$176 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
View map of 20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 10, 2009

Great hotel and location!

This was the best hotel I've stayed at in Chicago and I'm very picky. It's very clean and the staff was outstanding. If I've got to come up with a criticism, the well-stocked bathrooms are large but the bedroom area is a little on the smaller size - like most in large cities. The beds are great. There is no pool but if you're there on business or shopping, this is the place to be!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tempo is a great place for breakfast and Rosebud's Steakhouse has great steaks.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BizTravler
Business
Orlando, Florida
Jul 8, 2009

Sofitel

Very enjoyable, friendly staff and close to the best Chicago has to offer in shopping and food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glenview,IL
Aug 23, 2010

Great location

great location but not much included in the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

within walking distance to several first-rate restaurants. we ate at Rosebud on Rush and had a wonderful dinner. make reservations, though. saturday nights are busy,

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jb729
Business
milwaukee, wi
Jun 27, 2010

Sofitel Stay

Great location, very comfortable rooms (we were on a high floor), no noise, expensive but very delicious breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not valet park, $50 a night.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Jul 22, 2011

No free wi-fi

The hotel is beautiful. But, there is no free wi-fi in the rooms. A few computers with free internet access are available on the third floor. Also, the long distance phone rates are unreasonable. I made a 2 or 3 minute call that cost about $10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rosrob
Business
Michigan
Jun 26, 2010

Relaxing, first class experience

Concierge was very helpful and staff was very pleasant and courteous. We enjoyed the lobby decor with fresh flowers displayed daily. Food in the dining room was very good, but rather expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to fine Lake Michigan Beach and park.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Haven Traveller
Business
New Haven, CT
Oct 14, 2009

Lovely Place but Pricey

Lovely place; our room was smaller than I imagined for the price and expected a little more 'wow', I guess; staff was very pleasant but had limited interaction with them except housekeepers (who were charming); a block or two from the upper end of Mag Mile; a few blocks walk to most restaurants; a lesson learned (again)- if you're spending most of your time out seeing the city, spend less on your room and more on your activities and dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tempo Cafe next door great omelettes and very reasonable; open 24/7; dining options at hotel expensive

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I.M.
Business
Sunny Isles Beach, FL
Jul 11, 2009

My first Chicago trip

Modern, quiet, clean and very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
City person
Business
Rye, New York
Nov 30, 2009

Did not disappoint

Check in went smoothly, we got 2 rooms on the 32nd floor with nice views. Concierge was helpful. Rooms were quiet, nicely decorated and seemed very clean. Beds were very comfortable. We had breakfast two mornings in their Architect's Cafe, and ended up prefering it to the highly rated Tempo Cafe next door (better ambience, cleaner, and the higher prices included juice and a tasty bread basket). Location near the Michigan Avenue shopping district was good, and we went into the nearby Lamborghini-Bentley showroom 3 times!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mklr
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 4, 2010

Family Vacation

Our experience was good with the hotel, [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top