$191 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 29, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
View map of 20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan loves Chicago
Business
Vermont
Jan 17, 2014

Nice overall experience

In Chicago for business, great restaurant, beautifully appointed rooms, top notch staff. Would definitely stay here again and recommend others as well. Price was very reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BizTravler
Business
Orlando, Florida
Jul 8, 2009

Sofitel

Very enjoyable, friendly staff and close to the best Chicago has to offer in shopping and food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 1, 2009

Contempary Elegance

We took advantage of the hotel and it's services. We sampled the drinks and eats in the lounge while viewing the hussle of Chicago going by. We entertained a client in the restaurant, in which the staff was superb, friendly and informative on the food and wine being offered. We were asked at each entrance to the main lobby area if any staff could be of help. This may be the best service I have received at a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Often tempted to leave hotel for other restaurants. Don't!!

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 30, 2009

Excellent, high-quality hotel!!

We spent four nights at the Sofitel Water Tower during a vacation visit to Chicago. The room was excellent!! Very comfortable bed, luxurious bathroom, plenty of closet and dresser space, and nice touches. The hotel is beautiful . . . great architecture, luxurious furnishings, fantastic flowers, super restaurant and bar . . . everything was perfect!! Yes, we would stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the Hancock Tower which is only a few blocks away. The $15 cost of going to the top floor (94th story) Observation Deck is well worth the cost. What a view!! Listen to the headphones too...the information is fun and informative.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Illinois
Jun 24, 2009

Good trip and stay

Nice, clean. Someone their to open door every time we went in/out. Couple blocks from Mich. Ave and Water Tower. Had help for anything. Got for a cheap price on Orbitz, great service for cheap. Overall great experience, trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Visitor to Chicago
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Jun 22, 2009

First Class and Convenient

Top of the line four star. Great architecture and extremely attractive and functional rooms. Good bath and excellant flat screen HD television. Also, ideal location: near shopping and dining but with residential feel. Resturant is very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Numerous and varied dining opportunities within three blocks.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
expert traveller
Business
maryland
Jun 10, 2009

short trip

I do not if all the rooms were the same size but for a delux room it was a small room. overall services were good and we were happy with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel restaurant was supposed to be quite good but there are very good places to eat around the hotel too. if they had given us bed/breakfast deal would have been nicer.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
expert traveller
Business
maryland
Jun 10, 2009

short trip

I do not if all the rooms were the same size but for a delux room it was a small room. overall services were good and we were happy with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel restaurant was supposed to be quite good but there are very good places to eat around the hotel too. if they had given us bed/breakfast deal would have been nicer.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Rutherford, New Jersey
Jun 9, 2009

"Simply the Best!"

Every time that you walk up to the door, there is someone holding it for you. The rooms are beautiful and pristine. The staff was a little stuffy, but did their job very, very well. Great experience. Would totally stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

"Pops for Champagne" was an item on our "To Do" list that we were going to pass on but decided to complete "only for the experience". It was an amazing night. The music was great. The drinks were amazing and different. And the place was super fun. I wish there was a "Pops for Champagne" closer to home!

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 8, 2009

Excellent

Very Pleasant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bekkita21
Business
Baltimore, MD
May 20, 2009

Beware of Allergens!

The hotel location was phenomenal close to everything!!! Upon arrival I was less than impressed with the accomodations as this hotel was highly rated and I guess you can say that I had extraordinarily high expectations. The room size was ok and other than not having a good vacuum, it seemed clean. My main concern was on a personal note. I had the misfortune of becoming ill while in the room. The hotel referred me to the in house doctor who charged me $450 to give me a diagnosis of conjunctivitis because I had red itchy eyes. When my condition failed to improve I called down to the front desk and asked if the bedding might contain any allergens at which point I was told everything in the bed was down, including pillows, mattress pad and duvet/comforter. Additionally, this hotel allows pets and upon closer inspection of the carpets I found large pet hairs throughout my room. Needless to say I was experiencing a terrible allergic reaction. I requested to have my bed swapped out for a hypoallergenic bedding and they agreed to switch my room. Once in the new hypoallergenic room, all blotchy skin and itchy watery eyes dissappeared. I was later told by another traveller that the Walgreens down the road had a 24hr walk in clinic which would have charged about $50 for a visit. The hotel did not pick up the tab for the doctor but did upgrade my room. Overall I was not impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top