$176 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

4 stars
View map of 20 EAST CHESTNUT ST - DOWNTOWN, CHICAGO, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bbdholmes
Business
Pittsburgh
Mar 24, 2014

Visit to Chicago

There's not much you can do to improve this Hotel except for management to keep an eye on employees and how they treat the customers. Most of the employees are very friendly, just a few give you the impression that they could care less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Coffee to go and newspapers are complimentary in the Cafe

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WMac10
Business
Australia
Feb 14, 2014

Chicago in Winter

Overall a positive experience, location good, good atmosphere. The cold winter did impact on the hot water on the 28th floor at times

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bob James
Business
Chicago
Jan 21, 2014

Exactly what the other reviews state...

Remarkable. Great location. Staff are incredible. Room was beautiful. Only complaint wat that room was dry. Wonderful 10th anniversary weekend with wife! Thank You Sofitel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dan loves Chicago
Business
Vermont
Jan 17, 2014

Nice overall experience

In Chicago for business, great restaurant, beautifully appointed rooms, top notch staff. Would definitely stay here again and recommend others as well. Price was very reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
singloveteach
Business
Virginia
Dec 30, 2013

Great stay

We spent the night downtown and enjoyed our stay at Sofitel. The hotel was perfect location to the Magnificent mile, a block from Watertower Place and near amazing shopping and restaurants. There were a few small room craftsmanship incompletion that we noticed, but the room functioned perfectly and the desk staff was extremely helpful, friendly, and efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Many of the stores along Michigan Avenue are also in the Watertower Place mall.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Transplanted easterner
Business
Montana
Dec 11, 2013

Well appointed in great location

Very comfortable , great bar with warm fireplace and attentive staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Be prepared for chilly wind and well staffed upscale shopping

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Busy in Chicago
Business
Iowa City, Iowa
Sep 3, 2013

Easy city weekend

Excellent staff and room amenities. Convenient to Michigan Avenue and the Lake. Room Service exceeded expectations. I will definitely book this room for my next business trip to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't even have to cross the street to find your favorite coffee shop or deli.

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jkidd384
Business
New York, NY
Jul 8, 2013

Great Birthday Getaway!

Just returned from our trip to Chicago. I brought my girlfriend there for her 25th birthday celebration. The city itself it beautiful and the hotel is only a couple blocks away from the Magnificent Mile (Shopping). I would definitely stay at this hotel again for the convenience factor as well as comfort the hotel provides. I will definitely stay at the Sofitel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tavern on Rush!

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OPRF Mom
Business
Oak Park, IL
Jun 17, 2013

LOCATION!!

Amazing location, beautiful hotel. Room was small but very comfortable and beautifully appointed. Would definitely stay there again. Great for a special occasion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Overcharged guest
Business
Indiana
May 28, 2013

Poor staff

When my wife and I arrived they had no record of our reservation. It's took 20 minutes to check in and the lady claimed she found our reservation. Next day I checked my bank statement to find they charged me for the room twice and the second time at a rate of $73 more than the first charge. Please properly train your staff. They didn't know how to find a reservation or that it was already paid and made this a poor experience. Overall nice hotel though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top