$220 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
130 reviews
great stay

great stay, the location is perfect, the staff is great and very helpful. will come back here again! See full review

  • Bari rozen
  • Jul 27, 2014
great stay!!

The location is amazing, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the room was just great. good... See full review

  • Bari rozen
  • Jul 7, 2014
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower provides four-star downtown Chicago hotel accommodations -- minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, the Museum of Contemporary Art, Lake Michigan and upscale boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at one of the best downtown Chicago Illinois hotels.

Hotel Map

41.8983 -87.6275
Area served
.
Nearby airports
ORD, (ORD), 25.00, W, Km
Area description
Shopping district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Chicago Water Tower also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Rooms

JrSuite 1 Kg bed
JUNIOR SUITE - 1 king bed, city views. 47 m2,500 sq2. Modern king bed and sofa bed. City or partial lake view, spacious luxury marble bathroom with separate glass shower & tub. 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet and living area.
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 King size bed, Upper Floor. 33 m2,350sq2. Urban chic upper floor room with 1 king bed. City or partial lake view, luxury marble bathroom with glass shower and tub. 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe and high speed internet.
1 Kg bed Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM - 1 King size bed, Low floor. 33 m2,350sq2. Urban chic 1 king bed room, luxury marble bathroom with separate glass shower and tub, 32" LCD TV, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet
Suite 1 Kg bed Sup
PRESTIGE SUITE - 1 King size bed. 65 m2,700sq2. Contemporary 1-bedroom suite with king bed. City or partial lake view, luxurious marble bathroom with glass shower and tub, 2- 32" LCD TVs, Bose system, laptop safe, high-speed internet and living room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cory & Sybel - New Parents
Antioch, IL
Jul 28, 2009

It Doesn't Get Any Better Than This!

We felt pampered every moment at the hotel. We were quite busy in Chicago and were only able to stay one night, but the time we had at the Sofitel was wonderful....and the beds were sooo comfortable!!Rooms were quiet and relaxing. And what a great location -- close to everything you could want to do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park in the parking garage across the street. It is about 1 block away and half the price! Other than that, you can walk to restaurants, shopping, carriage rides, etc. The lake is right around the corner!

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 7, 2007

Weekend Getaway

Great location, great Service. Staff very efficient and helpful. Room very comfortable and clean. Bathroom great. I have spent multiple weekend trips in Chicago and this hotel is the best that I have stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Appleton, WI
Jul 19, 2007

Classy Hotel

The Sofitel is a very claasy hotel. Great architecture. Room was large and very comfortable. Great bed, nice bathroom. I would stay there again and would recommned to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is great nightlife everywhere in the area. The Red Head Piano Bar is a lot of fun.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chief Mike
Geneva, IL
Jul 12, 2009

A nice weekend retreat

My wife and I joined another couple for a day at Wrigley Field and a night on the town (I realize I probably lost most White Sox and Cardinal fans from reading any further). Check-in was very easy. The bellhops & front desk staff were very friendly. We have stayed at some other well-rated downtown hotels where check-in was not so pleasant. Although the hotel was sold out for the night they were able to accommodate our request at booking for two adjacent rooms. The room was very clean and very functional. We really liked the European decor (IKEA-like but MUCH nicer). Nice big windows overlooking the city. Nice marble bath with separate shower (a little tight) and bath. The mini-fridge was well stocked. Maid service came by to offer free bottled water. The bed was VERY comfortable, but almost too soft (I was fine, but my wife thought otherwise) and we were surprised that there was no separate bed sheet under the comfortable comforter--just comforter and then mattress sheet. (For peace of mind I will assume the comforter is changed when the bed sheet is changed). The chair with ottoman had to be the firmest chair I have ever sat in--quite the opposite from the bed. Upon leaving the building, when not using the revolving door, doors were opened for us. Passing staff wished us a pleasant evening out. The Hotel is a short walk to Water Tower Place, The John Hancock Center and to many bars & restaurants on or around Rush Street. Of the hotels we have stayed at in the city so far this is our favorite. And we got a GREAT deal through Orbitz, making our night a true bargain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We decided to grab a drink at the Signature Lounge on the 96th floor of the John Hancock Center. Being it was only 9:30 we figured we would be "early" for the true nightclub revelers. We were wrong. We had to wait in a line just to take the elevator up to the Signature Lounge or the Signature Room (restaurant on the 95th floor). But the line moved relatively well. However, there was another line once you got off the elevator. We kept thinking "surely all of these people want the observation floor (94th) and not to just get a drink." Apparently not. But again, the line moved relatively quickly and we did get seated at a table right next to the windows facing south. Service was very slow, some drinks were very strong and we needed the light from our cell phones to read the drink menu. The place was crowded and loud. The drinks were not cheap (but I didn't need to tell you that, did I? $64 with tax before tip for 4 drinks and a piece of tiramisu). Yes, the view was beautiful and we were able to watch the Navy Pier fireworks from our table. I get to check off one more thing from my "to do" list, but a bit too touristy to probably do again.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jkidd384
New York, NY
Jul 8, 2013

Great Birthday Getaway!

Just returned from our trip to Chicago. I brought my girlfriend there for her 25th birthday celebration. The city itself it beautiful and the hotel is only a couple blocks away from the Magnificent Mile (Shopping). I would definitely stay at this hotel again for the convenience factor as well as comfort the hotel provides. I will definitely stay at the Sofitel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tavern on Rush!

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DocDic
ND
Dec 19, 2009

Comfortable Value

Treated with courtesy and warmth from start to finish. Staff made you feel their pride in their facility. Notable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FERA
Miami, Fl
Apr 25, 2013

Looooved it!

Great hotel, great location and the staff is very helpful!!! I definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there if I am ever in Chicago again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iowa Native Ventures Out
Iowa City, IA
Jul 27, 2009

Great room, service, and location

The room and view were beautiful and very nicely furnished. Besides the location and beauty of the hotel and facilities, we were struck by how friendly and helpful all of the staff were, from the bellman to the front desk to the hostess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Le Colonial restaurant just 2 blocks North on Rush was excellent atmosphere and French Vietamese food with white tablecloth. Always one of my favorites.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Feb 18, 2008

Centrally Located

The Sofitel Water Tower is located close to all great places in the city. whether your headed north, south, east & west all attractions and great restraunts seemed so close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The best Vegan and all raw restraunt is real near to hotel.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VWOHSAM
Northwest Ohio
Jul 4, 2014

An Absolutely Awesome Place to Stay!

We stayed 3 nights for a mini-vacation. We were pleasantly surprised to be placed on 28th floor with a great view, as we were expecting a much lower floor. The room was immaculate. The feather bed and pillows were phenomenal - probably the best I have ever slept in any hotel in my life. The staff was friendly and helpful. We were also surprised to get complimentary wi-fi even though the information from the website which we booked indicated it was not free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This is an excellent location for shopping - very close to Magnificent Mile and Water Tower Place.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search