$171 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
218 reviews
great stay

great stay, the location is perfect, the staff is great and very helpful. will come back here again! See full review

  • Bari rozen
  • Jul 27, 2014
great stay!!

The location is amazing, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the room was just great. good... See full review

  • Bari rozen
  • Jul 7, 2014
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower provides four-star downtown Chicago hotel accommodations -- minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, the Museum of Contemporary Art, Lake Michigan and upscale boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at one of the best downtown Chicago Illinois hotels.

Hotel Map

41.8983 -87.6275
Area served
.
Nearby airports
ORD, (ORD), 25.00, W, Km
Area description
Shopping district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Chicago Water Tower also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Rooms

JrSuite 1 Kg bed
JUNIOR SUITE - 1 king bed, city views. 47 m2,500 sq2. Modern king bed and sofa bed. City or partial lake view, spacious luxury marble bathroom with separate glass shower & tub. 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet and living area.
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 King size bed, Upper Floor. 33 m2,350sq2. Urban chic upper floor room with 1 king bed. City or partial lake view, luxury marble bathroom with glass shower and tub. 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe and high speed internet.
1 Kg bed Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM - 1 King size bed, Low floor. 33 m2,350sq2. Urban chic 1 king bed room, luxury marble bathroom with separate glass shower and tub, 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet
Suite 1 Kg bed Sup
PRESTIGE SUITE - 1 King size bed. 65 m2,700sq2. Contemporary 1-bedroom suite with king bed. City or partial lake view, luxurious marble bathroom with glass shower and tub, 2- 32" LCD TVs, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet and living room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1 mi
  • City Hall: 1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.2 mi
  • Opera House: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (218)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
218 out of 218
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Logansport, Indiana
Sep 27, 2009

Loved, loved, loved!!

Great location. From the moment we stepped out of the car, there were staff ready to help, direct, and lead us toward the desk. The consierge was very helpful when we were looking for a restaurant for dinner ([...]). She made the reservations while we were out on a walking food tour of Chicago. I will reccomend this hotel to all my family and friends...as a matter of fact, I have already started!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Logansport, Indiana
Sep 27, 2009

Loved, loved, loved!!

Great location. From the moment we stepped out of the car, there were staff ready to help, direct, and lead us toward the desk. The consierge was very helpful when we were looking for a restaurant for dinner ([...]). She made the reservations while we were out on a walking food tour of Chicago. I will reccomend this hotel to all my family and friends...as a matter of fact, I have already started!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Sep 8, 2009

Comfortable, excellent service

We came here for a mini-vacation and to see some Red Sox games while they were in town. The hotel was in a great location, within walking distance to the Mag Mile, and Rush street...there was also a train station about 2 blocks away. The concierge staff was excellent at recommending restaurants and bars to go to. We did not have any children with us, but there were a lot of people in the hotel who did, and also lots of dogs! Even the room service menu had a pet menu! I would definatly stay here again when I return to Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

While the Mag mile is impressive, it really didn't have many additional stores than your typical mall did...and, Chicago has a sales tax of 10.25%!!!!!

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
MA
Sep 8, 2009

Great hotel and near public trans.

My experience was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Sep 8, 2009

Comfortable, excellent service

We came here for a mini-vacation and to see some Red Sox games while they were in town. The hotel was in a great location, within walking distance to the Mag Mile, and Rush street...there was also a train station about 2 blocks away. The concierge staff was excellent at recommending restaurants and bars to go to. We did not have any children with us, but there were a lot of people in the hotel who did, and also lots of dogs! Even the room service menu had a pet menu! I would definatly stay here again when I return to Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

While the Mag mile is impressive, it really didn't have many additional stores than your typical mall did...and, Chicago has a sales tax of 10.25%!!!!!

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
MA
Sep 8, 2009

Great hotel and near public trans.

My experience was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Det Mich
Aug 31, 2009

Great stay ,good price

The location and price were great for end of summer get away, My sister and I were able to relax and only think about what shopping routes we would take. The staff was very personable and the room was beautiful. We would definitely come here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Location to shopping ,places to eat and entertainment was a stones throw.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Det Mich
Aug 31, 2009

Great stay ,good price

The location and price were great for end of summer get away, My sister and I were able to relax and only think about what shopping routes we would take. The staff was very personable and the room was beautiful. We would definitely come here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Location to shopping ,places to eat and entertainment was a stones throw.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
London, UK
Aug 26, 2009

Great location and service

Great location and most attractions and shopping areas are walking distance. Fairly close to the beach....if you visit Chicago during summer. Quite area but close to the Magnificent Mile. Really enjoyed staying at Sofitel....good rooms...relaxing environment (unlike other 5 star hotels....more cosy and does not feel like being at an airport lounge). Concierge was great, got me last minute ticks for the Bears vs Giants game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Absolutely rent a bicycle from www.chicagobike.com. They have a location nearby the hotel.....at Oak Beach or Navy Pier, some 15/20 minutes walk....and you can ride the whole day....and leave the bike at another location within Chicago. Strongly recommend....during summer of course! Also segway tour at Millenium Park....alwasy with www.chcagobike.com.....available a combo....2.5hr segway tour + bike all day. GREAT!

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
London, UK
Aug 26, 2009

Great location and service

Great location and most attractions and shopping areas are walking distance. Fairly close to the beach....if you visit Chicago during summer. Quite area but close to the Magnificent Mile. Really enjoyed staying at Sofitel....good rooms...relaxing environment (unlike other 5 star hotels....more cosy and does not feel like being at an airport lounge). Concierge was great, got me last minute ticks for the Bears vs Giants game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Absolutely rent a bicycle from www.chicagobike.com. They have a location nearby the hotel.....at Oak Beach or Navy Pier, some 15/20 minutes walk....and you can ride the whole day....and leave the bike at another location within Chicago. Strongly recommend....during summer of course! Also segway tour at Millenium Park....alwasy with www.chcagobike.com.....available a combo....2.5hr segway tour + bike all day. GREAT!

Back to menu Return to top