$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2015 Check-out: Jul 21, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
404 reviews
Great for Girls Weekend!

Very nice hotel!! Staff was amazingly friendly! Room had a single pullout sofa for our 3rd person.... See full review

  • Amy R.
  • Apr 15, 2015
great hotel

Good hotel, good location. Awesome restaurants nearby See full review

  • Abilasha
  • Mar 24, 2015

As locations go, this Wacker Drive hotel couldn't do better, occupying prime riverfront space in the historical Mather Tower off the Magnificent Mile. The landmark River Hotel has kept up with the times, especially when it comes to environmental impact. Its LEED-registered building and Green Power Partner utilizes low-flow showerheads and participates in recycling programs. For what it may lack in luxury and size, the hotel scores on points like casual ambiance, simplicity and value.

Rooms

Well-kept, comfortable rooms at the River Hotel offer the no-frills traveler twin, full, premium queen and king beds, plus work station. Some rooms are equipped with kitchenettes, and corporate apartments are available for professionals seeking accommodations for longer than a month.  

Property features

Not every professional has an expense account and travel-related costs can really add up -- lodging, food and transport to name a few. For the conservative business traveler, the River Hotel offers a great value with special perks like free wireless Internet access and complimentary chilled, purified bottled water. The River Hotel has a convenient location in Chicago, steps from the Magnificent Mile, Tribune Tower, Millennium Park and the Loop for business travelers.

Other features include a 24-hour concierge, and fitness room. Bella Bacinos, a casual Italian-American trattoria, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Valet and self-parking are available for a fee.

Highlights
  • LEED-registered hotel with green design and practices
  • Kitchenettes available, plus free chilled, purified bottled water
  • Delivery from select neighborhood restaurants
  • Bella Bacino's Italian Bistro & Pizzeria
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
Nearby attractions

  • Tribune Tower (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Wrigley Building (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • The Loop (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Board of Trade (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
Business
  • Three meeting rooms
  • 24-hour concierge
  • Same-day dry cleaning and laundry service
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
Transportation
  • O’Hare International Airport (15.6 mi/25.2 km)
  • Chicago Midway Airport (9.5 mi/15.3 km)
  • Blue Line (Clark/Lake) (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (2.5 mi/4.1 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed River Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

River Hotel Rooms

Single/Small Double
Non-smoking smaller room with 1 queen bed- desk- free WiFi- bottled water- coffee and
Standard Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed- work area- free WiFi- bottled water- coffee and tea.
Superior Room With Kitchenette
Non-smoking spacious room with 1 queen bed- free WiFi and bottled water
One Room Suite With Kitchenette
Non-smoking large room-queen bed- sofa bed- free WiFi- bottled water
Two Bedroom Suite with Kitchenet
Non-smoking room with 2 sleeping areas, queen bed, 2 bathrooms, kitchenette and free WiFi.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.2 mi
  • Marina City: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.2 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.4 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.4 mi
  • State Street: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.6 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.8 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.8 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.8 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.9 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.9 mi

Dining

Bacinos Restaurant
Bacinos offering American Italian food in a relaxed split-level restaurant. Serving breakfast lunch and dinner 7 days a week.
Multi-Menu Delivery
Multi-Menu delivery to Club Quarters guests and menus are available in the guest rooms.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 404
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
coach mcd
Business
herrin, ill
Sep 3, 2012

not worth the cost

toilet would not flush, was fixed but not cleaned, shorted towel and washcloth, one coffee cup left on floor after room was cleaned,bathroom floor dirty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 15, 2009

River Hotel

Our reservation was screwed up-hard to tell whether it was Orbitz fault or Hotels-probably Orbitz since my daughter had the same problem and another hotel on the same day with Orbitz that was cancelled. Hotel was very lacking -supplies low on everything-staff seemed very confused most of the time-way too expensive for what you get at this very basic hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Marche

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kenbrowndog
Business
chicago
Jul 1, 2014

poor place

poor handling of situation with pets that they said we could have and then did not allow and did not let us cancel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

fulton market kitchen

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Couple whose kid Free
Business
Columbus, In
Dec 10, 2013

Cold room

Room freezing, took 3 hours to heat after they changed the batteries on the thermostat! Vending broke on our floor, and they didn't seem to eager to fix it. Location in the heart of the city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago Cut was pricey and a little too loud to enjoy.

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FDL,WI
Mar 29, 2010

River Hotal

Relaxation was the goal and that was achieved. Room was shockingly small - smallest we have ever stayed in. If we were 2 big people, it would have been hard to navigate around the room. When we arrived they said they didn't have our registration for 2 twins -- only had a queen. When I showed them the written confirmation they promptly found a king size bed and were upgraded. Biggest problem was how warm and dry the room was. We asked if the room temp could be turned down to 60 (at night) but it was locked to go no lower than 65. We also asked about a humidifier - no go. Little things were quirky - the bed was like a rock, a coffee maker but no coffee, no liner in the garbage cans, the tv was the size of a postage stamp - all very stripped down to minimal. Good things: the view was great! Security good, restaurant on property, friendly staff unless you ask something they can't or won't help you with. I think we could have gotten better accommodations elsewhere - but who knows!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We used the parking service offered by the hotel - we probably could have saved some money by finding a lot on our own. The restaurant was expensive

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Perrysburg, Ohio
May 9, 2011

Small & Modern

We stayed May 2011 - Chicago is a great city to relax and have fun; tons of stuff to do. The hotel had nice features and was seemingly up-to-date, but the rooms are small. We were put on the 3rd floor at first and it was the size of my closet at home. This is no joke, the rooms are extremely tiny. The views are a joke also, although the couple we traveled with had a nice view from the top floor (before they switched thier room to a room that had no hot water). In the end, the hotel is right in the heart of downtown, so if location is most important this would probably be on the list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

if you dont talk to them, they wont talk to you - [tons of wierdo's hanging out in chicago]

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JessicaBel
Business
Volusia county, FL
Feb 2, 2011

Not for me...

While the hotel had a great price and location, i wasn't at all pleased with my room. I payed for an upgrade when i booked the hotel, and it still wasnt anything special. The room was tiny and very close quarters and the tv was very small too. The room temperture also never got above 65 and it was winter!!! It may be perfect for someone on buisness, but it definately wasnt the right hotel for me. On the positive side, the restaraunt in the hotel had excellent food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are planning on going to the Shedd Aquarium, make sure you get there early!!! The line was out the door when we got there at 2:00. Also the mexican restaraunt downtown Su Casa has awesome food!

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nate the dog
Business
Chicago il
Feb 23, 2014

Closet space

Horrible place to be the room. The room was tiny and hot. No view out the window. The bathroom was the best part of room. TV was a nice flat screen but the desk space was horrible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Park goers
Business
Indiana, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Weekend in Chiago

location was great. Several amenities were lacking or not present.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Patts
Business
New York
May 30, 2012

Fantastic location, comfy beds!

Fantastic location & comfy beds made our stay very enjoyable! Chicago was an amazing city. and this hotel was right in the middle of all the attractions we wanted to visit. only negative? The room was pretty small and the price was a little high for what we got. But other than that, a lovely little hotel. Found the restaurant over priced, and the food was alright for these prices, we only ate dinner there once.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

get the chicago city pass!!! :D

Back to menu Return to top