$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
View map of 20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, Oh
Aug 10, 2009

Good Service

Staff was very courteous. Service was prompt. Location is super.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joseadelcas
Business
Mexico D.F.
Aug 15, 2010

Fantastic

Shoping & visiting

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rents
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Jan 10, 2012

weekend getaway

Close to everything if you want to get out. Pretty much everything you need if you want to stay in. We had a wonderful meal in their restaurant. Wish they would accept larger dogs on their pet policy - we would go back more often.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Overcharged guest
Business
Indiana
May 28, 2013

Poor staff

When my wife and I arrived they had no record of our reservation. It's took 20 minutes to check in and the lady claimed she found our reservation. Next day I checked my bank statement to find they charged me for the room twice and the second time at a rate of $73 more than the first charge. Please properly train your staff. They didn't know how to find a reservation or that it was already paid and made this a poor experience. Overall nice hotel though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 10, 2009

Great hotel and location!

This was the best hotel I've stayed at in Chicago and I'm very picky. It's very clean and the staff was outstanding. If I've got to come up with a criticism, the well-stocked bathrooms are large but the bedroom area is a little on the smaller size - like most in large cities. The beds are great. There is no pool but if you're there on business or shopping, this is the place to be!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tempo is a great place for breakfast and Rosebud's Steakhouse has great steaks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BizTravler
Business
Orlando, Florida
Jul 8, 2009

Sofitel

Very enjoyable, friendly staff and close to the best Chicago has to offer in shopping and food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glenview,IL
Aug 23, 2010

Great location

great location but not much included in the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

within walking distance to several first-rate restaurants. we ate at Rosebud on Rush and had a wonderful dinner. make reservations, though. saturday nights are busy,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jb729
Business
milwaukee, wi
Jun 27, 2010

Sofitel Stay

Great location, very comfortable rooms (we were on a high floor), no noise, expensive but very delicious breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not valet park, $50 a night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Jul 22, 2011

No free wi-fi

The hotel is beautiful. But, there is no free wi-fi in the rooms. A few computers with free internet access are available on the third floor. Also, the long distance phone rates are unreasonable. I made a 2 or 3 minute call that cost about $10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rosrob
Business
Michigan
Jun 26, 2010

Relaxing, first class experience

Concierge was very helpful and staff was very pleasant and courteous. We enjoyed the lobby decor with fresh flowers displayed daily. Food in the dining room was very good, but rather expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to fine Lake Michigan Beach and park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top