$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 30, 2014

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
119 reviews
Visit to Chicago

There's not much you can do to improve this Hotel except for management to keep an eye on employees... See full review

  • bbdholmes
  • Mar 24, 2014
Exactly what the other reviews state...

Remarkable. Great location. Staff are incredible. Room was beautiful. Only complaint wat that room... See full review

  • Bob James
  • Jan 21, 2014
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower provides four-star downtown Chicago hotel accommodations -- minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, the Museum of Contemporary Art, Lake Michigan and upscale boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at one of the best downtown Chicago Illinois hotels.

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Rooms

JrSuite 1 Kg bed
JUNIOR SUITE - 1 king bed, city views. 47 m2,500 sq2. Modern king bed and sofa bed. City or partial lake view, spacious luxury marble bathroom with separate glass shower & tub. 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet and living area.
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 King size bed, Upper Floor. 33 m2,350sq2. Urban chic upper floor room with 1 king bed. City or partial lake view, luxury marble bathroom with glass shower and tub. 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe and high speed internet.
1 Kg bed Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM - 1 King size bed, Low floor. 33 m2,350sq2. Urban chic 1 king bed room, luxury marble bathroom with separate glass shower and tub, 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet
Suite 1 Kg bed Sup
PRESTIGE SUITE - 1 King size bed. 65 m2,700sq2. Contemporary 1-bedroom suite with king bed. City or partial lake view, luxurious marble bathroom with glass shower and tub, 2- 32" LCD TVs, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet and living room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Chicago Water Tower also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8983 -87.6275
Area served
.
Nearby airports
ORD, (ORD), 25.00, W, Km
Area description
Shopping district

Nearby points of interest

  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1 mi
  • City Hall: 1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.2 mi
  • Opera House: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
119 out of 119
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
Bob James
Chicago
Jan 21, 2014

Exactly what the other reviews state...

Remarkable. Great location. Staff are incredible. Room was beautiful. Only complaint wat that room was dry. Wonderful 10th anniversary weekend with wife! Thank You Sofitel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Central Illinois
Jun 24, 2009

Good trip and stay

Nice, clean. Someone their to open door every time we went in/out. Couple blocks from Mich. Ave and Water Tower. Had help for anything. Got for a cheap price on Orbitz, great service for cheap. Overall great experience, trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
Frequent Visitor to Chicago
Indianapolis, Indiana
Jun 22, 2009

First Class and Convenient

Top of the line four star. Great architecture and extremely attractive and functional rooms. Good bath and excellant flat screen HD television. Also, ideal location: near shopping and dining but with residential feel. Resturant is very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Numerous and varied dining opportunities within three blocks.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
expert traveller
maryland
Jun 10, 2009

short trip

I do not if all the rooms were the same size but for a delux room it was a small room. overall services were good and we were happy with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the hotel restaurant was supposed to be quite good but there are very good places to eat around the hotel too. if they had given us bed/breakfast deal would have been nicer.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
East Rutherford, New Jersey
Jun 9, 2009

"Simply the Best!"

Every time that you walk up to the door, there is someone holding it for you. The rooms are beautiful and pristine. The staff was a little stuffy, but did their job very, very well. Great experience. Would totally stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

"Pops for Champagne" was an item on our "To Do" list that we were going to pass on but decided to complete "only for the experience". It was an amazing night. The music was great. The drinks were amazing and different. And the place was super fun. I wish there was a "Pops for Champagne" closer to home!

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 8, 2009

Excellent

Very Pleasant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

3
Bekkita21
Business
Baltimore, MD
May 20, 2009

Beware of Allergens!

The hotel location was phenomenal close to everything!!! Upon arrival I was less than impressed with the accomodations as this hotel was highly rated and I guess you can say that I had extraordinarily high expectations. The room size was ok and other than not having a good vacuum, it seemed clean. My main concern was on a personal note. I had the misfortune of becoming ill while in the room. The hotel referred me to the in house doctor who charged me $450 to give me a diagnosis of conjunctivitis because I had red itchy eyes. When my condition failed to improve I called down to the front desk and asked if the bedding might contain any allergens at which point I was told everything in the bed was down, including pillows, mattress pad and duvet/comforter. Additionally, this hotel allows pets and upon closer inspection of the carpets I found large pet hairs throughout my room. Needless to say I was experiencing a terrible allergic reaction. I requested to have my bed swapped out for a hypoallergenic bedding and they agreed to switch my room. Once in the new hypoallergenic room, all blotchy skin and itchy watery eyes dissappeared. I was later told by another traveller that the Walgreens down the road had a 24hr walk in clinic which would have charged about $50 for a visit. The hotel did not pick up the tab for the doctor but did upgrade my room. Overall I was not impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
Nanny Never Right
Baltimore, MD
May 19, 2009

Chicago

Great Hotel, great service. Very conveniently located. Only thing I would like is coffee set up for first thing in the morning. It's nice to have a cup of coffee when you first wake up,read the paper and relax before starting your day. Work out room a little small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very clean city and easy to get around. Great transportation - buses, train. A few too many panhandlers.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
Columbus Ohio
May 13, 2009

The toast of the town

The staff was extremely professional and at the same time freindly. I don't have anything bad to say. I do have one suggestion though. The majority of the other hotels in the area have gone to provide a breakfast for its guest. I think that is a perfect fringe. Nothing makes your stay unforgettable than on your way out in the morning having at least a continental breakfast at no charge. You should consider this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Boston, MA
May 4, 2009

Fabulous hotel

Great location and great service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Jan 1, 2009

Very nice hotel in an excellent location

The sofitel is a phenominal hotel with a french feel to it. The lobby is immaculate. The staff is very friendly and attentive. The hotel is located around many different moderately priced restaurants. If you like to shop, the water tower is 2blks away and you have plenty of boutiques in this are. This hotel is strongly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Night life.

Back to menu Return to top