$180 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Swissotel Chicago

4 stars
View map of 323 E Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601-9722

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Swissotel Chicago

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
316 out of 316
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AnnieD
Business
Hamden, CT
Jun 7, 2012

Great Buy and very friendly.

I loved this hotel. We had two double rooms for four women celebrating a milestone birthday and they were terrific. The room was great. Overlooking the lake. They even gave us two comp breakfasts on the concierge floor. And send birthday cake and balloons to the celebrant. Who could ask for anything more. Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at Spiaggia. It is a rip off. Pretty but not a well spent dollar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M.Smith
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 11, 2012

Very nice.

My husband and I took our 1 year old daughter here for a weekend staycation. It was a very nice hotel (we felt under-dressed most of the time) but there were a few things that would keep me from going back. The fees were insane. A daily fee of $15 per person for access to pool area...even if you don't use it, really annoyed me. Also, it's $50 to park (which we didn't do). The location isn't bad if you don't mind walking, but it's not really close to anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wildberry has the most amazing breakfast!!! Try their signature pancakes. Yum!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lieslp
Business
Thousand Oaks, CA
Apr 10, 2012

Good Family Getaway, Some Flaws

We love this hotel - great rooms, location, pool is wonderful for the kids. The only issues we had were with housekeeping (didn't show up one of the days and said we had a do not disturb sign up - we did not). We also had a few issues with room service - we could never reach them and when they finally called us back, they messed up our order twice. We would go back though. Great place overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BKOM
Business
North Carolina, USA
Mar 28, 2012

Excellent staff

Despite the lobby undergoing major renovation, I had an excellent stay. All the staff (reception, housekeeping, waitstaff in The Palm, bellman) could not have been nicer or more accommodating. The room was clean and the bed was more comfortable than what I sleep on at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Steak at The Palm is as good as advertised. Order a side of mushrooms too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Theatre Business
Business
New York
Mar 5, 2012

AMAZING staff and a prime locale

Extremely clean rooms and perhaps the friendliest and most accommodating staff I've encountered on a business trip. The gym is free and the location is close to the subway and theatres. The lone negative is that the hotel is under repair and currently lacking a bit in external aesthetics...but renovations/repairs should be completed soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tbone62
Business
Bloomington, IL, USA
Feb 26, 2012

My Weekend in Chicago

It was a great hotel!!! The rooms provide great comfort as well as an AMAZING view of the Chicago skyline. Plus, the rooms even come with bathrobes!! Yeah, I know, awesome. Anyway, overall it was an amazing hotel and really impacted our experience in Chicago. A++++

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steveo76
Business
Fresno, CA, USA
Feb 1, 2012

Wonderful location and extremely fine hotel.

First of all the staff was fantastic. The room comfortable and well equipped for business as well as pleasure and the bed was so comfortable. Outstanding view of Navy Pier and walking distance to many fun activities and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy Millenium Park as well as Navy Pier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boomer33
Business
Lemont, IL, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Great Weekend Trip

Swissotel was great from check-in to check-out. All of the views were amazing in their own way and the staff was extremely friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Truexplorer
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Great weekend getaway

Hotel was what we expected from Swissotel clean, well laid out and courteous staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to many Chicago attractions from the location or use the L.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Swissotel Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frances Bean
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 19, 2011

So disappointed!!

My parents stayed at this hotel 2 years ago and raved about it. Well it has gone downhill in 2 years. Although we booked online we ended up calling the hotel for additional info and emailing them. Never once did they let us know that the building is under construction. You have to pay $52 to "valet" park. Their idea of valet is different than mine. We had to drive down to the garage and park the car ourselves and then the next day they wanted us to go down and get it ourselves. When I emailed them I asked if they ever discount parking and they stated they would give me 50% off. When we got there they would not honor it. They claimed our car needed to be a hybrid which they did not explain in the email. We had booked 2 rooms and the girl at the front desk asked us if we would like to be on the same floor. We stated we did but instead of putting us on the same floor she put us in the same room number two floors apart. We tried to eat at the restaurant, which is the main reason we booked there. We had theatre tickets that night and they would not take our reservation because the kitchen closes at 10 and the last reservation they would honor was at 9! On a Friday night the week before Christmas!! The Keurig was not working in our room so we went downstairs to get the Starbucks in the lobby. When we got back the maid was in the room. We were checking out that day and she said they needed the room. But the worst part was she was not stripping the bed. Instead she was making the bed. I am very disappointed. I will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top