$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

Swissotel Chicago

4 stars
323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-9722
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
300 reviews
This is a nice hotel....

This is the second time my wife and I have stayed at the Swissotel. When I first stayed in the... See full review

  • Grampa Don
  • Aug 27, 2014
Absolutely wonderful!

The hotel is beautiful and the beds are the most comfortable beds I've slept on at a hotel!... See full review

  • Lolla Attendees
  • Aug 6, 2014

An all-glass triangular hotel, wedged into the confluence of the Chicago River and Lake Michigan, has spectacular wrap-around views from Navy Pier to Grant Park.

Swissotel Chicago offers 661 air-conditioned, tastefully decorated and generously oversized rooms and suites. Relax above the city in our Penthouse Swimming Pool, Whirlpool and Health Club. Spa services available.

Overnight parking charge will be $65.00/day with in and out privileges. Hybrid vehicles receive a 50% discount.

A fee of $15.00 per room, per day (up to 4 guests) will apply for the use of the health club/swimming pool.

Hotel Map

41.8876 -87.6195
Area served
Downtown Chicago, IL
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport and Chicago Midway Airport
Area description
Swissotel Chicago, is located along the shores of Lake Michigan and the Chicago River. Near Navy Pier and Millennium Park.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Swissotel Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Swissotel Chicago Rooms

Deluxe Room
The Classic room offers a spacious accommodations with either one King or Two Double beds. Amenities include a spacious marble bath with seperate shower, fine Italian duvet covers, large work area, mini refrigerator , plush robes with spectacular views of the city skyline or Grant Park. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Field Museum Package
Meet one of the finest meat-eaters ever to walk the earth or unlock the secrets of tombs, mummies and marshes. The Package includes deluxe accommodations with one king or two double beds, two general admission tickets to the Field Museum including to special exhibits, and free access to the penthouse health club and pool. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Deluxe Lakeview Room
The Classic Lakeview room has breathtaking views of Lake Michigan, the Chicago River and Navy Pier. Amenities include a spacious marble bath with separate shower, fine Italian duvet covers, large work area, mini refrigerator, plush robes and offers either one King or Two Double Beds. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Corner Executive Suite
The perfect blend of work and play can be found in Swisstel Chicagos new one-bedroom Corner Executive suites. Exclusively designed with the business traveller in mind, this 750 ft (228.6 m) suite features burnished hardwood floors and an executive office with a multi-media docking station that lets you use media devices (laptop, mp3 player, DVD player and more) simultaneously, in one handy location. Conduct business or entertain clients in style in the parlour area, which highlights its own wine bar.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.8 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi

Dining

Geneva
Offering an American breakfast buffet with European flare.
Amuse
Meet up with your family and friends at this special corner of the world "where the river meets the lake." Relax in front of the fireplace and share what you explored in Chicago. In the morning sun rises over a steaming cup of coffee, cappuccino, or frothy latte.
The Palm
If steaks and seafood are your flavor try The Palm, located in Swissotel Chicago.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose from 31 air-conditioned meeting rooms or meet in the luxury of your spacious guest suite.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (300)

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Chicago

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
300 out of 300
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr. Moore
Business
Houston, TX
Jan 26, 2011

Poor value for an otherwise nice hotel

The room and facilities were nice (but not exceedingly so). However, the excessive cost of meals, incedentals, etc. -- and several errors on the part of the staff -- eroded any goodwill that the Swissotel brand enjoys. Breakfast buffet was nearly $30 for one??!! $12 for cofee and English muffin??!! I can afford it, but I was offended nonetheless. I'll just go elsewhere next time...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sue Travel Girl
Chicago, IL
Jan 23, 2011

Not As Expected

This hotel charges for use of their swimming pool. In our past experiences at this hotel, this was never the case[...]. We took a family trip with swimming in mind. Poor experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Prisma
Iowa
Jan 11, 2011

It's Swiss it's great

It's pricy but it was totally worth it. I stayed in the Swissotel for New Years Eve and I felt very secure once I went in the hotel. It has a great location so everything is within walking distance. Parking is expensive if you drive and it's not included. They made a mistake on charging me for a massage I didn't get (although it would've been nice) but when I talked to them, there was no problem and they credited my account immediately. Overall it's a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Symphony Weekend Stay
Wheeling IL
Jan 9, 2011

Great Location, Great Service

We stayed here on a Saturday evening to attend the Chicago Symphony, it is a short cab ride or a reasonable walk weather permiting to the Symphony Center. We ate at Catch35 which is also great, it is only 3-4 blocks away. We received an upgrade to a corner room with a lake view which was great. This hotel is a good value for the money, they do have high charges for additional services. Parking is $52.00 per day, and the breakfast buffet is good but very expensive. It is best to upgrade your room to include the breakfast buffet if you plan on eating there. It will only cost about $30 for a couple instead of almost $60 if you don't get the room with breakfast buffet package. Bring your own water bottles unless you don't mind paying $8.00 for the water they offer in the room. The most annoying thing about our stay was the mini bar. We put a few things in the refrigerator that we bought at a local grocery store and learned that if you lift or move anything in the mini bar you will be automatically charged by some ridiculus electronic sensing system. When I requested a credit for these bogus charges the hotel staff was quick to provide a credit but this system is very annoying. Bottomline it's a great hotel for a competitive price but don't even think about touching the minibar unless you don't mind getting charged $10.00 for touching the small jar of nuts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Catch35 is just a few blocks away. Great food, perfect service, nice atmostphere, and a decent price for what you get.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
new year
grand rapids, mi
Jan 6, 2011

Great hotel, Great staff!

Comfy feather beds! Great view! Staff super friendly and helpful. The pool was shallow-4ft at the deep end, but on the 45th floor with a great view of Navy pier. The elevators were slow! Had to wait 10 min at one point to get down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

starbucks in lobby bar!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Villa Park IL
Jan 1, 2011

a great new years eve getaway

A beautiful new years eve hotel getaway. We had a gorgeous lake view of Navy pier. Check in was great, service great and the palm restraunt was excellent. Close to Navy Pier which was great!The in room movies and mini bar are too pricey but all in all this was a very good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jan 1, 2011

Stay on New Years Eve

Well, this hotel is nice, but nowhere near to 4 stars. To me, it's really a 3 star hotel. I've been staying in a 3 star hotels prior to this one a lot and most of them are a lot better, with a free breakfast. Room was clean and everything, but… - I purchased a "lake view" which cost a little more, but when we were checking in, rep was going to give us a regular room… How is this possible? - The elevators are terrible. I had a lot of confusion with getting to different floors. Not only me, by the way. - No free breakfast and it's a 4 star hotel. - Bathroom shower was leaking. Other than that, the location is great. Three minutes and you are on Michigan Ave. Also, it has great views. We were on 39th floor and enjoyed it very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Jan 1, 2011

Not what was expected for a 4 Star!

Wasn't what I expected for a 4 star hotel price seemed to high for what was offered. The bathroom was to small shower was tiny. I had reserved a room with a king size bed and got two doubles... view wasn't what was promised... Customer service was less than satisfactory... didn't feel welcomed at all. I had went to bed at 3am and the sun had woken me up at 6am there wasn't shades to keep out the sun light... I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone... [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Saugatuck/Douglas, MI
Dec 31, 2010

short stay, great service

Never had a bad stay at this hotel. Good service, great location, nice views....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Millenium Park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle
Dec 30, 2010

Excellent Stay

Nice stay. Nice room, Excellent Staff. Great deal rom [...], but a number of added fees that were not included stacked up (parking >$50/day), wifi costs, good but expensive breakfast buffet. etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search