$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
View map of 20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit metro area, Michigan
Apr 19, 2010

Lovely hotel

The hotel is within a block of the Water Tower; a few more blocks from the Contemporary Museum of Art; close to Lake Michigan's marvelous waterfront with bikes, swimming, roller blades, people!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 8, 2009

Excellent

Very Pleasant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 1, 2009

Contempary Elegance

We took advantage of the hotel and it's services. We sampled the drinks and eats in the lounge while viewing the hussle of Chicago going by. We entertained a client in the restaurant, in which the staff was superb, friendly and informative on the food and wine being offered. We were asked at each entrance to the main lobby area if any staff could be of help. This may be the best service I have received at a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Often tempted to leave hotel for other restaurants. Don't!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Prov. RI
Aug 21, 2009

Sofitel Chicago

The hotel was first class; with the staff being very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
law secretary
Business
East Tennessee
Aug 4, 2009

Great hotel - great location

The location was great - close to the Magnificent Mile - very quiet - loved the restaurant (Cafe des Architects) - especially breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TACSEM
Business
Staten Island, NY
Aug 17, 2009

Great Hotel

This hotel was very nice and in a great location. Only two short blocks to the train and about the same to Michigan Ave. The staff was very nice and the rooms very comfortable and a nice size for a hotel in a city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to Smoque BBQ for a great BBQ meal. Take the blue line train to the Irving Park station, get off the train, go left, down the stairs and make a right. Walk two blocks to the place. This place was on the Food Network which is what made me go and it was very good. It's BYOB and very, very casual.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iowa Native Ventures Out
Business
Iowa City, IA
Jul 27, 2009

Great room, service, and location

The room and view were beautiful and very nicely furnished. Besides the location and beauty of the hotel and facilities, we were struck by how friendly and helpful all of the staff were, from the bellman to the front desk to the hostess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Le Colonial restaurant just 2 blocks North on Rush was excellent atmosphere and French Vietamese food with white tablecloth. Always one of my favorites.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chief Mike
Business
Geneva, IL
Jul 12, 2009

A nice weekend retreat

My wife and I joined another couple for a day at Wrigley Field and a night on the town (I realize I probably lost most White Sox and Cardinal fans from reading any further). Check-in was very easy. The bellhops & front desk staff were very friendly. We have stayed at some other well-rated downtown hotels where check-in was not so pleasant. Although the hotel was sold out for the night they were able to accommodate our request at booking for two adjacent rooms. The room was very clean and very functional. We really liked the European decor (IKEA-like but MUCH nicer). Nice big windows overlooking the city. Nice marble bath with separate shower (a little tight) and bath. The mini-fridge was well stocked. Maid service came by to offer free bottled water. The bed was VERY comfortable, but almost too soft (I was fine, but my wife thought otherwise) and we were surprised that there was no separate bed sheet under the comfortable comforter--just comforter and then mattress sheet. (For peace of mind I will assume the comforter is changed when the bed sheet is changed). The chair with ottoman had to be the firmest chair I have ever sat in--quite the opposite from the bed. Upon leaving the building, when not using the revolving door, doors were opened for us. Passing staff wished us a pleasant evening out. The Hotel is a short walk to Water Tower Place, The John Hancock Center and to many bars & restaurants on or around Rush Street. Of the hotels we have stayed at in the city so far this is our favorite. And we got a GREAT deal through Orbitz, making our night a true bargain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We decided to grab a drink at the Signature Lounge on the 96th floor of the John Hancock Center. Being it was only 9:30 we figured we would be "early" for the true nightclub revelers. We were wrong. We had to wait in a line just to take the elevator up to the Signature Lounge or the Signature Room (restaurant on the 95th floor). But the line moved relatively well. However, there was another line once you got off the elevator. We kept thinking "surely all of these people want the observation floor (94th) and not to just get a drink." Apparently not. But again, the line moved relatively quickly and we did get seated at a table right next to the windows facing south. Service was very slow, some drinks were very strong and we needed the light from our cell phones to read the drink menu. The place was crowded and loud. The drinks were not cheap (but I didn't need to tell you that, did I? $64 with tax before tip for 4 drinks and a piece of tiramisu). Yes, the view was beautiful and we were able to watch the Navy Pier fireworks from our table. I get to check off one more thing from my "to do" list, but a bit too touristy to probably do again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 24, 2008

Excellent Hotel

The location is excellent, the food is outstanding (very French). I found the staff very nice and the room was lovely---great view and new. I would highly recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can get coffee that is already made and waiting for you to take back to your room from the resteraunt.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 21, 2008

beautiful hotel in central location

Sofitel is one of the most beautiful hotels in Chicago. Located just a block or two from the Magnificent Mile and great restaurants, its location was incredibly convenient. We also had a beautiful view of the historic Water Tower, even from the 9th floor of the high rise. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and I would without a doubt stay here again and again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If planning on visiting the Shedd aquarium, try to get your tickets in advance to bypass the long line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top