$171 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
215 reviews
great stay!!

The location is amazing, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the room was just great. good... See full review

  • Bari rozen
  • Jul 7, 2014
An Absolutely Awesome Place to Stay!

We stayed 3 nights for a mini-vacation. We were pleasantly surprised to be placed on 28th floor... See full review

  • VWOHSAM
  • Jul 4, 2014
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower provides four-star downtown Chicago hotel accommodations -- minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, the Museum of Contemporary Art, Lake Michigan and upscale boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at one of the best downtown Chicago Illinois hotels.

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Rooms

JrSuite 1 Kg bed
JUNIOR SUITE - 1 king bed, city views. 47 m2,500 sq2. Modern king bed and sofa bed. City or partial lake view, spacious luxury marble bathroom with separate glass shower & tub. 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet and living area.
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 King size bed, Upper Floor. 33 m2,350sq2. Urban chic upper floor room with 1 king bed. City or partial lake view, luxury marble bathroom with glass shower and tub. 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe and high speed internet.
1 Kg bed Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM - 1 King size bed, Low floor. 33 m2,350sq2. Urban chic 1 king bed room, luxury marble bathroom with separate glass shower and tub, 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet
Suite 1 Kg bed Sup
PRESTIGE SUITE - 1 King size bed. 65 m2,700sq2. Contemporary 1-bedroom suite with king bed. City or partial lake view, luxurious marble bathroom with glass shower and tub, 2- 32" LCD TVs, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet and living room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Chicago Water Tower also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8983 -87.6275
Area served
.
Nearby airports
ORD, (ORD), 25.00, W, Km
Area description
Shopping district

Nearby points of interest

  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1 mi
  • City Hall: 1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.2 mi
  • Opera House: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (215)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
215 out of 215
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melzeee
sault ste marie, ontario
Aug 12, 2013

anniversary trip

Great experience. Swanky hotel, in my opinion. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. Staff offered complementary room upgrade & fridge for our drinks without me even asking. Couldn't ask for more attentive, accommodating staff. Quick walk to Michigan Avenue, restaurants, subway, etc. Grocery store & Starbucks right around the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
City person
Rye, New York
Nov 30, 2009

Did not disappoint

Check in went smoothly, we got 2 rooms on the 32nd floor with nice views. Concierge was helpful. Rooms were quiet, nicely decorated and seemed very clean. Beds were very comfortable. We had breakfast two mornings in their Architect's Cafe, and ended up prefering it to the highly rated Tempo Cafe next door (better ambience, cleaner, and the higher prices included juice and a tasty bread basket). Location near the Michigan Avenue shopping district was good, and we went into the nearby Lamborghini-Bentley showroom 3 times!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Philip superstar
Iowa City, IA
Nov 28, 2009

Fantastic experience

The breakfast is fantastic, the staff extraordinary friendly. It is way above any other hotel in Chicago! We will go back anytime!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Philip superstar
Iowa City, IA
Nov 28, 2009

Fantastic experience

The breakfast is fantastic, the staff extraordinary friendly. It is way above any other hotel in Chicago! We will go back anytime!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toledo, Ohio
Nov 11, 2009

Loved the hotel

One block from Michigan Ave and shopping galore. Steps to many great restaurants and boutiques on Oak Street. I wish there was an in-room coffee maker - I should have checked the amenities list before I made the reservation. The restaurant at the hotel was very pricey for breakfast - but there are many less expensive options within a block or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toledo, Ohio
Nov 11, 2009

Loved the hotel

One block from Michigan Ave and shopping galore. Steps to many great restaurants and boutiques on Oak Street. I wish there was an in-room coffee maker - I should have checked the amenities list before I made the reservation. The restaurant at the hotel was very pricey for breakfast - but there are many less expensive options within a block or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lake Forest, IL
Nov 10, 2009

It was ok...

The hotel was average, nothing too spectacular about it. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated but extremely small. The bed was very comfortable! We were placed right outside the elevator which was a bummer - somewhat noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lake Forest, IL
Nov 10, 2009

It was ok...

The hotel was average, nothing too spectacular about it. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated but extremely small. The bed was very comfortable! We were placed right outside the elevator which was a bummer - somewhat noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bloomfield Hills, MIchigan
Nov 10, 2009

Our favorite hotel in Chicago.

It's always a pleasure to stay here. Great location, wonderful service, lovely/elegant rooms and a terrific bar area. And our favorite breakfast spot, TEMPO, is a few steps away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat breakfast at TEMPO, right down the street.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bloomfield Hills, MIchigan
Nov 10, 2009

Our favorite hotel in Chicago.

It's always a pleasure to stay here. Great location, wonderful service, lovely/elegant rooms and a terrific bar area. And our favorite breakfast spot, TEMPO, is a few steps away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat breakfast at TEMPO, right down the street.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Panama City, FL
Nov 9, 2009

Overrated

I visit Chicago several times a year and have always wanted to stay at the Sofitel. It was a very average room for the money. Beds were'nt very comfortable and the shower was very small. The location is excellent, the staff was nice and the restaurant was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant was very good for breakfast.

Back to menu Return to top