$171 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
215 reviews
great stay!!

The location is amazing, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the room was just great. good... See full review

  • Bari rozen
  • Jul 7, 2014
An Absolutely Awesome Place to Stay!

We stayed 3 nights for a mini-vacation. We were pleasantly surprised to be placed on 28th floor... See full review

  • VWOHSAM
  • Jul 4, 2014
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower provides four-star downtown Chicago hotel accommodations -- minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, the Museum of Contemporary Art, Lake Michigan and upscale boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at one of the best downtown Chicago Illinois hotels.

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Rooms

JrSuite 1 Kg bed
JUNIOR SUITE - 1 king bed, city views. 47 m2,500 sq2. Modern king bed and sofa bed. City or partial lake view, spacious luxury marble bathroom with separate glass shower & tub. 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet and living area.
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 King size bed, Upper Floor. 33 m2,350sq2. Urban chic upper floor room with 1 king bed. City or partial lake view, luxury marble bathroom with glass shower and tub. 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe and high speed internet.
1 Kg bed Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM - 1 King size bed, Low floor. 33 m2,350sq2. Urban chic 1 king bed room, luxury marble bathroom with separate glass shower and tub, 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet
Suite 1 Kg bed Sup
PRESTIGE SUITE - 1 King size bed. 65 m2,700sq2. Contemporary 1-bedroom suite with king bed. City or partial lake view, luxurious marble bathroom with glass shower and tub, 2- 32" LCD TVs, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet and living room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Chicago Water Tower also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8983 -87.6275
Area served
.
Nearby airports
ORD, (ORD), 25.00, W, Km
Area description
Shopping district

Nearby points of interest

  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1 mi
  • City Hall: 1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.2 mi
  • Opera House: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (215)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
215 out of 215
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
wisconsin
Jul 1, 2010

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Great location, beautiful lobby. We thought the bedding and bed were very comfortable. Nice view. Nice bathroom, although the shower stall felt small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed the Architecture boat tour and the bay boat tour. Both gave new and interesting views of the city.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bloomfield Hills, MIchigan
Nov 10, 2009

Our favorite hotel in Chicago.

It's always a pleasure to stay here. Great location, wonderful service, lovely/elegant rooms and a terrific bar area. And our favorite breakfast spot, TEMPO, is a few steps away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat breakfast at TEMPO, right down the street.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
timmertoo
Madison WI
Jul 13, 2009

Weeekend get away

Generally, a very nice hotel in a great location. Staff was friendly but a few things slipped through the cracks such as the service operator not calling the valet for our car which resulted in an extra 20 minute wait, we were also billed for an item not consumed, however, they did resolve the billing error quickly .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Haven Traveller
New Haven, CT
Oct 14, 2009

Lovely Place but Pricey

Lovely place; our room was smaller than I imagined for the price and expected a little more 'wow', I guess; staff was very pleasant but had limited interaction with them except housekeepers (who were charming); a block or two from the upper end of Mag Mile; a few blocks walk to most restaurants; a lesson learned (again)- if you're spending most of your time out seeing the city, spend less on your room and more on your activities and dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tempo Cafe next door great omelettes and very reasonable; open 24/7; dining options at hotel expensive

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 10, 2009

Great hotel and location!

This was the best hotel I've stayed at in Chicago and I'm very picky. It's very clean and the staff was outstanding. If I've got to come up with a criticism, the well-stocked bathrooms are large but the bedroom area is a little on the smaller size - like most in large cities. The beds are great. There is no pool but if you're there on business or shopping, this is the place to be!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tempo is a great place for breakfast and Rosebud's Steakhouse has great steaks.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New years guest
Rural Indiana
Jan 6, 2010

wonderful service

We had a wonderful stay, but it was cut short by a family emergency after one night... The drawback was that I could not get a voucher for the 2nd night and basically lost that money... There should be a method to deal with emergencies... I would have been happy with even a partial credit toward the night that I could not stay.... The Hotel was great, though.. we enjoyed it very much...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Overcharged guest
Indiana
May 28, 2013

Poor staff

When my wife and I arrived they had no record of our reservation. It's took 20 minutes to check in and the lady claimed she found our reservation. Next day I checked my bank statement to find they charged me for the room twice and the second time at a rate of $73 more than the first charge. Please properly train your staff. They didn't know how to find a reservation or that it was already paid and made this a poor experience. Overall nice hotel though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I.M.
Sunny Isles Beach, FL
Jul 11, 2009

My first Chicago trip

Modern, quiet, clean and very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mklr
Seattle, WA
Jan 4, 2010

Family Vacation

Our experience was good with the hotel, [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
kansas city
Aug 2, 2009

Great location for weekend getaway

This was a great location for a quick weekend getaway. It was close to Michigan Ave shopping, Hancock Tower, great little cafes and restuarants within walking distance. Rooms were very comfortable, we had a great view of the lake, room was very quiet. Bathroom was well-appointed, bed was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant in hotel looked good, but great places for breakfast just steps down street or around corner.

Back to menu Return to top