$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 18, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
119 reviews
Visit to Chicago

There's not much you can do to improve this Hotel except for management to keep an eye on employees... See full review

  • bbdholmes
  • Mar 24, 2014
Exactly what the other reviews state...

Remarkable. Great location. Staff are incredible. Room was beautiful. Only complaint wat that room... See full review

  • Bob James
  • Jan 21, 2014
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower provides four-star downtown Chicago hotel accommodations -- minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, the Museum of Contemporary Art, Lake Michigan and upscale boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at one of the best downtown Chicago Illinois hotels.

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Rooms

JrSuite 1 Kg bed
JUNIOR SUITE - 1 king bed, city views. 47 m2,500 sq2. Modern king bed and sofa bed. City or partial lake view, spacious luxury marble bathroom with separate glass shower & tub. 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet and living area.
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 King size bed, Upper Floor. 33 m2,350sq2. Urban chic upper floor room with 1 king bed. City or partial lake view, luxury marble bathroom with glass shower and tub. 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe and high speed internet.
1 Kg bed Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM - 1 King size bed, Low floor. 33 m2,350sq2. Urban chic 1 king bed room, luxury marble bathroom with separate glass shower and tub, 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet
Suite 1 Kg bed Sup
PRESTIGE SUITE - 1 King size bed. 65 m2,700sq2. Contemporary 1-bedroom suite with king bed. City or partial lake view, luxurious marble bathroom with glass shower and tub, 2- 32" LCD TVs, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet and living room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Chicago Water Tower also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8983 -87.6275
Area served
.
Nearby airports
ORD, (ORD), 25.00, W, Km
Area description
Shopping district

Nearby points of interest

  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1 mi
  • City Hall: 1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.2 mi
  • Opera House: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
119 out of 119
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
FERA
Miami, Fl
Apr 25, 2013

Looooved it!

Great hotel, great location and the staff is very helpful!!! I definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there if I am ever in Chicago again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jul 31, 2007

Excellent Hotel

The Soffitel in Chicago is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. The staff is extremely helpful & friendly, from the greeting at the door, to the front desk and the bellman.The room was spotless, the bathroom luxurious, wonderful thick towels and the bathrobe & slippers felt so good afer a shower!The location can't be beat as you walk out the door and Michigan Ave is right there.I will continue to stay there whenever I am in Chicago...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mike Ditkas Restaurant is right the corner, and the food is fabulous!

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Jun 30, 2009

Excellent, high-quality hotel!!

We spent four nights at the Sofitel Water Tower during a vacation visit to Chicago. The room was excellent!! Very comfortable bed, luxurious bathroom, plenty of closet and dresser space, and nice touches. The hotel is beautiful . . . great architecture, luxurious furnishings, fantastic flowers, super restaurant and bar . . . everything was perfect!! Yes, we would stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the Hancock Tower which is only a few blocks away. The $15 cost of going to the top floor (94th story) Observation Deck is well worth the cost. What a view!! Listen to the headphones too...the information is fun and informative.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 18, 2008

Very Nice Business Hotel

The Sofitel Water Tower is a very nice hotel for business purposes. Check in was easy, and the staff is friendly. The hotel offers a nice restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Room service is also 24 hours. Rooms are spacious with a separate bathtub/stand up shower. The beds are more comfortable than most hotels. The location is great as it is a couple of blocks of the Magnificent Mile and close to many restaurants and shopping. It is also close to the loop which allows easy access to the business district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great Italian restaurant a block away.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
jkidd384
New York, NY
Jul 8, 2013

Great Birthday Getaway!

Just returned from our trip to Chicago. I brought my girlfriend there for her 25th birthday celebration. The city itself it beautiful and the hotel is only a couple blocks away from the Magnificent Mile (Shopping). I would definitely stay at this hotel again for the convenience factor as well as comfort the hotel provides. I will definitely stay at the Sofitel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tavern on Rush!

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
FERA
Miami, Fl
Apr 25, 2013

Looooved it!

Great hotel, great location and the staff is very helpful!!! I definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there if I am ever in Chicago again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Creamridge
Sep 14, 2008

Upscale Hotel

Beautiful lobby, nice dining. They have a lounge that most would appreciate. The room was large and very clean. The bathroom was a decent size and again very clean. Staff was very friendly but attentive. My only complaint about this hotel was that the bed was a bit soft. I felt they needed to replace the mattress! Perhaps it was just my room! I would highly recommend this hotel. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
Doug EEEE Fresh
Chicago
Nov 19, 2012

Awesome hotel for a romantic weekend

I love this hotel, the location is perfect, the hotel is super clean and swanky, and the rooms are ultra quiet. The bar downstairs is fantastic, hip, modern, and fun. Best of all, the rooms are incredibly quiet, which makes for a relaxing night away,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

McCormack & Schmick's is right across the street, their bar is a wonderful place for lunch.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Detroit metro area, Michigan
Jun 22, 2010

Perfect place middle of action

Everything was ready even though we arrived early. Staff was warm, responsive, room was just right, bedding was heavenly...so ok I think I only want to stay there when I am in Chicago

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

we went biking along Lake Michigan, visited the contemporary museum of art, wandered though Borders book store, the Water Tower shops, and along the M.Mile

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
Transplanted easterner
Montana
Dec 11, 2013

Well appointed in great location

Very comfortable , great bar with warm fireplace and attentive staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be prepared for chilly wind and well staffed upscale shopping

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
Cory & Sybel - New Parents
Antioch, IL
Jul 28, 2009

It Doesn't Get Any Better Than This!

We felt pampered every moment at the hotel. We were quite busy in Chicago and were only able to stay one night, but the time we had at the Sofitel was wonderful....and the beds were sooo comfortable!!Rooms were quiet and relaxing. And what a great location -- close to everything you could want to do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park in the parking garage across the street. It is about 1 block away and half the price! Other than that, you can walk to restaurants, shopping, carriage rides, etc. The lake is right around the corner!

Back to menu Return to top