$193 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 1, 2015

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
View map of 20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jul 31, 2007

Excellent Hotel

The Soffitel in Chicago is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. The staff is extremely helpful & friendly, from the greeting at the door, to the front desk and the bellman.The room was spotless, the bathroom luxurious, wonderful thick towels and the bathrobe & slippers felt so good afer a shower!The location can't be beat as you walk out the door and Michigan Ave is right there.I will continue to stay there whenever I am in Chicago...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mike Ditkas Restaurant is right the corner, and the food is fabulous!

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Appleton, WI
Jul 19, 2007

Classy Hotel

The Sofitel is a very claasy hotel. Great architecture. Room was large and very comfortable. Great bed, nice bathroom. I would stay there again and would recommned to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is great nightlife everywhere in the area. The Red Head Piano Bar is a lot of fun.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 17, 2007

Great Experience

We had had dinner in the hotel restuarant 6 months ago and returned to stay there while doing business/pleasure in Chicago. It was even beetter this time . We intend to return on ensuing business trips

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

excellent boutique shopping and dining

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Branford, CT
Sep 29, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Gorgeous lobby, great food in hotel restaurant, rooms don't get better than here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stickley Hunter
Business
Flyover
Jun 16, 2010

A perfect weekend

This was a spontaneous getaway for me and my mate. We got the room upgrade and it was well worth the money. Huge, modern and a great view. We never eat at hotel restaurants, but Les Architects was an exceptional exception.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Prairie Village
Oct 19, 2008

The Perfect Mix of Location and Hospitality

Here's the thing about Sofitel Water Tower: they excel at having everything you need without getting in your way while offering it. The fitness room is small but it has everything I wanted there. The rooms are not huge, but I found it to be the perfect size. Enough room so you're not tripping over your bags. The views are great on the upper floors. The restaurant is good, but waits on Sundays for breakfast, for instance, was too long for me to grab a bite before we left town. That may be a good thing: it means the food is good, I guess. The staff is amazingly helpful and accommodating. We especially liked the bar manager, who remembered the drinks we liked even though we only ordered them once before. The location, near Water Tower and Rush Street, is great. Close enough without being too crazy. You are a block and a half from the L on Chicago Ave. It's also easy to get in and out of the hotel. The distance from your room to the elevators through the lobby and out the front door is short. That's a small thing, but something that is less convenient at the Peninsula. It is expensive, but worth every cent. All in all a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fastal
Business
Metro Detroit
Aug 6, 2010

Wonderful experience

Wonderful staff and location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everywhere

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vernon Hills
Jun 28, 2008

Great location - close to restaurants, bars, shopping!

Beautiful property located in a great area of Chicago. Has a sophisticated yet hip european feel. Great service. Rooms are not huge but very well appointed. Generous bathrooms with all the best amenities. Would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

5 minute walk to Rush Street area which is filled with great restaurants, bars and people watching!

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 18, 2008

Centrally Located

The Sofitel Water Tower is located close to all great places in the city. whether your headed north, south, east & west all attractions and great restraunts seemed so close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The best Vegan and all raw restraunt is real near to hotel.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doug E Fresh
Business
Chicago
May 8, 2011

Great hotel

Fantastic hotel, very clean, very quiet, and super nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top