$191 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 29, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
View map of 20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
kansas city
Aug 2, 2009

Great location for weekend getaway

This was a great location for a quick weekend getaway. It was close to Michigan Ave shopping, Hancock Tower, great little cafes and restuarants within walking distance. Rooms were very comfortable, we had a great view of the lake, room was very quiet. Bathroom was well-appointed, bed was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant in hotel looked good, but great places for breakfast just steps down street or around corner.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Thomas, VI
Jul 27, 2009

Very comfortable and relaxing

I attended a conference at the hotel and stayed in one of the rooms. I really enjoyed the ambiance and comfort. Breakfasts are delicious. Felt pampered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Rutherford, New Jersey
Jun 9, 2009

"Simply the Best!"

Every time that you walk up to the door, there is someone holding it for you. The rooms are beautiful and pristine. The staff was a little stuffy, but did their job very, very well. Great experience. Would totally stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

"Pops for Champagne" was an item on our "To Do" list that we were going to pass on but decided to complete "only for the experience". It was an amazing night. The music was great. The drinks were amazing and different. And the place was super fun. I wish there was a "Pops for Champagne" closer to home!

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
timmertoo
Business
Madison WI
Jul 13, 2009

Weeekend get away

Generally, a very nice hotel in a great location. Staff was friendly but a few things slipped through the cracks such as the service operator not calling the valet for our car which resulted in an extra 20 minute wait, we were also billed for an item not consumed, however, they did resolve the billing error quickly .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wisconsin
Jul 1, 2010

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Great location, beautiful lobby. We thought the bedding and bed were very comfortable. Nice view. Nice bathroom, although the shower stall felt small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed the Architecture boat tour and the bay boat tour. Both gave new and interesting views of the city.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Det Mich
Aug 31, 2009

Great stay ,good price

The location and price were great for end of summer get away, My sister and I were able to relax and only think about what shopping routes we would take. The staff was very personable and the room was beautiful. We would definitely come here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Location to shopping ,places to eat and entertainment was a stones throw.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Illinois
Jun 24, 2009

Good trip and stay

Nice, clean. Someone their to open door every time we went in/out. Couple blocks from Mich. Ave and Water Tower. Had help for anything. Got for a cheap price on Orbitz, great service for cheap. Overall great experience, trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Visitor to Chicago
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Jun 22, 2009

First Class and Convenient

Top of the line four star. Great architecture and extremely attractive and functional rooms. Good bath and excellant flat screen HD television. Also, ideal location: near shopping and dining but with residential feel. Resturant is very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Numerous and varied dining opportunities within three blocks.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Dec 18, 2009

Sofitel Stay

I love this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Wonderful french bagettes with European butter.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toledo, Ohio
Nov 11, 2009

Loved the hotel

One block from Michigan Ave and shopping galore. Steps to many great restaurants and boutiques on Oak Street. I wish there was an in-room coffee maker - I should have checked the amenities list before I made the reservation. The restaurant at the hotel was very pricey for breakfast - but there are many less expensive options within a block or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top