$181 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 29, 2015

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
View map of 20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan loves Chicago
Business
Vermont
Jan 17, 2014

Nice overall experience

In Chicago for business, great restaurant, beautifully appointed rooms, top notch staff. Would definitely stay here again and recommend others as well. Price was very reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Test taker
Business
Austin Minnesota
Dec 10, 2009

Great Hotel, great location

The service was great. We asked for late check out and were given it with no hesitation. The beds were very comfortable and the bell staff was always there to help. Great location, close to restaurants and shopping and walking paths along Lake Michigan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
City person
Business
Rye, New York
Nov 30, 2009

Did not disappoint

Check in went smoothly, we got 2 rooms on the 32nd floor with nice views. Concierge was helpful. Rooms were quiet, nicely decorated and seemed very clean. Beds were very comfortable. We had breakfast two mornings in their Architect's Cafe, and ended up prefering it to the highly rated Tempo Cafe next door (better ambience, cleaner, and the higher prices included juice and a tasty bread basket). Location near the Michigan Avenue shopping district was good, and we went into the nearby Lamborghini-Bentley showroom 3 times!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Philip superstar
Business
Iowa City, IA
Nov 28, 2009

Fantastic experience

The breakfast is fantastic, the staff extraordinary friendly. It is way above any other hotel in Chicago! We will go back anytime!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toledo, Ohio
Nov 11, 2009

Loved the hotel

One block from Michigan Ave and shopping galore. Steps to many great restaurants and boutiques on Oak Street. I wish there was an in-room coffee maker - I should have checked the amenities list before I made the reservation. The restaurant at the hotel was very pricey for breakfast - but there are many less expensive options within a block or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Forest, IL
Nov 10, 2009

It was ok...

The hotel was average, nothing too spectacular about it. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated but extremely small. The bed was very comfortable! We were placed right outside the elevator which was a bummer - somewhat noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bloomfield Hills, MIchigan
Nov 10, 2009

Our favorite hotel in Chicago.

It's always a pleasure to stay here. Great location, wonderful service, lovely/elegant rooms and a terrific bar area. And our favorite breakfast spot, TEMPO, is a few steps away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat breakfast at TEMPO, right down the street.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Panama City, FL
Nov 9, 2009

Overrated

I visit Chicago several times a year and have always wanted to stay at the Sofitel. It was a very average room for the money. Beds were'nt very comfortable and the shower was very small. The location is excellent, the staff was nice and the restaurant was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant was very good for breakfast.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JAA
Business
Pittsburgh
Oct 26, 2009

Great Stay

Great hotel in great location. Excellent service and cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Haven Traveller
Business
New Haven, CT
Oct 14, 2009

Lovely Place but Pricey

Lovely place; our room was smaller than I imagined for the price and expected a little more 'wow', I guess; staff was very pleasant but had limited interaction with them except housekeepers (who were charming); a block or two from the upper end of Mag Mile; a few blocks walk to most restaurants; a lesson learned (again)- if you're spending most of your time out seeing the city, spend less on your room and more on your activities and dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tempo Cafe next door great omelettes and very reasonable; open 24/7; dining options at hotel expensive

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Branford, CT
Sep 29, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Gorgeous lobby, great food in hotel restaurant, rooms don't get better than here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top