$171 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
215 reviews
great stay!!

The location is amazing, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the room was just great. good... See full review

  • Bari rozen
  • Jul 7, 2014
An Absolutely Awesome Place to Stay!

We stayed 3 nights for a mini-vacation. We were pleasantly surprised to be placed on 28th floor... See full review

  • VWOHSAM
  • Jul 4, 2014
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower provides four-star downtown Chicago hotel accommodations -- minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, the Museum of Contemporary Art, Lake Michigan and upscale boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at one of the best downtown Chicago Illinois hotels.

Hotel Map

41.8983 -87.6275
Area served
.
Nearby airports
ORD, (ORD), 25.00, W, Km
Area description
Shopping district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Chicago Water Tower also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Rooms

JrSuite 1 Kg bed
JUNIOR SUITE - 1 king bed, city views. 47 m2,500 sq2. Modern king bed and sofa bed. City or partial lake view, spacious luxury marble bathroom with separate glass shower & tub. 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet and living area.
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 King size bed, Upper Floor. 33 m2,350sq2. Urban chic upper floor room with 1 king bed. City or partial lake view, luxury marble bathroom with glass shower and tub. 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe and high speed internet.
1 Kg bed Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM - 1 King size bed, Low floor. 33 m2,350sq2. Urban chic 1 king bed room, luxury marble bathroom with separate glass shower and tub, 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet
Suite 1 Kg bed Sup
PRESTIGE SUITE - 1 King size bed. 65 m2,700sq2. Contemporary 1-bedroom suite with king bed. City or partial lake view, luxurious marble bathroom with glass shower and tub, 2- 32" LCD TVs, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet and living room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1 mi
  • City Hall: 1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.2 mi
  • Opera House: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (215)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
215 out of 215
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stickley Hunter
Flyover
Jun 16, 2010

A perfect weekend

This was a spontaneous getaway for me and my mate. We got the room upgrade and it was well worth the money. Huge, modern and a great view. We never eat at hotel restaurants, but Les Architects was an exceptional exception.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stickley Hunter
Flyover
Jun 16, 2010

A perfect weekend

This was a spontaneous getaway for me and my mate. We got the room upgrade and it was well worth the money. Huge, modern and a great view. We never eat at hotel restaurants, but Les Architects was an exceptional exception.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit metro area, Michigan
Apr 19, 2010

Lovely hotel

The hotel is within a block of the Water Tower; a few more blocks from the Contemporary Museum of Art; close to Lake Michigan's marvelous waterfront with bikes, swimming, roller blades, people!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit metro area, Michigan
Apr 19, 2010

Lovely hotel

The hotel is within a block of the Water Tower; a few more blocks from the Contemporary Museum of Art; close to Lake Michigan's marvelous waterfront with bikes, swimming, roller blades, people!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Picky guest
Cincinnati, OH
Mar 31, 2010

Fantastic service and attitude

I am very particular and most hotels do not live up to my expectations. This time, the hotel exceeded them with great service, cooperative staff and a beautiful room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicagoland
Mar 29, 2010

Excellent Stay

My wife and I stayed over the weekend to celebrate her birthday. Our entire experience was excellent. The location was ideal for us, only a couple of minutes walking distance from Water Tower Place. The hotel lobby was exceptional and so was the room (luxury - king, upper floor); we had a great view of the city. The experience was well worth the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicagoland
Mar 29, 2010

Excellent Stay

My wife and I stayed over the weekend to celebrate her birthday. Our entire experience was excellent. The location was ideal for us, only a couple of minutes walking distance from Water Tower Place. The hotel lobby was exceptional and so was the room (luxury - king, upper floor); we had a great view of the city. The experience was well worth the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Mar 12, 2010

Esthestics are not everything...

The hotel is beautiful and the rooms spacious and clean (for a city hotel). However, there were issues with the hot water all three days I was there. They were not as responsive as they should have been for a 4 Star hotel. I should have received a free night but all I was offered was free breakfast. In the end, I will not be staying there again. When things go wrong, someone should make it right. No one did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

GO TO GIBSON'S STEAKHOUSE. AMAZING.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Mar 12, 2010

Esthestics are not everything...

The hotel is beautiful and the rooms spacious and clean (for a city hotel). However, there were issues with the hot water all three days I was there. They were not as responsive as they should have been for a 4 Star hotel. I should have received a free night but all I was offered was free breakfast. In the end, I will not be staying there again. When things go wrong, someone should make it right. No one did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

GO TO GIBSON'S STEAKHOUSE. AMAZING.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
On Business
Business
London
Jan 30, 2010

Excellent Hotel

Excellent property, great location and impeccable service. Gym on the small side but everything else what you would expect of a 5 star European hotel chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top