$176 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
View map of 20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Highland Park IL
Aug 3, 2009

Fantastic stay

Beautiful room (single, king bed) and spacious bath with separate shower and bath. Bed amazingly comfortable, nice view and spotlessly clean. Did not take advantage of Cafe Les Architects on this trip, since there was a wedding hosted at the hotel this evening. Location is phenomenal. Despite business of wedding, front desk service was quick. Only complaint is slow shower drain, but that hardly put a damper on our weekend in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is a short walk to a heap of great restaurants in the area and far enough from the bustle of Mag Mile for peace, but only a short walk to get there. Highly recommended over any hotel on the Mile.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit metro area, Michigan
Apr 19, 2010

Lovely hotel

The hotel is within a block of the Water Tower; a few more blocks from the Contemporary Museum of Art; close to Lake Michigan's marvelous waterfront with bikes, swimming, roller blades, people!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 8, 2009

Excellent

Very Pleasant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 1, 2009

Contempary Elegance

We took advantage of the hotel and it's services. We sampled the drinks and eats in the lounge while viewing the hussle of Chicago going by. We entertained a client in the restaurant, in which the staff was superb, friendly and informative on the food and wine being offered. We were asked at each entrance to the main lobby area if any staff could be of help. This may be the best service I have received at a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Often tempted to leave hotel for other restaurants. Don't!!

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Prov. RI
Aug 21, 2009

Sofitel Chicago

The hotel was first class; with the staff being very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
law secretary
Business
East Tennessee
Aug 4, 2009

Great hotel - great location

The location was great - close to the Magnificent Mile - very quiet - loved the restaurant (Cafe des Architects) - especially breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TACSEM
Business
Staten Island, NY
Aug 17, 2009

Great Hotel

This hotel was very nice and in a great location. Only two short blocks to the train and about the same to Michigan Ave. The staff was very nice and the rooms very comfortable and a nice size for a hotel in a city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to Smoque BBQ for a great BBQ meal. Take the blue line train to the Irving Park station, get off the train, go left, down the stairs and make a right. Walk two blocks to the place. This place was on the Food Network which is what made me go and it was very good. It's BYOB and very, very casual.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iowa Native Ventures Out
Business
Iowa City, IA
Jul 27, 2009

Great room, service, and location

The room and view were beautiful and very nicely furnished. Besides the location and beauty of the hotel and facilities, we were struck by how friendly and helpful all of the staff were, from the bellman to the front desk to the hostess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Le Colonial restaurant just 2 blocks North on Rush was excellent atmosphere and French Vietamese food with white tablecloth. Always one of my favorites.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chief Mike
Business
Geneva, IL
Jul 12, 2009

A nice weekend retreat

My wife and I joined another couple for a day at Wrigley Field and a night on the town (I realize I probably lost most White Sox and Cardinal fans from reading any further). Check-in was very easy. The bellhops & front desk staff were very friendly. We have stayed at some other well-rated downtown hotels where check-in was not so pleasant. Although the hotel was sold out for the night they were able to accommodate our request at booking for two adjacent rooms. The room was very clean and very functional. We really liked the European decor (IKEA-like but MUCH nicer). Nice big windows overlooking the city. Nice marble bath with separate shower (a little tight) and bath. The mini-fridge was well stocked. Maid service came by to offer free bottled water. The bed was VERY comfortable, but almost too soft (I was fine, but my wife thought otherwise) and we were surprised that there was no separate bed sheet under the comfortable comforter--just comforter and then mattress sheet. (For peace of mind I will assume the comforter is changed when the bed sheet is changed). The chair with ottoman had to be the firmest chair I have ever sat in--quite the opposite from the bed. Upon leaving the building, when not using the revolving door, doors were opened for us. Passing staff wished us a pleasant evening out. The Hotel is a short walk to Water Tower Place, The John Hancock Center and to many bars & restaurants on or around Rush Street. Of the hotels we have stayed at in the city so far this is our favorite. And we got a GREAT deal through Orbitz, making our night a true bargain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We decided to grab a drink at the Signature Lounge on the 96th floor of the John Hancock Center. Being it was only 9:30 we figured we would be "early" for the true nightclub revelers. We were wrong. We had to wait in a line just to take the elevator up to the Signature Lounge or the Signature Room (restaurant on the 95th floor). But the line moved relatively well. However, there was another line once you got off the elevator. We kept thinking "surely all of these people want the observation floor (94th) and not to just get a drink." Apparently not. But again, the line moved relatively quickly and we did get seated at a table right next to the windows facing south. Service was very slow, some drinks were very strong and we needed the light from our cell phones to read the drink menu. The place was crowded and loud. The drinks were not cheap (but I didn't need to tell you that, did I? $64 with tax before tip for 4 drinks and a piece of tiramisu). Yes, the view was beautiful and we were able to watch the Navy Pier fireworks from our table. I get to check off one more thing from my "to do" list, but a bit too touristy to probably do again.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 24, 2008

Excellent Hotel

The location is excellent, the food is outstanding (very French). I found the staff very nice and the room was lovely---great view and new. I would highly recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can get coffee that is already made and waiting for you to take back to your room from the resteraunt.

Back to menu Return to top