$171 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
View map of 20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mabell
Friends
Indianapolis, IN
Feb 25, 2013

Perfect!!

This hotel is located right in the middle of anything you could ever want. Shopping, restaurants, Lake Shore Dr. The staff was amazing and incredibly accommodating, and the bed was soooo comfortable. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends/family. One note, I did park in the public garage located right next to hotel and it was still $37 for less than 24hrs. I was told by valet that it would be cheaper, so it may be worth checking into.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Highland Park IL
Aug 3, 2009

Fantastic stay

Beautiful room (single, king bed) and spacious bath with separate shower and bath. Bed amazingly comfortable, nice view and spotlessly clean. Did not take advantage of Cafe Les Architects on this trip, since there was a wedding hosted at the hotel this evening. Location is phenomenal. Despite business of wedding, front desk service was quick. Only complaint is slow shower drain, but that hardly put a damper on our weekend in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is a short walk to a heap of great restaurants in the area and far enough from the bustle of Mag Mile for peace, but only a short walk to get there. Highly recommended over any hotel on the Mile.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
kansas city
Aug 2, 2009

Great location for weekend getaway

This was a great location for a quick weekend getaway. It was close to Michigan Ave shopping, Hancock Tower, great little cafes and restuarants within walking distance. Rooms were very comfortable, we had a great view of the lake, room was very quiet. Bathroom was well-appointed, bed was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant in hotel looked good, but great places for breakfast just steps down street or around corner.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cory & Sybel - New Parents
Couples
Antioch, IL
Jul 28, 2009

It Doesn't Get Any Better Than This!

We felt pampered every moment at the hotel. We were quite busy in Chicago and were only able to stay one night, but the time we had at the Sofitel was wonderful....and the beds were sooo comfortable!!Rooms were quiet and relaxing. And what a great location -- close to everything you could want to do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park in the parking garage across the street. It is about 1 block away and half the price! Other than that, you can walk to restaurants, shopping, carriage rides, etc. The lake is right around the corner!

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iowa Native Ventures Out
Couples
Iowa City, IA
Jul 27, 2009

Great room, service, and location

The room and view were beautiful and very nicely furnished. Besides the location and beauty of the hotel and facilities, we were struck by how friendly and helpful all of the staff were, from the bellman to the front desk to the hostess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Le Colonial restaurant just 2 blocks North on Rush was excellent atmosphere and French Vietamese food with white tablecloth. Always one of my favorites.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Thomas, VI
Jul 27, 2009

Very comfortable and relaxing

I attended a conference at the hotel and stayed in one of the rooms. I really enjoyed the ambiance and comfort. Breakfasts are delicious. Felt pampered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
New York, NY
Jul 26, 2009

excellent stay

The staff were professional and accommodating. And the room was perfect -- clean, comfortable and modern. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore,MD
Jul 19, 2009

Stylish but spare

I attended a 40 person seminar in the hotel for three nights. The restaurant had a small menu and high prices for all meals. Late one night I got a loud radio broadcast from someone else's radio in my bathroom, which I managed to squelch with an otherwise unexplained knob. No New York Times was available at the desk or otherwise. The Internet cable was defective. (I supplied my own.) There was no place to affix a laptop cable lock for security if you did not want to carry your laptop around all of the time. The room was quite small; there was no way to pass between the bad and desk chair while the chair was occupied. Replenishment of bathroom supplies was spotty. There was a very faux European atmosphere (addressing people who were obviously Americans initially in French)and a stylish white decor, but there were lots of shortcomings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to nearby restaurants for breakfast and dinner; they are better value and better food. One dinner in the hotel is OK, but for any subsequent nights go elsewhere for better food and better value.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rik411
Friends
Waterford, MI
Jul 19, 2009

Beautiful Hotel

I loved everything about this hotel, the price and the location except that the fluorescent lighting above the mirror in the bathroom would have made Halle Berry look gruesome ;-) Room was also a bit small I guess, but standard by Chicago standards. Hotel decor and service were extraordinary. Also great bedding including feather bed topper. Bathroom also has TV speakers in it - nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

5 blocks away is Club Iberico (at Chicago and La Salle). Best Tapas on earth!!

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Milwaukee Wi
Jul 17, 2009

Family Getaway

Excellent Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
timmertoo
Couples
Madison WI
Jul 13, 2009

Weeekend get away

Generally, a very nice hotel in a great location. Staff was friendly but a few things slipped through the cracks such as the service operator not calling the valet for our car which resulted in an extra 20 minute wait, we were also billed for an item not consumed, however, they did resolve the billing error quickly .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top