$117 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
132 reviews
Convenient location

Great location for a quick gateaway weekend, however the quality of the room was a little... See full review

  • Glossy13
  • Oct 14, 2014
great stay

great stay, the location is perfect, the staff is great and very helpful. will come back here again! See full review

  • Bari rozen
  • Jul 27, 2014
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower provides four-star downtown Chicago hotel accommodations -- minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, the Museum of Contemporary Art, Lake Michigan and upscale boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at one of the best downtown Chicago Illinois hotels.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Chicago Water Tower also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Rooms

JrSuite 1 Kg bed
JUNIOR SUITE - 1 king bed, city views. 47 m2,500 sq2. Modern king bed and sofa bed. City or partial lake view, spacious luxury marble bathroom with separate glass shower & tub. 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet and living area.
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 King size bed, Upper Floor. 33 m2,350sq2. Urban chic upper floor room with 1 king bed. City or partial lake view, luxury marble bathroom with glass shower and tub. 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe and high speed internet.
1 Kg bed Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM - 1 King size bed, Low floor. 33 m2,350sq2. Urban chic 1 king bed room, luxury marble bathroom with separate glass shower and tub, 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet
Suite 1 Kg bed Sup
PRESTIGE SUITE - 1 King size bed. 65 m2,700sq2. Contemporary 1-bedroom suite with king bed. City or partial lake view, luxurious marble bathroom with glass shower and tub, 2- 32" LCD TVs, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet and living room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1 mi
  • City Hall: 1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.2 mi
  • Opera House: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (132)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bbdholmes
Pittsburgh
Mar 24, 2014

Visit to Chicago

There's not much you can do to improve this Hotel except for management to keep an eye on employees and how they treat the customers. Most of the employees are very friendly, just a few give you the impression that they could care less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Coffee to go and newspapers are complimentary in the Cafe

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore,MD
Jul 19, 2009

Stylish but spare

I attended a 40 person seminar in the hotel for three nights. The restaurant had a small menu and high prices for all meals. Late one night I got a loud radio broadcast from someone else's radio in my bathroom, which I managed to squelch with an otherwise unexplained knob. No New York Times was available at the desk or otherwise. The Internet cable was defective. (I supplied my own.) There was no place to affix a laptop cable lock for security if you did not want to carry your laptop around all of the time. The room was quite small; there was no way to pass between the bad and desk chair while the chair was occupied. Replenishment of bathroom supplies was spotty. There was a very faux European atmosphere (addressing people who were obviously Americans initially in French)and a stylish white decor, but there were lots of shortcomings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to nearby restaurants for breakfast and dinner; they are better value and better food. One dinner in the hotel is OK, but for any subsequent nights go elsewhere for better food and better value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Jul 11, 2009

sleepy

This hotel had the worst bed that I have ever slept on! I mean seriously every thing was great except the bed fell apart in the middle of the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bekkita21
Business
Baltimore, MD
May 20, 2009

Beware of Allergens!

The hotel location was phenomenal close to everything!!! Upon arrival I was less than impressed with the accomodations as this hotel was highly rated and I guess you can say that I had extraordinarily high expectations. The room size was ok and other than not having a good vacuum, it seemed clean. My main concern was on a personal note. I had the misfortune of becoming ill while in the room. The hotel referred me to the in house doctor who charged me $450 to give me a diagnosis of conjunctivitis because I had red itchy eyes. When my condition failed to improve I called down to the front desk and asked if the bedding might contain any allergens at which point I was told everything in the bed was down, including pillows, mattress pad and duvet/comforter. Additionally, this hotel allows pets and upon closer inspection of the carpets I found large pet hairs throughout my room. Needless to say I was experiencing a terrible allergic reaction. I requested to have my bed swapped out for a hypoallergenic bedding and they agreed to switch my room. Once in the new hypoallergenic room, all blotchy skin and itchy watery eyes dissappeared. I was later told by another traveller that the Walgreens down the road had a 24hr walk in clinic which would have charged about $50 for a visit. The hotel did not pick up the tab for the doctor but did upgrade my room. Overall I was not impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Mar 12, 2010

Esthestics are not everything...

The hotel is beautiful and the rooms spacious and clean (for a city hotel). However, there were issues with the hot water all three days I was there. They were not as responsive as they should have been for a 4 Star hotel. I should have received a free night but all I was offered was free breakfast. In the end, I will not be staying there again. When things go wrong, someone should make it right. No one did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

GO TO GIBSON'S STEAKHOUSE. AMAZING.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Forest, IL
Nov 10, 2009

It was ok...

The hotel was average, nothing too spectacular about it. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated but extremely small. The bed was very comfortable! We were placed right outside the elevator which was a bummer - somewhat noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Panama City, FL
Nov 9, 2009

Overrated

I visit Chicago several times a year and have always wanted to stay at the Sofitel. It was a very average room for the money. Beds were'nt very comfortable and the shower was very small. The location is excellent, the staff was nice and the restaurant was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant was very good for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
singloveteach
Business
Virginia
Dec 30, 2013

Great stay

We spent the night downtown and enjoyed our stay at Sofitel. The hotel was perfect location to the Magnificent mile, a block from Watertower Place and near amazing shopping and restaurants. There were a few small room craftsmanship incompletion that we noticed, but the room functioned perfectly and the desk staff was extremely helpful, friendly, and efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Many of the stores along Michigan Avenue are also in the Watertower Place mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WMac10
Business
Australia
Feb 14, 2014

Chicago in Winter

Overall a positive experience, location good, good atmosphere. The cold winter did impact on the hot water on the 28th floor at times

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nanny Never Right
Business
Baltimore, MD
May 19, 2009

Chicago

Great Hotel, great service. Very conveniently located. Only thing I would like is coffee set up for first thing in the morning. It's nice to have a cup of coffee when you first wake up,read the paper and relax before starting your day. Work out room a little small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very clean city and easy to get around. Great transportation - buses, train. A few too many panhandlers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, Oh
Aug 10, 2009

Good Service

Staff was very courteous. Service was prompt. Location is super.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top