$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 8, 2015 Check-out: Apr 11, 2015

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
View map of 20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan loves Chicago
Business
Vermont
Jan 17, 2014

Nice overall experience

In Chicago for business, great restaurant, beautifully appointed rooms, top notch staff. Would definitely stay here again and recommend others as well. Price was very reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cory & Sybel - New Parents
Business
Antioch, IL
Jul 28, 2009

It Doesn't Get Any Better Than This!

We felt pampered every moment at the hotel. We were quite busy in Chicago and were only able to stay one night, but the time we had at the Sofitel was wonderful....and the beds were sooo comfortable!!Rooms were quiet and relaxing. And what a great location -- close to everything you could want to do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park in the parking garage across the street. It is about 1 block away and half the price! Other than that, you can walk to restaurants, shopping, carriage rides, etc. The lake is right around the corner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iowa Native Ventures Out
Business
Iowa City, IA
Jul 27, 2009

Great room, service, and location

The room and view were beautiful and very nicely furnished. Besides the location and beauty of the hotel and facilities, we were struck by how friendly and helpful all of the staff were, from the bellman to the front desk to the hostess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Le Colonial restaurant just 2 blocks North on Rush was excellent atmosphere and French Vietamese food with white tablecloth. Always one of my favorites.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Thomas, VI
Jul 27, 2009

Very comfortable and relaxing

I attended a conference at the hotel and stayed in one of the rooms. I really enjoyed the ambiance and comfort. Breakfasts are delicious. Felt pampered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 26, 2009

excellent stay

The staff were professional and accommodating. And the room was perfect -- clean, comfortable and modern. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore,MD
Jul 19, 2009

Stylish but spare

I attended a 40 person seminar in the hotel for three nights. The restaurant had a small menu and high prices for all meals. Late one night I got a loud radio broadcast from someone else's radio in my bathroom, which I managed to squelch with an otherwise unexplained knob. No New York Times was available at the desk or otherwise. The Internet cable was defective. (I supplied my own.) There was no place to affix a laptop cable lock for security if you did not want to carry your laptop around all of the time. The room was quite small; there was no way to pass between the bad and desk chair while the chair was occupied. Replenishment of bathroom supplies was spotty. There was a very faux European atmosphere (addressing people who were obviously Americans initially in French)and a stylish white decor, but there were lots of shortcomings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to nearby restaurants for breakfast and dinner; they are better value and better food. One dinner in the hotel is OK, but for any subsequent nights go elsewhere for better food and better value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rik411
Business
Waterford, MI
Jul 19, 2009

Beautiful Hotel

I loved everything about this hotel, the price and the location except that the fluorescent lighting above the mirror in the bathroom would have made Halle Berry look gruesome ;-) Room was also a bit small I guess, but standard by Chicago standards. Hotel decor and service were extraordinary. Also great bedding including feather bed topper. Bathroom also has TV speakers in it - nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

5 blocks away is Club Iberico (at Chicago and La Salle). Best Tapas on earth!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee Wi
Jul 17, 2009

Family Getaway

Excellent Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
timmertoo
Business
Madison WI
Jul 13, 2009

Weeekend get away

Generally, a very nice hotel in a great location. Staff was friendly but a few things slipped through the cracks such as the service operator not calling the valet for our car which resulted in an extra 20 minute wait, we were also billed for an item not consumed, however, they did resolve the billing error quickly .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chief Mike
Business
Geneva, IL
Jul 12, 2009

A nice weekend retreat

My wife and I joined another couple for a day at Wrigley Field and a night on the town (I realize I probably lost most White Sox and Cardinal fans from reading any further). Check-in was very easy. The bellhops & front desk staff were very friendly. We have stayed at some other well-rated downtown hotels where check-in was not so pleasant. Although the hotel was sold out for the night they were able to accommodate our request at booking for two adjacent rooms. The room was very clean and very functional. We really liked the European decor (IKEA-like but MUCH nicer). Nice big windows overlooking the city. Nice marble bath with separate shower (a little tight) and bath. The mini-fridge was well stocked. Maid service came by to offer free bottled water. The bed was VERY comfortable, but almost too soft (I was fine, but my wife thought otherwise) and we were surprised that there was no separate bed sheet under the comfortable comforter--just comforter and then mattress sheet. (For peace of mind I will assume the comforter is changed when the bed sheet is changed). The chair with ottoman had to be the firmest chair I have ever sat in--quite the opposite from the bed. Upon leaving the building, when not using the revolving door, doors were opened for us. Passing staff wished us a pleasant evening out. The Hotel is a short walk to Water Tower Place, The John Hancock Center and to many bars & restaurants on or around Rush Street. Of the hotels we have stayed at in the city so far this is our favorite. And we got a GREAT deal through Orbitz, making our night a true bargain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We decided to grab a drink at the Signature Lounge on the 96th floor of the John Hancock Center. Being it was only 9:30 we figured we would be "early" for the true nightclub revelers. We were wrong. We had to wait in a line just to take the elevator up to the Signature Lounge or the Signature Room (restaurant on the 95th floor). But the line moved relatively well. However, there was another line once you got off the elevator. We kept thinking "surely all of these people want the observation floor (94th) and not to just get a drink." Apparently not. But again, the line moved relatively quickly and we did get seated at a table right next to the windows facing south. Service was very slow, some drinks were very strong and we needed the light from our cell phones to read the drink menu. The place was crowded and loud. The drinks were not cheap (but I didn't need to tell you that, did I? $64 with tax before tip for 4 drinks and a piece of tiramisu). Yes, the view was beautiful and we were able to watch the Navy Pier fireworks from our table. I get to check off one more thing from my "to do" list, but a bit too touristy to probably do again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Jul 11, 2009

sleepy

This hotel had the worst bed that I have ever slept on! I mean seriously every thing was great except the bed fell apart in the middle of the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top