$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
View map of 20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Triple double
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Jul 11, 2014

Nice boutique hotel

Good service, very nice location, great shopping and restaurants all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Friends sushi

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bari rozen
Business
Bay area
Jul 7, 2014

great stay!!

The location is amazing, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the room was just great. good value for the money, will definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aashish shah
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Jul 5, 2014

Great Staff, Great Room, Great Location

I wanted a hotel that was reasonably priced, had great city views and was easy to navigate to and from. I got just that with the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. It's 2 blocks from the L train system. Less than 10 minute walk from a variety of great restaurants and shopping. Has what might be the best staff at a hotel I have ever met (very friendly and accommodating). The rooms were clean and well furnished. We had a big enough desk to double as a table, a lounge couch and a super comfy bed. The bathroom has a shower and a bath tub and is very clean. The view from the 31st floor were great. If you needed any info, the staff is more than willing to help you (they were even willing to call the car rental company for me to make a reservation). My one and only complaint is the parking situation. If you have your own car, overnight parking is $63 per night. There are plenty of local lots that charge less. I didn't have to keep a car overnight, so fortunately it was not a problem. The tidbit I loved was that they are accommodating enough to have umbrellas for guests to use at their leisure. Very helpful when we were caught by a surprise shower as we were leaving the hotel. I have stayed at Sofitel hotels before and have had mixed experiences (even had to cancel a reservation once because it was so bad when I arrived), but this Sofitel was awesome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping areas start just one block away at the Magnificent Mile.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VWOHSAM
Business
Northwest Ohio
Jul 4, 2014

An Absolutely Awesome Place to Stay!

We stayed 3 nights for a mini-vacation. We were pleasantly surprised to be placed on 28th floor with a great view, as we were expecting a much lower floor. The room was immaculate. The feather bed and pillows were phenomenal - probably the best I have ever slept in any hotel in my life. The staff was friendly and helpful. We were also surprised to get complimentary wi-fi even though the information from the website which we booked indicated it was not free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This is an excellent location for shopping - very close to Magnificent Mile and Water Tower Place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LGBT Traveler Type
Business
New York, New York
Jun 23, 2014

Treat yourself to a little bit of posh!!!

I've never stayed at a Sofitel before and they may have just gotten themselves a new fan. I loved this hotel! The building in itself is a work of art, absolutely stunning. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The rooms are bright and comfortable, huge windows. Beds so comfortable, I didn't want to get up. Only snug was in my one hour wait for room service in the morning, but the food ended up being worth the wait. I highly recommend Sofitel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chi Town Fan
Business
Newport Beach, CA
Jun 18, 2014

Great Downtown Hotel

We recently stayed at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. The location was perfect for walking along Michigan Avenue, as well as accessing the trains and buses. Our room was quiet and peaceful. The staff was attentive and friendly. This is our second stay here and we will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the Architectural Boat Tour along the Chicago River

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sean Patel
Business
Chicago Illinois
Jun 17, 2014

excellent stay!

Staff was excellent and room was clean. View was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

David Rurke steakhouse

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
richter09
Business
California
May 25, 2014

Fabulous Chic Hotel near Water Tower Place

Wonderful, modern and hip with fantastic rooms n cool bar area. Super cozy beds and nice appointments

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

See the famous water tower n the Hancock building Just a short walk to Portillos Hot Dogs too

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bbdholmes
Business
Pittsburgh
Mar 24, 2014

Visit to Chicago

There's not much you can do to improve this Hotel except for management to keep an eye on employees and how they treat the customers. Most of the employees are very friendly, just a few give you the impression that they could care less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Coffee to go and newspapers are complimentary in the Cafe

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WMac10
Business
Australia
Feb 14, 2014

Chicago in Winter

Overall a positive experience, location good, good atmosphere. The cold winter did impact on the hot water on the 28th floor at times

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top