$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
132 reviews
Convenient location

Great location for a quick gateaway weekend, however the quality of the room was a little... See full review

  • Glossy13
  • Oct 14, 2014
great stay

great stay, the location is perfect, the staff is great and very helpful. will come back here again! See full review

  • Bari rozen
  • Jul 27, 2014
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower provides four-star downtown Chicago hotel accommodations -- minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, the Museum of Contemporary Art, Lake Michigan and upscale boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at one of the best downtown Chicago Illinois hotels.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Chicago Water Tower also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Rooms

JrSuite 1 Kg bed
JUNIOR SUITE - 1 king bed, city views. 47 m2,500 sq2. Modern king bed and sofa bed. City or partial lake view, spacious luxury marble bathroom with separate glass shower & tub. 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet and living area.
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 King size bed, Upper Floor. 33 m2,350sq2. Urban chic upper floor room with 1 king bed. City or partial lake view, luxury marble bathroom with glass shower and tub. 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe and high speed internet.
1 Kg bed Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM - 1 King size bed, Low floor. 33 m2,350sq2. Urban chic 1 king bed room, luxury marble bathroom with separate glass shower and tub, 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet
Suite 1 Kg bed Sup
PRESTIGE SUITE - 1 King size bed. 65 m2,700sq2. Contemporary 1-bedroom suite with king bed. City or partial lake view, luxurious marble bathroom with glass shower and tub, 2- 32" LCD TVs, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet and living room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1 mi
  • City Hall: 1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.2 mi
  • Opera House: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (132)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 132
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore,MD
Jul 19, 2009

Stylish but spare

I attended a 40 person seminar in the hotel for three nights. The restaurant had a small menu and high prices for all meals. Late one night I got a loud radio broadcast from someone else's radio in my bathroom, which I managed to squelch with an otherwise unexplained knob. No New York Times was available at the desk or otherwise. The Internet cable was defective. (I supplied my own.) There was no place to affix a laptop cable lock for security if you did not want to carry your laptop around all of the time. The room was quite small; there was no way to pass between the bad and desk chair while the chair was occupied. Replenishment of bathroom supplies was spotty. There was a very faux European atmosphere (addressing people who were obviously Americans initially in French)and a stylish white decor, but there were lots of shortcomings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to nearby restaurants for breakfast and dinner; they are better value and better food. One dinner in the hotel is OK, but for any subsequent nights go elsewhere for better food and better value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bekkita21
Business
Baltimore, MD
May 20, 2009

Beware of Allergens!

The hotel location was phenomenal close to everything!!! Upon arrival I was less than impressed with the accomodations as this hotel was highly rated and I guess you can say that I had extraordinarily high expectations. The room size was ok and other than not having a good vacuum, it seemed clean. My main concern was on a personal note. I had the misfortune of becoming ill while in the room. The hotel referred me to the in house doctor who charged me $450 to give me a diagnosis of conjunctivitis because I had red itchy eyes. When my condition failed to improve I called down to the front desk and asked if the bedding might contain any allergens at which point I was told everything in the bed was down, including pillows, mattress pad and duvet/comforter. Additionally, this hotel allows pets and upon closer inspection of the carpets I found large pet hairs throughout my room. Needless to say I was experiencing a terrible allergic reaction. I requested to have my bed swapped out for a hypoallergenic bedding and they agreed to switch my room. Once in the new hypoallergenic room, all blotchy skin and itchy watery eyes dissappeared. I was later told by another traveller that the Walgreens down the road had a 24hr walk in clinic which would have charged about $50 for a visit. The hotel did not pick up the tab for the doctor but did upgrade my room. Overall I was not impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Mar 12, 2010

Esthestics are not everything...

The hotel is beautiful and the rooms spacious and clean (for a city hotel). However, there were issues with the hot water all three days I was there. They were not as responsive as they should have been for a 4 Star hotel. I should have received a free night but all I was offered was free breakfast. In the end, I will not be staying there again. When things go wrong, someone should make it right. No one did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

GO TO GIBSON'S STEAKHOUSE. AMAZING.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BizTravler
Business
Orlando, Florida
Jul 8, 2009

Sofitel

Very enjoyable, friendly staff and close to the best Chicago has to offer in shopping and food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Thomas, VI
Jul 27, 2009

Very comfortable and relaxing

I attended a conference at the hotel and stayed in one of the rooms. I really enjoyed the ambiance and comfort. Breakfasts are delicious. Felt pampered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toledo, Ohio
Nov 11, 2009

Loved the hotel

One block from Michigan Ave and shopping galore. Steps to many great restaurants and boutiques on Oak Street. I wish there was an in-room coffee maker - I should have checked the amenities list before I made the reservation. The restaurant at the hotel was very pricey for breakfast - but there are many less expensive options within a block or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
On Business
Business
London
Jan 30, 2010

Excellent Hotel

Excellent property, great location and impeccable service. Gym on the small side but everything else what you would expect of a 5 star European hotel chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan loves Chicago
Business
Vermont
Jan 17, 2014

Nice overall experience

In Chicago for business, great restaurant, beautifully appointed rooms, top notch staff. Would definitely stay here again and recommend others as well. Price was very reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 8, 2009

Excellent

Very Pleasant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 25, 2007

The Best

I've traveled a lot but the Sofitel-Downtown Chicago was one of nicest hotels I've ever stayed at...European modern but with comfort, super staff and it's located in the middle of all the downtown action?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Park the car...everthing is walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top