room was accessible although a little tight. There was a musty smell in the bathroom but not so bad we couldnt tolerate it. Concierge were extremely helpful when i developed problems with my scooter. The catering manager for our event was professional, efficient, unfailingly courteous and flexible. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in downtown Chicago for any reason. This was my second time-I stayed for a wedding last year and had the same excellent experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 7, 2011

Just right

The hotel was modern and clean, service was friendly and very helpful, the room was a bit smaller than what I expected, the view was beautiful and location was perfect. The only 2 things negative were that we needed an extra cot but with 2 beds already they would not allow it and the parking was very pricey at $52 per 24 hours. We found a $30 garage right next door for the 2nd day. Fitness and pool were great (it was $15 per room per day xtra but because we took the view upgrade for an extra $35 they included it.) We walked easily to Navy Pier and Magnificent Mile. We also walked to and from Soldier Field for the U2 show. That was a little longer but we stopped to eat at Artists Cafe near Congress/Michigan along the way. Great food and service! Concert was awesome! Harry Caray restrant on the Pier was also fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Harry Carays on Navy Pier

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bummed about Swissotel
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 27, 2011

Think long and hard

As life long residents of Chicago we dedcide to stay-cation. I chose this hotel because we wanted to try something out of the oridnary. It claimed to have updated rooms (not really). The service and attitudes of the hotel and Palm resaurant employees were rude and pitiful in this economy. The pool was not very warm or clean, our shower leaked all over the bathroom floor, we could not rent movies, the room service prices were ridiculous for mediocre food. When we called for the leaking shower & movies, the reply would be "What would you like me to do about that?" The only saving grace of this establishment was the hotel's restaurant in the lower lever, the staff was fabulous and food was delicious! We enjoyed a wonderfully filling breakfast on Sat. and returned for the same on Sunday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Stay away from The Palm Restaurant! Food quality was garabage and service equalled!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny,ny
Jun 21, 2011

Horrible experience

Location was good. Other then that the experience at swissotel was horrible. Small beds...terrible maid service. Ordered towels and room cleaning multiple times with no response. The toilet overflowed and wasn't cleaned til the next day despite many attempts for assistance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Albo Al
Business
Staten Island, NY
Jun 21, 2011

Taking over the Town.

Hotel was great! They let us check in early, gave us a nice clean room! House keeper was very polite and [...] at the bar in the lobby was one of the best bartenders I had while I was in town. Went to a Cubs/Yankee game and toured the city on their boat and bus rides.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was so close and if it rained they had a whole underground plaza with shopping and resturants to get to which was really cool.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tocamba traveler
Business
san Antonio Tx
Jun 12, 2011

Nice Hotel but all extras has a cost

I was very happy with the rate I get with [...], but once in the hotel all is extra and expensive Internet 10 dollars dayly, parking lot 52 dollars dayly, botlle of water 7 dollars each. plus tipsI arrive at the Hotel at 10 am and the frontdesk people ask me to wait 2 hours to get ready my 2 beds room. Then i went to visit some friends in chicago and come back at 10 pm and it was not any room with 2 beds available. I get angry and then they miracle found a 2 bed room for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The river is just infront of the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top