Super 8 Chicago IL

2 stars
7300 North Sheridan Road, Chicago, IL 60626
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
34 reviews
It's a perfectly cromulent sleeping place

It's an okay place to sleep. A little overpriced, but good location. See full review

  • Tara4456
  • Jun 11, 2013
chicago near the shore

Close to campus. Decent fridge and micro. Wii stay here again. See full review

  • joe88
  • Mar 2, 2012
Welcome to the Super 8 Chicago Loyola University. We are located 1 block from Lake Michigan beaches where you can enjoy a evening stroll or a morning jog along the beautiful lakeshore. Loyola University is only minutes away. The Super 8 Chicago is the closest Super 8 to Downtown Chicago, Navy Pier, Wrigley Field, and Northwestern University. Public transportation is available to all of the many Chicago downtown attractions and museums. The Super 8 Chicago offers free parking, limit one car per room, complimentary SuperStart Breakfast, free high speed wireless Internet access in all rooms. Our rooms all feature 25" TV with over 75 cable channels and free HBO & Showtime, micro-fridges, and hairdryers.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Map

42.0141 -87.6646
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Gentile Arena: 1 mi
  • Wrigley Field: 4.6 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 6.1 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 6.1 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 6.6 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 6.6 mi
  • Second City: 6.8 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 6.9 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 7.1 mi
  • History Museum: 7.3 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 7.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 7.9 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 7.9 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 8 mi
  • Gentile Arena: 1 mi
  • Wrigley Field: 4.6 mi
  • Victory Gardens Theater: 6.1 mi
  • Biograph Theater: 6.1 mi
  • Peggy Notebaert Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Lincoln Park: 6.6 mi
  • Lincoln Park Zoo: 6.6 mi
  • Second City: 6.8 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 6.9 mi
  • Steppenwolf Theatre: 7.1 mi
  • History Museum: 7.3 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 7.8 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 7.9 mi
  • Polish Museum of America: 7.9 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 8 mi
  • Kendall College: 8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 8.1 mi
  • Water Tower: 8.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 8.3 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 8.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 8.4 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 8.4 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 8.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 8.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 8.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 8.6 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 8.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 8.8 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 8.8 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 8.8 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 8.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 8.9 mi
  • Marina City: 8.9 mi
  • Navy Pier: 9 mi
  • Children Museum: 9 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 9.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 9.1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 9.1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 9.1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 9.1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 9.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 9.2 mi
  • City Hall: 9.2 mi
  • Opera House: 9.2 mi
  • Macys: 9.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Chicago IL

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Chicago IL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Never A Super 8
Michigan
Oct 4, 2010

worst experience EVER!

was not pleased with the hotel and did not stay --- went to another hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

location was the only thing about the hotel that was ok

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Chicago IL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BullsFan7
Illinois
Mar 31, 2013

Good Hotel Except for 1 thing

I am originally from Chicago and came back to visit. The stay was going great until my wife told me that the front desk clerk named Raj would not give her a new key when the old key stopped working. We went down to the front desk and he said that he could not give a key to someone not on the room account. Now when we checked in, I asked Raj to put my wife on the room account so that she could get a new key if she lost it. Raj knew us specifically because he checked us in. to make matters worse, he started shouting at us. Seems that Raj needs to find a new job because there was no need to shout and try to talk over us. I would not recommend this hotel because the customer service is horrible!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Chicago IL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 20, 2010

Curried rooms & cold showers

The hotel has a mild curry smell, as though the desk staff had just finished dinner. But the room was intensely curried, as though you were in a kitchen where curry was being cooked. Kid you not. The showers had internal stops to prevent you from turning up the hot tap on the shower. You could tell that turning it to the hottest setting wasn't as cold as it was if set to a colder setting, but it never got to what any reasonable traveler would even call lukewarm. Think about the temperature of a cup of coffee left on the counter for over a half hour. Kid you not. I will never stay here again, even if I have to stay outside the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Chicago IL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
susan mom 1
dallas
Jul 12, 2014

hotel is really poor condition

Hotel was in poor condition and in a rough area. Would not recommend this to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Chicago IL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tatti
Chicago, Illinois
Feb 17, 2013

Place to crash

Lives that my car was safe in their garage and parking was free

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Chicago IL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gunner dee
Columbus, oh
Feb 20, 2013

Not a good experience

Dissatisfied, elevators didn't work. The parking was uncomfortable, only one way in and out

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Chicago IL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 2, 2008

Super 8 Chicago

I would not stay in this hotel again, nor would I recommend it to anyone else. The rooms and furniture are old and uncomfortable, and there is an overpowering smell of cleaning fluid throughout the whole hotel. The staff were friendly and tried to be helpful, but it didn't make up for the condition of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Chicago IL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chicagoreviewer
Business
Chicago
Jun 10, 2014

Useful Location

This is a Super 8 that has seen better days, but it's within walking distance to Loyola's lakefront campus and a great many things, including the red line and several express buses downtown. The walls are paper thin, and the whole place is drab, but if you can book a room here for cheaper than a downtown place, you should know it's convenient for travelers without a car (and will give you a chance to explore Rogers Park and Edgewater neighborhoods, full of cafes and bars, bookstores, ethnic restaurants, etc.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Chicago IL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
judywbl
twin cities, mn
Nov 9, 2010

Met my needs.

I stayed at the Super 8 based on location. I wanted to stay in Rogers park for a reunion. The hotel was what I would call functional, it met my needs for a place to stay that was clean, convenient, had free parking and avoided the high traffic areas like the loop. The desk staff was helpful about the area and places to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a few restaurants and bars that are a short walk from the hotel with decent food. Italian, Indian, grill food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Chicago IL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan
May 27, 2011

Clean and Comfortable

We made a quick trip to visit my sister in Chicago,we needed a clean and comfortable hotel at a reasonable price.The Super 8 met our needs very well. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top