$181 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 29, 2015

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
View map of 20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
145 reviews
Girls weekend

Love this hotel. Great location. Nice bar area for a night cap great restaurant food and service... See full review

  • Nancy S.
  • Jan 27, 2015
Convenient location

Great location for a quick gateaway weekend, however the quality of the room was a little... See full review

  • Glossy13
  • Oct 14, 2014
Policies

Free accomodation and breakfast for one child under 12 years old sharing parents' room (with space for a crib, rollaway bed or by using existing bedding) having breakfast as a family. No club access.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Chicago Water Tower also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Rooms

JrSuite 1 Kg bed
JUNIOR SUITE - 1 king bed, city views. 47 m2,500 sq2. Modern king bed and sofa bed. City or partial lake view, spacious luxury marble bathroom with separate glass shower & tub. 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet and living area.
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 King size bed, Upper Floor. 33 m2,350sq2. Urban chic upper floor room with 1 king bed. City or partial lake view, luxury marble bathroom with glass shower and tub. 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe and high speed internet.
1 Kg bed Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM - 1 King size bed, Low floor. 33 m2,350sq2. Urban chic 1 king bed room, luxury marble bathroom with separate glass shower and tub, 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet
Suite 1 Kg bed Sup
PRESTIGE SUITE - 1 King size bed. 65 m2,700sq2. Contemporary 1-bedroom suite with king bed. City or partial lake view, luxurious marble bathroom with glass shower and tub, 2- 32" LCD TVs, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet and living room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1 mi
  • City Hall: 1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.2 mi
  • Opera House: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 145
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hans and Franz 69
Business
Cleveland,Ohio
Nov 24, 2014

Perfect Chicago location

We enjoy this spot in Chicago. It's near everything on Magnificent Mile, the staff is always accommodating and friendly. Rooms are quiet,clean and spacious. Rates are usually reasonable in relation to others in area. Easy walk to Wicker Park, Old Towne.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hugo Frogs an awesome dinner and bar spot. Great food and atmosphere.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Glossy13
Business
NYC
Oct 14, 2014

Convenient location

Great location for a quick gateaway weekend, however the quality of the room was a little questionable, stains on the carpet, dirty bed drape. The temperature of the room is controlled with a AC/HEAT function but even AC seemed like the room was blowing warm air, made it very stuffy, no curtains on the window, only drapes, construction crew outside seems to be interested in the activity in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Girl and the Goat

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelingBicyclist
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 11, 2014

Fantastic location, ok room

We paid extra to have a guaranteed view and it was good, but it was also square in front of a construction site. For only 2 of us and 1 short king bed, the room was still small. Hairs in the bathtub when we first checked in... no mini fridge in the room, had to ask for one- which we never did and managed without. Location was absolutely perfect to bike anywhere from and they valet parked our bikes and never seemed bothered by us asking to have our bikes retrieved. However, as we checked in, I (a female) had made the reservations and the credit card used to book the hotel was in my name. I was the one checking us *my boyfriend and myself) in, but as the hotel employee handed us the room keys and gave us the details of the room, he handed the keys to my boyfriend and spoke just to him- ignoring me. Maybe I'm sensitive but it definitely put me off. If you're not planning on spending a ton of time at your hotel but still want a pretty nice place to come back to at night, this is the spot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bari rozen
Business
Bay area
Jul 27, 2014

great stay

great stay, the location is perfect, the staff is great and very helpful. will come back here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GPonte
Business
NYC
Jul 14, 2014

Very Nice Hotel

Beautifully located, would clearly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Triple double
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Jul 11, 2014

Nice boutique hotel

Good service, very nice location, great shopping and restaurants all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Friends sushi

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aashish shah
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Jul 5, 2014

Great Staff, Great Room, Great Location

I wanted a hotel that was reasonably priced, had great city views and was easy to navigate to and from. I got just that with the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. It's 2 blocks from the L train system. Less than 10 minute walk from a variety of great restaurants and shopping. Has what might be the best staff at a hotel I have ever met (very friendly and accommodating). The rooms were clean and well furnished. We had a big enough desk to double as a table, a lounge couch and a super comfy bed. The bathroom has a shower and a bath tub and is very clean. The view from the 31st floor were great. If you needed any info, the staff is more than willing to help you (they were even willing to call the car rental company for me to make a reservation). My one and only complaint is the parking situation. If you have your own car, overnight parking is $63 per night. There are plenty of local lots that charge less. I didn't have to keep a car overnight, so fortunately it was not a problem. The tidbit I loved was that they are accommodating enough to have umbrellas for guests to use at their leisure. Very helpful when we were caught by a surprise shower as we were leaving the hotel. I have stayed at Sofitel hotels before and have had mixed experiences (even had to cancel a reservation once because it was so bad when I arrived), but this Sofitel was awesome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping areas start just one block away at the Magnificent Mile.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VWOHSAM
Business
Northwest Ohio
Jul 4, 2014

An Absolutely Awesome Place to Stay!

We stayed 3 nights for a mini-vacation. We were pleasantly surprised to be placed on 28th floor with a great view, as we were expecting a much lower floor. The room was immaculate. The feather bed and pillows were phenomenal - probably the best I have ever slept in any hotel in my life. The staff was friendly and helpful. We were also surprised to get complimentary wi-fi even though the information from the website which we booked indicated it was not free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This is an excellent location for shopping - very close to Magnificent Mile and Water Tower Place.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chi Town Fan
Business
Newport Beach, CA
Jun 18, 2014

Great Downtown Hotel

We recently stayed at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. The location was perfect for walking along Michigan Avenue, as well as accessing the trains and buses. Our room was quiet and peaceful. The staff was attentive and friendly. This is our second stay here and we will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the Architectural Boat Tour along the Chicago River

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sean Patel
Business
Chicago Illinois
Jun 17, 2014

excellent stay!

Staff was excellent and room was clean. View was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

David Rurke steakhouse

Back to menu Return to top