$205 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
View map of 20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Logansport, Indiana
Sep 27, 2009

Loved, loved, loved!!

Great location. From the moment we stepped out of the car, there were staff ready to help, direct, and lead us toward the desk. The consierge was very helpful when we were looking for a restaurant for dinner ([...]). She made the reservations while we were out on a walking food tour of Chicago. I will reccomend this hotel to all my family and friends...as a matter of fact, I have already started!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MA
Sep 8, 2009

Great hotel and near public trans.

My experience was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 8, 2009

Comfortable, excellent service

We came here for a mini-vacation and to see some Red Sox games while they were in town. The hotel was in a great location, within walking distance to the Mag Mile, and Rush street...there was also a train station about 2 blocks away. The concierge staff was excellent at recommending restaurants and bars to go to. We did not have any children with us, but there were a lot of people in the hotel who did, and also lots of dogs! Even the room service menu had a pet menu! I would definatly stay here again when I return to Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

While the Mag mile is impressive, it really didn't have many additional stores than your typical mall did...and, Chicago has a sales tax of 10.25%!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Det Mich
Aug 31, 2009

Great stay ,good price

The location and price were great for end of summer get away, My sister and I were able to relax and only think about what shopping routes we would take. The staff was very personable and the room was beautiful. We would definitely come here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Location to shopping ,places to eat and entertainment was a stones throw.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London, UK
Aug 26, 2009

Great location and service

Great location and most attractions and shopping areas are walking distance. Fairly close to the beach....if you visit Chicago during summer. Quite area but close to the Magnificent Mile. Really enjoyed staying at Sofitel....good rooms...relaxing environment (unlike other 5 star hotels....more cosy and does not feel like being at an airport lounge). Concierge was great, got me last minute ticks for the Bears vs Giants game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Absolutely rent a bicycle from www.chicagobike.com. They have a location nearby the hotel.....at Oak Beach or Navy Pier, some 15/20 minutes walk....and you can ride the whole day....and leave the bike at another location within Chicago. Strongly recommend....during summer of course! Also segway tour at Millenium Park....alwasy with www.chcagobike.com.....available a combo....2.5hr segway tour + bike all day. GREAT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Prov. RI
Aug 21, 2009

Sofitel Chicago

The hotel was first class; with the staff being very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TACSEM
Business
Staten Island, NY
Aug 17, 2009

Great Hotel

This hotel was very nice and in a great location. Only two short blocks to the train and about the same to Michigan Ave. The staff was very nice and the rooms very comfortable and a nice size for a hotel in a city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to Smoque BBQ for a great BBQ meal. Take the blue line train to the Irving Park station, get off the train, go left, down the stairs and make a right. Walk two blocks to the place. This place was on the Food Network which is what made me go and it was very good. It's BYOB and very, very casual.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
abington, pa.
Aug 15, 2009

big league

WE went for baseball. Great trip,some sightseeing and shopping. Good restaurants near hotel. Third Chicago baseball trip for us and by far the best. Sofitel is a first class hotel from top to bottom. Fine staff (And I mean Everybody) Easy travel on Southwest. No mixup anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

McCormick and Schmicks on Chestnut St. Don't waste your time. Worst day bartender in the USA. This guy belongs in the nasty hall of fame. Go to Mike Ditkas, just down the street. Friendly people and staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, Oh
Aug 10, 2009

Good Service

Staff was very courteous. Service was prompt. Location is super.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boulder Colorado Travelers
Business
Boulder, CO
Aug 10, 2009

Classy Hotel, Even More Classy Staff

Great location near the large, already famous Michigan Avenue shops and restaurants, yet within walking distance of the small neighborhood diners and boutiques. We used the hotel as home base to take the red line train to see the White Sox, to travel to Toyota Park to see the Jimmy Buffet concert (our main reason for traveling to Chicago), to take in the Field Museum, Navy Pier Harbor Cruise, and to visit U of Chicago, Rush Street, and take long walks along the Lake. We have never had more fun and we've been to Chicago several times before. Sofitel was a great hub!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had a great time "people watching" by dining at the outdoor restaurants along Rush St. (Carmine's for dinner, Tavern on Rush for brunch).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top