$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 12, 2014

Swissotel Chicago

4 stars
323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-9722
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
493 reviews
GREAT SURPRISE

We were not expecting our hotel as good as it was. The location is very good and we got a room on... See full review

  • Arquigon
  • Jul 4, 2014
Anniversary weekend in Chicago

This is our second time staying at the Swissotel and I was even better than the first. Upon arrival... See full review

  • LukeK
  • Jun 23, 2014

An all-glass triangular hotel, wedged into the confluence of the Chicago River and Lake Michigan, has spectacular wrap-around views from Navy Pier to Grant Park.

Swissotel Chicago offers 661 air-conditioned, tastefully decorated and generously oversized rooms and suites. Relax above the city in our Penthouse Swimming Pool, Whirlpool and Health Club. Spa services available.

Overnight parking charge will be $65.00/day with in and out privileges. Hybrid vehicles receive a 50% discount.

A fee of $15.00 per room, per day (up to 4 guests) will apply for the use of the health club/swimming pool.

Swissotel Chicago Rooms

Deluxe Room
The Classic room offers a spacious accommodations with either one King or Two Double beds. Amenities include a spacious marble bath with seperate shower, fine Italian duvet covers, large work area, mini refrigerator , plush robes with spectacular views of the city skyline or Grant Park. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Field Museum Package
Meet one of the finest meat-eaters ever to walk the earth or unlock the secrets of tombs, mummies and marshes. The Package includes deluxe accommodations with one king or two double beds, two general admission tickets to the Field Museum including to special exhibits, and free access to the penthouse health club and pool. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Deluxe Lakeview Room
The Classic Lakeview room has breathtaking views of Lake Michigan, the Chicago River and Navy Pier. Amenities include a spacious marble bath with separate shower, fine Italian duvet covers, large work area, mini refrigerator, plush robes and offers either one King or Two Double Beds. The maximum number of adults per guest room is 3 people and 4 with children.
Corner Executive Suite
The perfect blend of work and play can be found in Swisstel Chicagos new one-bedroom Corner Executive suites. Exclusively designed with the business traveller in mind, this 750 ft (228.6 m) suite features burnished hardwood floors and an executive office with a multi-media docking station that lets you use media devices (laptop, mp3 player, DVD player and more) simultaneously, in one handy location. Conduct business or entertain clients in style in the parlour area, which highlights its own wine bar.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Swissotel Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8876 -87.6195
Area served
Downtown Chicago, IL
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport and Chicago Midway Airport
Area description
Swissotel Chicago, is located along the shores of Lake Michigan and the Chicago River. Near Navy Pier and Millennium Park.

Nearby points of interest

  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Marina City: 0.5 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.6 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.8 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 1 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1 mi

Dining

Geneva
Offering an American breakfast buffet with European flare.
Amuse
Meet up with your family and friends at this special corner of the world "where the river meets the lake." Relax in front of the fireplace and share what you explored in Chicago. In the morning sun rises over a steaming cup of coffee, cappuccino, or frothy latte.
The Palm
If steaks and seafood are your flavor try The Palm, located in Swissotel Chicago.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Choose from 31 air-conditioned meeting rooms or meet in the luxury of your spacious guest suite.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (493)

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Chicago

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
493 out of 493
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ish1
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Great Views

Elevators are pretty high-tech - just punch in your floor and it takes you there directly. Also, the views from the room - lake michigan, chicago river, downtown were spectacular. The check-in wait at 11:00pm was long. Didn't really talk to the staff too much otherwise. Express check-out was nice. Daily charge for wi-fi?! Come on guys!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mag mile is about a five minute walk from the hotel.

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ish1
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Great Views

Elevators are pretty high-tech - just punch in your floor and it takes you there directly. Also, the views from the room - lake michigan, chicago river, downtown were spectacular. The check-in wait at 11:00pm was long. Didn't really talk to the staff too much otherwise. Express check-out was nice. Daily charge for wi-fi?! Come on guys!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mag mile is about a five minute walk from the hotel.

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike reed
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 17, 2011

Nice hotel for business except...

The hotel is very pleasant, spotless and professional. It feels a little odd if you are not used to European hotels. Room was slightly larger then most and the big desk was very convenient. Bathroom was large and well appointed. A huge downside was the Internet. The speed would fluctuate from slow to unusable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike reed
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 17, 2011

Nice hotel for business except...

The hotel is very pleasant, spotless and professional. It feels a little odd if you are not used to European hotels. Room was slightly larger then most and the big desk was very convenient. Bathroom was large and well appointed. A huge downside was the Internet. The speed would fluctuate from slow to unusable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buck N Trong
Charlotte, NC, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Chicago-Great time at Swissotel!

The hotel is great, truly a luxury hotel that competes with any American luxury hotel. This was my first time in Chicago, and my first time staying at a Swissotel. I was very happy and comfortable and safe during my entire stay. I stayed on the 16th of 42 floors and had a great view. Chicago is a busy city, so naturally I heard some environmental noises during my stay (traffic, boats, construction), but all was quiet at night, other than in the awesome hotel bar and Palm restaurant located in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Chicago has so much to do. Great hotel experience at Swissotel. The only issue was at check in..., I had paid Orbitz a higher rate for a specific type of room (Lake view, renovated, king bed) at this hotel, and upon check in, they had me in a standard room. The front desk clerk summarily asked me if I wanted to pay for an upgraded room. Thankfully I had my Orbitz paperwork, and she honored my booking arrangements as expected through Orbitz.

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buck N Trong
Charlotte, NC, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Chicago-Great time at Swissotel!

The hotel is great, truly a luxury hotel that competes with any American luxury hotel. This was my first time in Chicago, and my first time staying at a Swissotel. I was very happy and comfortable and safe during my entire stay. I stayed on the 16th of 42 floors and had a great view. Chicago is a busy city, so naturally I heard some environmental noises during my stay (traffic, boats, construction), but all was quiet at night, other than in the awesome hotel bar and Palm restaurant located in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Chicago has so much to do. Great hotel experience at Swissotel. The only issue was at check in..., I had paid Orbitz a higher rate for a specific type of room (Lake view, renovated, king bed) at this hotel, and upon check in, they had me in a standard room. The front desk clerk summarily asked me if I wanted to pay for an upgraded room. Thankfully I had my Orbitz paperwork, and she honored my booking arrangements as expected through Orbitz.

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Klug
Madison WI
Aug 16, 2011

Once we got there...

The hotel was difficult to get to for those of us not familiar with Chicago. The Upper Wacker Drive/Lower Wacker Drive combo had us going in circles. Once we arrived, the room was very nicely appointed and the staff was great. One negative was the workout/pool/jacuzzi facility -- an extra $15 and you have to wait in the "registration" line to get your key card validated for the facility. Easy walking to Navy Pier and Millenium Park, the Art Institute, and more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Klug
Madison WI
Aug 16, 2011

Once we got there...

The hotel was difficult to get to for those of us not familiar with Chicago. The Upper Wacker Drive/Lower Wacker Drive combo had us going in circles. Once we arrived, the room was very nicely appointed and the staff was great. One negative was the workout/pool/jacuzzi facility -- an extra $15 and you have to wait in the "registration" line to get your key card validated for the facility. Easy walking to Navy Pier and Millenium Park, the Art Institute, and more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Aug 11, 2011

No otel like Swissotel

Best bang for the buck I have encountered. Helpful staff, great location and room was perfect. From bedding to view could not ask for more. Completely surprised by the family friendly environment of the hotel and downtown area. Check out great eats in the pedway area for breakfast and lunch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Both the hotel and adjoining building have underground pedestrian way. Great affordable options for breakfast and lunch.

Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Aug 11, 2011

No otel like Swissotel

Best bang for the buck I have encountered. Helpful staff, great location and room was perfect. From bedding to view could not ask for more. Completely surprised by the family friendly environment of the hotel and downtown area. Check out great eats in the pedway area for breakfast and lunch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Both the hotel and adjoining building have underground pedestrian way. Great affordable options for breakfast and lunch.

Back to menu Return to top