$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
View map of 20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RV7 Flyer
Peoria, Il
Nov 25, 2012

Perfect

We got a standard room with a king bed. The bath was outstanding, tub, shower, and spacious. Fit and finish of the room and hotel were as you would expect of this class of hotel, spotless - absolutely spotless. I love my coffee first thing in the morning. The complimentary coffee was the best! Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TACSEM
Business
Staten Island, NY
Aug 17, 2009

Great Hotel

This hotel was very nice and in a great location. Only two short blocks to the train and about the same to Michigan Ave. The staff was very nice and the rooms very comfortable and a nice size for a hotel in a city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to Smoque BBQ for a great BBQ meal. Take the blue line train to the Irving Park station, get off the train, go left, down the stairs and make a right. Walk two blocks to the place. This place was on the Food Network which is what made me go and it was very good. It's BYOB and very, very casual.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
abington, pa.
Aug 15, 2009

big league

WE went for baseball. Great trip,some sightseeing and shopping. Good restaurants near hotel. Third Chicago baseball trip for us and by far the best. Sofitel is a first class hotel from top to bottom. Fine staff (And I mean Everybody) Easy travel on Southwest. No mixup anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

McCormick and Schmicks on Chestnut St. Don't waste your time. Worst day bartender in the USA. This guy belongs in the nasty hall of fame. Go to Mike Ditkas, just down the street. Friendly people and staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, Oh
Aug 10, 2009

Good Service

Staff was very courteous. Service was prompt. Location is super.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boulder Colorado Travelers
Business
Boulder, CO
Aug 10, 2009

Classy Hotel, Even More Classy Staff

Great location near the large, already famous Michigan Avenue shops and restaurants, yet within walking distance of the small neighborhood diners and boutiques. We used the hotel as home base to take the red line train to see the White Sox, to travel to Toyota Park to see the Jimmy Buffet concert (our main reason for traveling to Chicago), to take in the Field Museum, Navy Pier Harbor Cruise, and to visit U of Chicago, Rush Street, and take long walks along the Lake. We have never had more fun and we've been to Chicago several times before. Sofitel was a great hub!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had a great time "people watching" by dining at the outdoor restaurants along Rush St. (Carmine's for dinner, Tavern on Rush for brunch).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
nj
Aug 10, 2009

Chicago

thought the hotel was worth the money considering there was a music fest going on and hotel rooms were scarce. there was complimentary coffee in the restaurant but i had to ask about it, we had a fridge in the room and there is a supermarket around the corner on state which was convenient. we didn't eat at the restaurant, it looked pretty pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Aug 9, 2009

Girls weekend

The staff were very polite and always there to assist. Overall, we had a great experience and would recommend to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland
Aug 9, 2009

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Great service and perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
law secretary
Business
East Tennessee
Aug 4, 2009

Great hotel - great location

The location was great - close to the Magnificent Mile - very quiet - loved the restaurant (Cafe des Architects) - especially breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Highland Park IL
Aug 3, 2009

Fantastic stay

Beautiful room (single, king bed) and spacious bath with separate shower and bath. Bed amazingly comfortable, nice view and spotlessly clean. Did not take advantage of Cafe Les Architects on this trip, since there was a wedding hosted at the hotel this evening. Location is phenomenal. Despite business of wedding, front desk service was quick. Only complaint is slow shower drain, but that hardly put a damper on our weekend in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is a short walk to a heap of great restaurants in the area and far enough from the bustle of Mag Mile for peace, but only a short walk to get there. Highly recommended over any hotel on the Mile.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
kansas city
Aug 2, 2009

Great location for weekend getaway

This was a great location for a quick weekend getaway. It was close to Michigan Ave shopping, Hancock Tower, great little cafes and restuarants within walking distance. Rooms were very comfortable, we had a great view of the lake, room was very quiet. Bathroom was well-appointed, bed was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant in hotel looked good, but great places for breakfast just steps down street or around corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top