$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Swissotel Chicago

4 stars
323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-9722
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
495 reviews
great family stay

Great pool, nice room, superb location. We will stay there again. See full review

  • travel family 949
  • Jul 13, 2014
Very nice

Excellent view-great hotel --steak at the palm was expensive but worth it See full review

  • Dkhanna
  • Jul 10, 2014

An all-glass triangular hotel, wedged into the confluence of the Chicago River and Lake Michigan, has spectacular wrap-around views from Navy Pier to Grant Park.

Swissotel Chicago offers 661 air-conditioned, tastefully decorated and generously oversized rooms and suites. Relax above the city in our Penthouse Swimming Pool, Whirlpool and Health Club. Spa services available.

Overnight parking charge will be $65.00/day with in and out privileges. Hybrid vehicles receive a 50% discount.

A fee of $15.00 per room, per day (up to 4 guests) will apply for the use of the health club/swimming pool.

Hotel Map

41.8876 -87.6195
Area served
Downtown Chicago, IL
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport and Chicago Midway Airport
Area description
Swissotel Chicago, is located along the shores of Lake Michigan and the Chicago River. Near Navy Pier and Millennium Park.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Swissotel Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Swissotel Chicago Rooms

Deluxe Room
The Classic room offers a spacious accommodations with either one King or Two Double beds. Amenities include a spacious marble bath with seperate shower, fine Italian duvet covers, large work area, mini refrigerator , plush robes with spectacular views of the city skyline or Grant Park. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Field Museum Package
Meet one of the finest meat-eaters ever to walk the earth or unlock the secrets of tombs, mummies and marshes. The Package includes deluxe accommodations with one king or two double beds, two general admission tickets to the Field Museum including to special exhibits, and free access to the penthouse health club and pool. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Deluxe Lakeview Room
The Classic Lakeview room has breathtaking views of Lake Michigan, the Chicago River and Navy Pier. Amenities include a spacious marble bath with separate shower, fine Italian duvet covers, large work area, mini refrigerator, plush robes and offers either one King or Two Double Beds. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Corner Executive Suite
The perfect blend of work and play can be found in Swisstel Chicagos new one-bedroom Corner Executive suites. Exclusively designed with the business traveller in mind, this 750 ft (228.6 m) suite features burnished hardwood floors and an executive office with a multi-media docking station that lets you use media devices (laptop, mp3 player, DVD player and more) simultaneously, in one handy location. Conduct business or entertain clients in style in the parlour area, which highlights its own wine bar.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.8 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose from 31 air-conditioned meeting rooms or meet in the luxury of your spacious guest suite.

Dining

Geneva
Offering an American breakfast buffet with European flare.
Amuse
Meet up with your family and friends at this special corner of the world "where the river meets the lake." Relax in front of the fireplace and share what you explored in Chicago. In the morning sun rises over a steaming cup of coffee, cappuccino, or frothy latte.
The Palm
If steaks and seafood are your flavor try The Palm, located in Swissotel Chicago.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (495)

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Chicago

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
495 out of 495
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
madison wi.
Aug 1, 2011

great

great stay but pool was very dirty reported it next night was still dirty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hortonville,WI
Jul 26, 2011

Unbeatable location for great price!

We had a wonderful room with great view of Navy Pier. We enjoyed watching the Pier's fireworks from our room. We enjoyed use of the pool. The concierge was very helpful and friendly,as well as the rest of the staff. We were within walking distance to the magnificent mile as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Yolk restaurant was a great restaurant for breakfast and a short walk from the hotel. It was great for kids too.

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hortonville,WI
Jul 26, 2011

Unbeatable location for great price!

We had a wonderful room with great view of Navy Pier. We enjoyed watching the Pier's fireworks from our room. We enjoyed use of the pool. The concierge was very helpful and friendly,as well as the rest of the staff. We were within walking distance to the magnificent mile as well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Yolk restaurant was a great restaurant for breakfast and a short walk from the hotel. It was great for kids too.

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Urbana, IL
Jul 25, 2011

Great, but some things cost more

Our family (2 adults, 2 kids) stayed at this hotel for a weekend. We booked it because it was affordable for the location and looked nice. It was very comfortable and clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. A few things that bugged me: when we declined to upgrade to "high floor with a great lake view" they put us on the 3rd floor and said it was all they had; the pool costs $15 per person, per day, which seemed too expensive for the kids to cool off for an hour; I could not find anyway to turn off the bathroom fan- it interfered with my sleep. That said, I'd stay here again. Also, it's very close to Millennium Park and Michigan Ave. The kids liked that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to The West Egg, a good family breakfast place.

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Urbana, IL
Jul 25, 2011

Great, but some things cost more

Our family (2 adults, 2 kids) stayed at this hotel for a weekend. We booked it because it was affordable for the location and looked nice. It was very comfortable and clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. A few things that bugged me: when we declined to upgrade to "high floor with a great lake view" they put us on the 3rd floor and said it was all they had; the pool costs $15 per person, per day, which seemed too expensive for the kids to cool off for an hour; I could not find anyway to turn off the bathroom fan- it interfered with my sleep. That said, I'd stay here again. Also, it's very close to Millennium Park and Michigan Ave. The kids liked that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to The West Egg, a good family breakfast place.

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
washington DC
Jul 12, 2011

Great experience in sum

I stayed here with a convention and overall it was excellent. I am wheelchair dependent and the room was accessible although a little tight. There was a musty smell in the bathroom but not so bad we couldnt tolerate it. Concierge were extremely helpful when i developed problems with my scooter. The catering manager for our event was professional, efficient, unfailingly courteous and flexible. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in downtown Chicago for any reason. This was my second time-I stayed for a wedding last year and had the same excellent experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
washington DC
Jul 12, 2011

Great experience in sum

I stayed here with a convention and overall it was excellent. I am wheelchair dependent and the room was accessible although a little tight. There was a musty smell in the bathroom but not so bad we couldnt tolerate it. Concierge were extremely helpful when i developed problems with my scooter. The catering manager for our event was professional, efficient, unfailingly courteous and flexible. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in downtown Chicago for any reason. This was my second time-I stayed for a wedding last year and had the same excellent experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, OH
Jul 7, 2011

Just right

The hotel was modern and clean, service was friendly and very helpful, the room was a bit smaller than what I expected, the view was beautiful and location was perfect. The only 2 things negative were that we needed an extra cot but with 2 beds already they would not allow it and the parking was very pricey at $52 per 24 hours. We found a $30 garage right next door for the 2nd day. Fitness and pool were great (it was $15 per room per day xtra but because we took the view upgrade for an extra $35 they included it.) We walked easily to Navy Pier and Magnificent Mile. We also walked to and from Soldier Field for the U2 show. That was a little longer but we stopped to eat at Artists Cafe near Congress/Michigan along the way. Great food and service! Concert was awesome! Harry Caray restrant on the Pier was also fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Harry Carays on Navy Pier

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, OH
Jul 7, 2011

Just right

The hotel was modern and clean, service was friendly and very helpful, the room was a bit smaller than what I expected, the view was beautiful and location was perfect. The only 2 things negative were that we needed an extra cot but with 2 beds already they would not allow it and the parking was very pricey at $52 per 24 hours. We found a $30 garage right next door for the 2nd day. Fitness and pool were great (it was $15 per room per day xtra but because we took the view upgrade for an extra $35 they included it.) We walked easily to Navy Pier and Magnificent Mile. We also walked to and from Soldier Field for the U2 show. That was a little longer but we stopped to eat at Artists Cafe near Congress/Michigan along the way. Great food and service! Concert was awesome! Harry Caray restrant on the Pier was also fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Harry Carays on Navy Pier

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bummed about Swissotel
Chicago, IL
Jun 27, 2011

Think long and hard

As life long residents of Chicago we dedcide to stay-cation. I chose this hotel because we wanted to try something out of the oridnary. It claimed to have updated rooms (not really). The service and attitudes of the hotel and Palm resaurant employees were rude and pitiful in this economy. The pool was not very warm or clean, our shower leaked all over the bathroom floor, we could not rent movies, the room service prices were ridiculous for mediocre food. When we called for the leaking shower & movies, the reply would be "What would you like me to do about that?" The only saving grace of this establishment was the hotel's restaurant in the lower lever, the staff was fabulous and food was delicious! We enjoyed a wonderfully filling breakfast on Sat. and returned for the same on Sunday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Stay away from The Palm Restaurant! Food quality was garabage and service equalled!

Back to menu Return to top