$176 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
View map of 20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Busy in Chicago
Iowa City, Iowa
Sep 3, 2013

Easy city weekend

Excellent staff and room amenities. Convenient to Michigan Avenue and the Lake. Room Service exceeded expectations. I will definitely book this room for my next business trip to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't even have to cross the street to find your favorite coffee shop or deli.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Mar 12, 2010

Esthestics are not everything...

The hotel is beautiful and the rooms spacious and clean (for a city hotel). However, there were issues with the hot water all three days I was there. They were not as responsive as they should have been for a 4 Star hotel. I should have received a free night but all I was offered was free breakfast. In the end, I will not be staying there again. When things go wrong, someone should make it right. No one did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

GO TO GIBSON'S STEAKHOUSE. AMAZING.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
On Business
Business
London
Jan 30, 2010

Excellent Hotel

Excellent property, great location and impeccable service. Gym on the small side but everything else what you would expect of a 5 star European hotel chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
On Business
Business
London
Jan 30, 2010

Excellent Hotel

Excellent property, great location and impeccable service. Gym on the small side but everything else what you would expect of a 5 star European hotel chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New years guest
Business
Rural Indiana
Jan 6, 2010

wonderful service

We had a wonderful stay, but it was cut short by a family emergency after one night... The drawback was that I could not get a voucher for the 2nd night and basically lost that money... There should be a method to deal with emergencies... I would have been happy with even a partial credit toward the night that I could not stay.... The Hotel was great, though.. we enjoyed it very much...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mklr
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 4, 2010

Family Vacation

Our experience was good with the hotel, [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DocDic
Business
ND
Dec 19, 2009

Comfortable Value

Treated with courtesy and warmth from start to finish. Staff made you feel their pride in their facility. Notable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Dec 18, 2009

Sofitel Stay

I love this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Wonderful french bagettes with European butter.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
City person
Business
Rye, New York
Nov 30, 2009

Did not disappoint

Check in went smoothly, we got 2 rooms on the 32nd floor with nice views. Concierge was helpful. Rooms were quiet, nicely decorated and seemed very clean. Beds were very comfortable. We had breakfast two mornings in their Architect's Cafe, and ended up prefering it to the highly rated Tempo Cafe next door (better ambience, cleaner, and the higher prices included juice and a tasty bread basket). Location near the Michigan Avenue shopping district was good, and we went into the nearby Lamborghini-Bentley showroom 3 times!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Philip superstar
Business
Iowa City, IA
Nov 28, 2009

Fantastic experience

The breakfast is fantastic, the staff extraordinary friendly. It is way above any other hotel in Chicago! We will go back anytime!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toledo, Ohio
Nov 11, 2009

Loved the hotel

One block from Michigan Ave and shopping galore. Steps to many great restaurants and boutiques on Oak Street. I wish there was an in-room coffee maker - I should have checked the amenities list before I made the reservation. The restaurant at the hotel was very pricey for breakfast - but there are many less expensive options within a block or two.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top