$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

River Hotel

3 stars
75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
362 reviews
Great Experience

The hotel was absolutely amazing. It offered a great get away for my girl friend and I. See full review

  • Chris the romantic
  • Nov 9, 2014
taste of Chicago

We loved our time at the River Hotel. The room was quiet and clean, the internet worked well, the... See full review

  • Mommmmm
  • Oct 11, 2014
Perfect location at the top of the Magnificent mile

As locations go, this Wacker Drive hotel couldn't do better, occupying prime riverfront space in the historical Mather Tower off the Magnificent Mile. The landmark River Hotel has kept up with the times, especially when it comes to environmental impact. Its LEED-registered building and Green Power Partner utilizes low-flow showerheads and participates in recycling programs. For what it may lack in luxury and size, the hotel scores on points like casual ambiance, simplicity and value.

Highlights
  • LEED-registered hotel with green design and practices
  • Kitchenettes available, plus free chilled, purified bottled water
  • Delivery from select neighborhood restaurants
  • Bella Bacino's Italian Bistro & Pizzeria
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

Well-kept, comfortable rooms at the River Hotel offer the no-frills traveler twin, full, premium queen and king beds, plus work station. Some rooms are equipped with kitchenettes, and corporate apartments are available for professionals seeking accommodations for longer than a month.  

Features

Not every professional has an expense account and travel-related costs can really add up -- lodging, food and transport to name a few. For the conservative business traveler, the River Hotel offers a great value with special perks like free wireless Internet access and complimentary chilled, purified bottled water. The River Hotel has a convenient location in Chicago, steps from the Magnificent Mile, Tribune Tower, Millennium Park and the Loop for business travelers.

Other features include a 24-hour concierge, and fitness room. Bella Bacinos, a casual Italian-American trattoria, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Valet and self-parking are available for a fee.

Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.6 mi/25.2 km)
  • Chicago Midway Airport (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • Blue Line (Clark/Lake) (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
Attractions

  • Tribune Tower (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Wrigley Building (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • The Loop (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Board of Trade (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • Three meeting rooms
  • 24-hour concierge
  • Same-day dry cleaning and laundry service
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed River Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

River Hotel Rooms

Single/Small Double
Non-smoking smaller room with 1 queen bed- desk- free WiFi- bottled water- coffee and
Standard Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed- work area- free WiFi- bottled water- coffee and tea.
Superior Room With Kitchenette
Non-smoking spacious room with 1 queen bed- free WiFi and bottled water
One Room Suite With Kitchenette
Non-smoking large room-queen bed- sofa bed- free WiFi- bottled water
Two Bedroom Suite with Kitchenet
Non-smoking room with 2 sleeping areas, queen bed, 2 bathrooms, kitchenette and free WiFi.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • State Street: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.9 mi

Dining

Bacinos Restaurant
Bacinos offering American Italian food in a relaxed split-level restaurant. Serving breakfast lunch and dinner 7 days a week.
Multi-Menu Delivery
Multi-Menu delivery to Club Quarters guests and menus are available in the guest rooms.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (362)

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 362
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anistacia Beaverhousen
Business
Peoria, il
Aug 24, 2010

Nice, but small...

I booked 2 suites that were supposed to have a queen bed and a pull out couch each. When we got to the rooms only one was a suite and the other room only had a queen bed. We called to complain and they said there was nothing they could do, but offered us free drinks at the bar. Then they called back a half hour later to say they had a suite for us, but it was a bit too late since we had already unpacked and showered/ They then said that since they offered to change our room they would no longer allow us free drinks at the bar. Also, the room was ste on 80 when we got there, so we turned it down as low as it woudl go in hope that it would cool off but it never went below 73 in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 30, 2010

Hard beds, Chicago

If you like rock hard beds and air conditioners blasting through the night, this is the place for you. AC was extremely loud. Took an hour to get extra blankets that we folded up on top of the mattresses just to get a little cusion. Otherwise rooms were nice. On the plus side, it is conveniently located to many attractions. We tried the restaurant for dessert and a nightcap and were sorely disappointed on both. Worst flourless chocolate cake I've ever had. Drinks and service were also disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

To the Rebar at Trump Towers. Fantastic martini and nibblings. $$$

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Jun 15, 2011

no security

n/a

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

n/a

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nobody Special838
Business
Chicago
Jul 6, 2014

Small

Booked two rooms first one was so small we thaught it was a joke! Not the best hotel to pre game

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spatel113
Business
CT
Apr 9, 2013

Weekend Getaway

Cons: The room was very small, with just enough room for a full size bed and a very small desk. Shower pressure was very low, and the position of the shower head was difficult to adjust, in order to avoid getting bathroom floor wet. While checking in, we were switched to a room with a view of the river. However, the window was very small and was partially blocked by a wall, so we were unable to appreciate the view. Pros: Free water bottle coolers. Free wifi Pizza restaurant downstairs was convenient and good food. Good location Rooms were clean Free computers to use and free printing on the first floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul, MN
Mar 30, 2010

tiny rooms but good location

There were so many things within walking distance such as Michigan Ave, Navy Pier, Millennium Park, etc. So overall it's a great location. We didn't spend a ton of time in our hotel so it worked out well because the rooms are extremely small. When they checked in, they overbooked the room we wanted but upgraded us for free. The parking was the most frustrating as the entrance was difficult to find and finding a way to get to your car after hours is a hassle, but we found out we could enter through the Houlihan's restaurant entrance. When you get your parking ticket validated at the front desk, they discount your parking payment for staying at the hotel. The corner bakery is right there which is convenient to grab breakfast on the go. I was also pleased with complimentary water bottles the hotel provided. Overall, I'd recommend this to people who won't be spending a ton of time at the hotel and needing a lot of space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The famous Giordano's pizza is a very short walk from the hotel, but it most likely won't sit well with your stomach so I'd suggest hitting up Chicago pizza elsewhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 10, 2011

Great Chi-Town locale!

Great location! Nice clean rooms, small, but fine for traveling. Free wifi and water a nice feature. Staff very helpful. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Directly across street is the #6 bus that goes to the science/tech museum and the Robie House. You can get off at Robie House and walk 6 blocks to museum or vice versa. Makes a nice day trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boulder CO
Oct 18, 2010

Chicago River Hotel

It was pretty basic. When we got there someone had used the bathroom and dirty towels where laying around the room. Only one Kleenex box in the room so had to move it from the bathroom to the bedroom. It does not have a sofa only dining room type chairs to sit on. Good location. Not too far from the L train.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Bend, IN
Jun 21, 2011

Not bad, if you like it HOT........

Overall stay wasn't too bad. Our only complaint was the heat! The whole lobby/sitting area was just stifling hot and it didn't help that we had to wait out there for over 40 minutes for our room to be available even though it was past check in time. The hotel was very gracious about that though and comped our breakfast the next morning. Rooms were equally as hot and A/C didn't seem to be operating at full capacity. Rooms very nice and amenities galore.....would probably stay again, but hope for better HVAC in the next room! Our only other minor complaint were the beds - hard as a rock!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Green Bay, WI
Nov 29, 2010

Clean, efficient, comfortable...

For our annual after Thanksgiving girls weekend we typically book our hotel online and don't know exactly where we'll stay until after we've signed up. We've done much better in the past for the price ($129 per night), but the River Hotel is nice; well located right on the river and walking distance to shopping/restaurants. Although the rooms are small,they have all the required amenities; just on a smaller scale. When all four of us visited in one room, we actually had to crawl over the beds to get from one side of the room to the other; literally no walk room (yes, the rooms are actually that small!) Spring water available for dispensing into plastic bottles is a feature. Since hotel promotes itself as "green", all the bottles seem a bit wasteful. Doorman helpful; staff friendly. Did I say the rooms are very small?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Restaurant in hotel has a great breakfast...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top