$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
View map of 20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OPRF Mom
Couples
Oak Park, IL
Jun 17, 2013

LOCATION!!

Amazing location, beautiful hotel. Room was small but very comfortable and beautifully appointed. Would definitely stay there again. Great for a special occasion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jkidd384
Couples
New York, NY
Jul 8, 2013

Great Birthday Getaway!

Just returned from our trip to Chicago. I brought my girlfriend there for her 25th birthday celebration. The city itself it beautiful and the hotel is only a couple blocks away from the Magnificent Mile (Shopping). I would definitely stay at this hotel again for the convenience factor as well as comfort the hotel provides. I will definitely stay at the Sofitel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tavern on Rush!

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Busy in Chicago
Friends
Iowa City, Iowa
Sep 3, 2013

Easy city weekend

Excellent staff and room amenities. Convenient to Michigan Avenue and the Lake. Room Service exceeded expectations. I will definitely book this room for my next business trip to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't even have to cross the street to find your favorite coffee shop or deli.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Transplanted easterner
Single
Montana
Dec 11, 2013

Well appointed in great location

Very comfortable , great bar with warm fireplace and attentive staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be prepared for chilly wind and well staffed upscale shopping

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
richter09
Family
California
May 25, 2014

Fabulous Chic Hotel near Water Tower Place

Wonderful, modern and hip with fantastic rooms n cool bar area. Super cozy beds and nice appointments

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

See the famous water tower n the Hancock building Just a short walk to Portillos Hot Dogs too

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Bloomfield Hills, MI
Jul 10, 2009

Vacation experience

had a wonderful experience...would highly recommend the Hotel and the service provided by the concierge...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Detroit metro area, Michigan
Jun 22, 2010

Perfect place middle of action

Everything was ready even though we arrived early. Staff was warm, responsive, room was just right, bedding was heavenly...so ok I think I only want to stay there when I am in Chicago

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

we went biking along Lake Michigan, visited the contemporary museum of art, wandered though Borders book store, the Water Tower shops, and along the M.Mile

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
abington, pa.
Aug 15, 2009

big league

WE went for baseball. Great trip,some sightseeing and shopping. Good restaurants near hotel. Third Chicago baseball trip for us and by far the best. Sofitel is a first class hotel from top to bottom. Fine staff (And I mean Everybody) Easy travel on Southwest. No mixup anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

McCormick and Schmicks on Chestnut St. Don't waste your time. Worst day bartender in the USA. This guy belongs in the nasty hall of fame. Go to Mike Ditkas, just down the street. Friendly people and staff.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
MA
Sep 8, 2009

Great hotel and near public trans.

My experience was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Boston, MA
Sep 8, 2009

Comfortable, excellent service

We came here for a mini-vacation and to see some Red Sox games while they were in town. The hotel was in a great location, within walking distance to the Mag Mile, and Rush street...there was also a train station about 2 blocks away. The concierge staff was excellent at recommending restaurants and bars to go to. We did not have any children with us, but there were a lot of people in the hotel who did, and also lots of dogs! Even the room service menu had a pet menu! I would definatly stay here again when I return to Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

While the Mag mile is impressive, it really didn't have many additional stores than your typical mall did...and, Chicago has a sales tax of 10.25%!!!!!

Back to menu Return to top