$211 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
View map of 20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LGBT Traveler Type
Business
New York, New York
Jun 23, 2014

Treat yourself to a little bit of posh!!!

I've never stayed at a Sofitel before and they may have just gotten themselves a new fan. I loved this hotel! The building in itself is a work of art, absolutely stunning. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The rooms are bright and comfortable, huge windows. Beds so comfortable, I didn't want to get up. Only snug was in my one hour wait for room service in the morning, but the food ended up being worth the wait. I highly recommend Sofitel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aashish shah
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Jul 5, 2014

Great Staff, Great Room, Great Location

I wanted a hotel that was reasonably priced, had great city views and was easy to navigate to and from. I got just that with the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. It's 2 blocks from the L train system. Less than 10 minute walk from a variety of great restaurants and shopping. Has what might be the best staff at a hotel I have ever met (very friendly and accommodating). The rooms were clean and well furnished. We had a big enough desk to double as a table, a lounge couch and a super comfy bed. The bathroom has a shower and a bath tub and is very clean. The view from the 31st floor were great. If you needed any info, the staff is more than willing to help you (they were even willing to call the car rental company for me to make a reservation). My one and only complaint is the parking situation. If you have your own car, overnight parking is $63 per night. There are plenty of local lots that charge less. I didn't have to keep a car overnight, so fortunately it was not a problem. The tidbit I loved was that they are accommodating enough to have umbrellas for guests to use at their leisure. Very helpful when we were caught by a surprise shower as we were leaving the hotel. I have stayed at Sofitel hotels before and have had mixed experiences (even had to cancel a reservation once because it was so bad when I arrived), but this Sofitel was awesome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping areas start just one block away at the Magnificent Mile.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Triple double
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Jul 11, 2014

Nice boutique hotel

Good service, very nice location, great shopping and restaurants all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Friends sushi

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GPonte
Business
NYC
Jul 14, 2014

Very Nice Hotel

Beautifully located, would clearly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelingBicyclist
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 11, 2014

Fantastic location, ok room

We paid extra to have a guaranteed view and it was good, but it was also square in front of a construction site. For only 2 of us and 1 short king bed, the room was still small. Hairs in the bathtub when we first checked in... no mini fridge in the room, had to ask for one- which we never did and managed without. Location was absolutely perfect to bike anywhere from and they valet parked our bikes and never seemed bothered by us asking to have our bikes retrieved. However, as we checked in, I (a female) had made the reservations and the credit card used to book the hotel was in my name. I was the one checking us *my boyfriend and myself) in, but as the hotel employee handed us the room keys and gave us the details of the room, he handed the keys to my boyfriend and spoke just to him- ignoring me. Maybe I'm sensitive but it definitely put me off. If you're not planning on spending a ton of time at your hotel but still want a pretty nice place to come back to at night, this is the spot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hans and Franz 69
Business
Cleveland,Ohio
Nov 24, 2014

Perfect Chicago location

We enjoy this spot in Chicago. It's near everything on Magnificent Mile, the staff is always accommodating and friendly. Rooms are quiet,clean and spacious. Rates are usually reasonable in relation to others in area. Easy walk to Wicker Park, Old Towne.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hugo Frogs an awesome dinner and bar spot. Great food and atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weijia W.
Business
Aurora
Jan 14, 2015

decent hotel

all went well, except for parking. they don't have its own parking due to downtown location, but the staff are very friendly to help out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dino scooby
Business
ft lauderdale
Jan 26, 2015

biz trip

comfortable room, in great location, clean, helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CINDYPENG
Business
CHINA
Jul 19, 2014

great hotel

Clean and friendly. Good location and use the LAVIN amenities. Valuable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joseadelcas
Business
Mexico D.F.
Aug 15, 2010

Fantastic

Shoping & visiting

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top