$206 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Swissotel Chicago

4 stars
View map of 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-9722

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
301 reviews
Love the view from the room

More than met our expectations. Loved that it was off the path of busy Michigan Avenue. Loved the... See full review

  • Charlene M.
  • Jul 23, 2015
NIce conference trip

I really enjoyed my time at this hotel and it kept me comfortable in the winter time. See full review

  • Catalina P.
  • Mar 18, 2015

With just under 40 properties in 17 countries, the upscale Swissotel chain, founded in 1980, is known for offering unique and innovative touches, and the Swissotel Chicago is no exception. The all-glass, pyramid-shaped hotel is a standout even in a city that's renowned for its incredible architecture. From its lush lobby lit with sparkling, bubble-shaped fixtures to its 42nd-floor fitness center, Swissotel Chicago cuts a genuinely unique figure. While staying at this four-diamond hotel, hit the 42nd-floor Penthouse Fitness Centre and Pool for dramatic views of the city, state-of-the-art cardio equipment, a 45-foot pool, a dry sauna, a Jacuzzi and much more.

Location

Swissotel Chicago puts guests right in the center of the best that the Windy City has to offer. When you stay here, you're just a short walk away from incredible shopping along the Magnificent Mile. Cloud Gate, known as The Bean, and the other unique sculptures of Millennium Park are just steps away. On a clear day, it's easy to stroll from Swissotel to The Art Institute, Navy Pier, the Field Museum, Shedd Aquarium, and Chicago's countless other attractions.

Highlights
  • 621 guestrooms
  • 40 suites
  • 42 floors
  • Indoor pool
  • Gym
  • 2 restaurants
  • 24-hour front desk
  • 24-hour room service
Fees
  • The fitness centre and swimming pool are FREE of charge.
  • Valet parking fee is $70 USD per night with in and out privileges.
  • Pet fee is $50 USD per night. Only one (1) dog weighing less than 25 lbs is allowed.
  • The property charges $250 USD security deposit at check in. The fee is refundable at check-out.
  • Overnight parking fee is $65 per day inclusive of in and out privileges. Hybrid vehicles receive a 50% discount.
Policies

Get pampered with in-room massages and spa treatments to look and feel your best during your visit.

Recover from a long day of sightseeing with a hand-crafted cocktail at Amuse, the lobby bar.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Swissotel Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Swissotel Chicago Rooms

Deluxe Room
The Classic room offers a spacious accommodations with either one King or Two Double beds. Amenities include a spacious marble bath with seperate shower, fine Italian duvet covers, large work area, mini refrigerator , plush robes with spectacular views of the city skyline or Grant Park. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Field Museum Package
Meet one of the finest meat-eaters ever to walk the earth or unlock the secrets of tombs, mummies and marshes. The Package includes deluxe accommodations with one king or two double beds, two general admission tickets to the Field Museum including to special exhibits, and free access to the penthouse health club and pool. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Deluxe Lakeview Room
The Classic Lakeview room has breathtaking views of Lake Michigan, the Chicago River and Navy Pier. Amenities include a spacious marble bath with separate shower, fine Italian duvet covers, large work area, mini refrigerator, plush robes and offers either one King or Two Double Beds. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Corner Executive Suite
The perfect blend of work and play can be found in Swissotel Chicagos new one-bedroom Corner Executive suites. Exclusively designed with the business traveller in mind, this 750 ft (228.6 m) suite features burnished hardwood floors and an executive office with a multi-media docking station that lets you use media devices (laptop, mp3 player, DVD player and more) simultaneously, in one handy location. Conduct business or entertain clients in style in the parlour area, which highlights its own wine bar.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.8 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose from 31 air-conditioned meeting rooms or meet in the luxury of your spacious guest suite.

Dining

Geneva
Offering an American breakfast buffet with European flare.
Amuse
Meet up with your family and friends at this special corner of the world "where the river meets the lake." Relax in front of the fireplace and share what you explored in Chicago. In the morning sun rises over a steaming cup of coffee, cappuccino, or frothy latte.
The Palm
If steaks and seafood are your flavor try The Palm, located in Swissotel Chicago.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Chicago

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 301
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charlene M.
Business
Frankfort
Jul 23, 2015

Love the view from the room

More than met our expectations. Loved that it was off the path of busy Michigan Avenue. Loved the views of Navy Pier. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very spacious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jake L.
Business
grayslake
Jan 9, 2015

Great Weekend Getaway

I have never stayed in this hotel before and the experience was great. The Central Location was good for shopping on Michigan Ave. and also very close to Millenium park. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to explore Chicago and have a room that is second to none in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Francisco I.
Business
Bartlett
Jan 5, 2015

Very Nice Hotel

nice location, steps from Michigan Avenue, room had great views of Navy Pier and the lake, staff was very courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lover of Chicao
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Memorable holiday visit

We had a wonderful stay at the Swissôtel. Because they could not locate our reservation, they upgraded us to a bigger room on the 27th floor that had what felt like panoramic views up Michigan Avenue of (from left to right) the Trump Towers, the Wrigley Building, the Hancock Tower, Lake Point Tower, and Navy Pier. We spent a long time admiring those gorgeous buildings lit by Chicago's inimitable light and left the curtains open all night. By opting out of housekeeping, we earned a $20 credit in their restaurants, where we enjoyed the European buffet at breakfast and delicious snacks and drinks in the lobby. The hotel staff was incredibly attentive. However wifi was not available in our room unless we paid $14.95/day (!), and in the business center, fees started at $4.95. The hotel location was perfect: we could walk to the museums or take a bus up or down Michigan Avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We especially appreciated that the Art Institute and the Museum of Contemporary Art were close by, and we enjoyed eating at nearby Shaw's Crab House.

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
seattle runner
Business
seattle
Oct 14, 2014

Marathon Weekend

The Swissotel is one of the better choices for the Chicago Marathon weekend. It's a very close walk to Grant Park but not in the midst of the noise as are many of the nearby hotels, so it's quiet. Our room had a terrific view of the lake and the river, and it was clean and up to date. Really, we have no complaints at all. It was perfect. For our first experience with a Swissotel property, we were impressed and would absolutely stay at one of their properties again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nickname Used by Another
Business
San Francisco
Oct 7, 2014

Clean room, good view

Location is a bit off the loop with nothing in the immediate walking vicinity. Having to pay extra for wifi seems like a nickel and dime scam in this day and age. Overall, the room was spacious and clean, with a comfy bed, so the place did the job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bookmom56
Business
St. Louis MO
Oct 7, 2014

Weekend in Chicago

Spacious room, well-appointed. Problem with cooling system speedily and easily remedied. Responsive staff, best practices followed to maximize guest comfort. Would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take advantage of Chicago's user-friendly public transportation system! Purchase a Ventra card first thing and easily go anywhere you want -- $20 for a three-day pass is a bargain!

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cariad
Business
Korea
Sep 21, 2014

Loved staying in Swissotel

It was great to stay in this hotel. Service was perfect and check in and check out process was fast. The room was roomy and had a stunning view. Window was so wide so I could capture a beautiful Navy pier and lake view. Staffs were generous and kind. I could store all my luggages on check out day. I will definately stay in the hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Millennium park

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ernie 2014
Business
Chicago Suburbs
Jul 30, 2014

Great Anniversary Experience

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary in a beautiful corner room with two views of the Chicago river and Lake Michigan in the distance. The staff were attentive, helpful and friendly. The room was clean and well equipped. We are pleased to recommend the Swissotel for a great stay in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The 95th Place Restaurant in the John Hancock Building, although expensive, is a wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion.

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dkhanna
Business
Paducah ky
Jul 10, 2014

Very nice

Excellent view-great hotel --steak at the palm was expensive but worth it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top