$181 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 29, 2015

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
View map of 20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bbdholmes
Pittsburgh
Mar 24, 2014

Visit to Chicago

There's not much you can do to improve this Hotel except for management to keep an eye on employees and how they treat the customers. Most of the employees are very friendly, just a few give you the impression that they could care less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Coffee to go and newspapers are complimentary in the Cafe

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Picky guest
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Mar 31, 2010

Fantastic service and attitude

I am very particular and most hotels do not live up to my expectations. This time, the hotel exceeded them with great service, cooperative staff and a beautiful room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicagoland
Mar 29, 2010

Excellent Stay

My wife and I stayed over the weekend to celebrate her birthday. Our entire experience was excellent. The location was ideal for us, only a couple of minutes walking distance from Water Tower Place. The hotel lobby was exceptional and so was the room (luxury - king, upper floor); we had a great view of the city. The experience was well worth the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Mar 12, 2010

Esthestics are not everything...

The hotel is beautiful and the rooms spacious and clean (for a city hotel). However, there were issues with the hot water all three days I was there. They were not as responsive as they should have been for a 4 Star hotel. I should have received a free night but all I was offered was free breakfast. In the end, I will not be staying there again. When things go wrong, someone should make it right. No one did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

GO TO GIBSON'S STEAKHOUSE. AMAZING.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
On Business
Business
London
Jan 30, 2010

Excellent Hotel

Excellent property, great location and impeccable service. Gym on the small side but everything else what you would expect of a 5 star European hotel chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
On Business
Business
London
Jan 30, 2010

Excellent Hotel

Excellent property, great location and impeccable service. Gym on the small side but everything else what you would expect of a 5 star European hotel chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New years guest
Business
Rural Indiana
Jan 6, 2010

wonderful service

We had a wonderful stay, but it was cut short by a family emergency after one night... The drawback was that I could not get a voucher for the 2nd night and basically lost that money... There should be a method to deal with emergencies... I would have been happy with even a partial credit toward the night that I could not stay.... The Hotel was great, though.. we enjoyed it very much...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mklr
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 4, 2010

Family Vacation

Our experience was good with the hotel, [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DocDic
Business
ND
Dec 19, 2009

Comfortable Value

Treated with courtesy and warmth from start to finish. Staff made you feel their pride in their facility. Notable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Dec 18, 2009

Sofitel Stay

I love this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Wonderful french bagettes with European butter.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Test taker
Business
Austin Minnesota
Dec 10, 2009

Great Hotel, great location

The service was great. We asked for late check out and were given it with no hesitation. The beds were very comfortable and the bell staff was always there to help. Great location, close to restaurants and shopping and walking paths along Lake Michigan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top