$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
View map of 20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
singloveteach
Business
Virginia
Dec 30, 2013

Great stay

We spent the night downtown and enjoyed our stay at Sofitel. The hotel was perfect location to the Magnificent mile, a block from Watertower Place and near amazing shopping and restaurants. There were a few small room craftsmanship incompletion that we noticed, but the room functioned perfectly and the desk staff was extremely helpful, friendly, and efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Many of the stores along Michigan Avenue are also in the Watertower Place mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Transplanted easterner
Business
Montana
Dec 11, 2013

Well appointed in great location

Very comfortable , great bar with warm fireplace and attentive staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be prepared for chilly wind and well staffed upscale shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Busy in Chicago
Business
Iowa City, Iowa
Sep 3, 2013

Easy city weekend

Excellent staff and room amenities. Convenient to Michigan Avenue and the Lake. Room Service exceeded expectations. I will definitely book this room for my next business trip to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't even have to cross the street to find your favorite coffee shop or deli.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melzeee
Business
sault ste marie, ontario
Aug 12, 2013

anniversary trip

Great experience. Swanky hotel, in my opinion. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. Staff offered complementary room upgrade & fridge for our drinks without me even asking. Couldn't ask for more attentive, accommodating staff. Quick walk to Michigan Avenue, restaurants, subway, etc. Grocery store & Starbucks right around the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jkidd384
Business
New York, NY
Jul 8, 2013

Great Birthday Getaway!

Just returned from our trip to Chicago. I brought my girlfriend there for her 25th birthday celebration. The city itself it beautiful and the hotel is only a couple blocks away from the Magnificent Mile (Shopping). I would definitely stay at this hotel again for the convenience factor as well as comfort the hotel provides. I will definitely stay at the Sofitel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tavern on Rush!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OPRF Mom
Business
Oak Park, IL
Jun 17, 2013

LOCATION!!

Amazing location, beautiful hotel. Room was small but very comfortable and beautifully appointed. Would definitely stay there again. Great for a special occasion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Overcharged guest
Business
Indiana
May 28, 2013

Poor staff

When my wife and I arrived they had no record of our reservation. It's took 20 minutes to check in and the lady claimed she found our reservation. Next day I checked my bank statement to find they charged me for the room twice and the second time at a rate of $73 more than the first charge. Please properly train your staff. They didn't know how to find a reservation or that it was already paid and made this a poor experience. Overall nice hotel though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FERA
Business
Miami, Fl
Apr 25, 2013

Looooved it!

Great hotel, great location and the staff is very helpful!!! I definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there if I am ever in Chicago again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
steve1987
Business
Morristown, NJ
Mar 23, 2013

long weekend, great stay!

Great hotel... location was fine, close to red line CTA which we took pretty much everywhere. Huge bathroom and king size bed was comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hair Colourist MeghanRuth
Business
Kansas City
Mar 14, 2013

Perfect for couples

My favorite hotel in Chicago. If you have good taste and style this hotel is for you! Perfect for couples and singles. Not really a place for children. All meals here are amazing! Check out the Le Bar for the best cocktails and the Noir Chocolate. I'm already planning a return trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Gold coast and north side has a lot to offer for people looking to stay away from the tourist!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top