$193 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
View map of 20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan loves Chicago
Business
Vermont
Jan 17, 2014

Nice overall experience

In Chicago for business, great restaurant, beautifully appointed rooms, top notch staff. Would definitely stay here again and recommend others as well. Price was very reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 8, 2009

Excellent

Very Pleasant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bekkita21
Business
Baltimore, MD
May 20, 2009

Beware of Allergens!

The hotel location was phenomenal close to everything!!! Upon arrival I was less than impressed with the accomodations as this hotel was highly rated and I guess you can say that I had extraordinarily high expectations. The room size was ok and other than not having a good vacuum, it seemed clean. My main concern was on a personal note. I had the misfortune of becoming ill while in the room. The hotel referred me to the in house doctor who charged me $450 to give me a diagnosis of conjunctivitis because I had red itchy eyes. When my condition failed to improve I called down to the front desk and asked if the bedding might contain any allergens at which point I was told everything in the bed was down, including pillows, mattress pad and duvet/comforter. Additionally, this hotel allows pets and upon closer inspection of the carpets I found large pet hairs throughout my room. Needless to say I was experiencing a terrible allergic reaction. I requested to have my bed swapped out for a hypoallergenic bedding and they agreed to switch my room. Once in the new hypoallergenic room, all blotchy skin and itchy watery eyes dissappeared. I was later told by another traveller that the Walgreens down the road had a 24hr walk in clinic which would have charged about $50 for a visit. The hotel did not pick up the tab for the doctor but did upgrade my room. Overall I was not impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nanny Never Right
Business
Baltimore, MD
May 19, 2009

Chicago

Great Hotel, great service. Very conveniently located. Only thing I would like is coffee set up for first thing in the morning. It's nice to have a cup of coffee when you first wake up,read the paper and relax before starting your day. Work out room a little small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very clean city and easy to get around. Great transportation - buses, train. A few too many panhandlers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus Ohio
May 13, 2009

The toast of the town

The staff was extremely professional and at the same time freindly. I don't have anything bad to say. I do have one suggestion though. The majority of the other hotels in the area have gone to provide a breakfast for its guest. I think that is a perfect fringe. Nothing makes your stay unforgettable than on your way out in the morning having at least a continental breakfast at no charge. You should consider this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 4, 2009

Fabulous hotel

Great location and great service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 1, 2009

Very nice hotel in an excellent location

The sofitel is a phenominal hotel with a french feel to it. The lobby is immaculate. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The hotel is located around many different moderately priced restaurants. If you like to shop, the water tower is 2blks away and you have plenty of boutiques in this are. This hotel is strongly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Night life.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Prairie Village
Oct 19, 2008

The Perfect Mix of Location and Hospitality

Here's the thing about Sofitel Water Tower: they excel at having everything you need without getting in your way while offering it. The fitness room is small but it has everything I wanted there. The rooms are not huge, but I found it to be the perfect size. Enough room so you're not tripping over your bags. The views are great on the upper floors. The restaurant is good, but waits on Sundays for breakfast, for instance, was too long for me to grab a bite before we left town. That may be a good thing: it means the food is good, I guess. The staff is amazingly helpful and accommodating. We especially liked the bar manager, who remembered the drinks we liked even though we only ordered them once before. The location, near Water Tower and Rush Street, is great. Close enough without being too crazy. You are a block and a half from the L on Chicago Ave. It's also easy to get in and out of the hotel. The distance from your room to the elevators through the lobby and out the front door is short. That's a small thing, but something that is less convenient at the Peninsula. It is expensive, but worth every cent. All in all a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Creamridge
Sep 14, 2008

Upscale Hotel

Beautiful lobby, nice dining. They have a lounge that most would appreciate. The room was large and very clean. The bathroom was a decent size and again very clean. Staff was very friendly but attentive. My only complaint about this hotel was that the bed was a bit soft. I felt they needed to replace the mattress! Perhaps it was just my room! I would highly recommend this hotel. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 22, 2008

Cool hotel for the money!

The Sofitel Chicago (Water tower) is a fantastic hotel for the money. It is a mix of urban cool/ European chic/ and Chicago hospitality. The location is perfect to travel all over the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss OAK STREET BEACH!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Jul 16, 2008

Wonderful Stay

The room was so cozy and quiet. The bed so comfortable. The TV was very nice. They gave us a great view of the John Handcock Building and we were surprised being we did not reserve it ourselves. The bathroom was spotless. This was at a great location with shopping and restaurants, Gold Coast, Old Town and Lincoln Park. We did not eat at the hotel. We wished there was coffee in the room and chocolates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top