$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
380 out of 380
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Budgeting Dental Student
Business
Milwaukee, Wi
Feb 23, 2014

Hotel Stay

I was really pleased with the cleanliness of this hotel. My room was small, but it was updated and spacious enough that I didn't feel cramped. The bathroom was large enough, plenty of counter space and a large mirror. Overall it was a very good deal for a student traveling on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJ 1940
Business
Chicago
Mar 15, 2014

Good value

Friendly staff. Convenient location. Room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brief travelers
Business
Pittsburgh
Apr 14, 2014

Great location, great price

Fantastic hotel with just the right amount of space for a fabulous price. Great staff. We were able to check in before noon which was very convenient for out of towners. The location was perfect: great view, easy walk to Millennium Park, Art Institute and access to transit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nascar petty fan
Business
warsaw, indiana
Apr 15, 2014

Nice weekend in chicago

We wanted to stay downtown and be able to walk around the area. Easy walk to restaurants of our liking.. Check-in and out were easy. Parking is a short walk. My wife really liked the look of the room, and she can be picky. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Red 51
Business
Cincinnati
Apr 26, 2014

Best deal, great value AND with 5 star service

We booked this hotel based on location and best price. Couldn't have gotten better value for a newer, trendy looking hotel that is a block off Michigan ave. Easy walk to River North bars/restaurants and Mich. Ave. shopping. In addition, the staff was of the quality you would expect from a 5 star hotel! I forgot my iPhone charger & one of the guys ran out to his car to let me borrow his. We requested a crib at check in and it was in our room before we even made it up the elevator ourselves. We would def stay here again & would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KenX01
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
Apr 28, 2014

Fantastic location

Nice downtown hotel located next to the Chicago river. Walking distance to everywhere. Close to restaurants and shops. Outdoor patio available in the warmer weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The emerald loop bar is open late and is very close the hotel. Other restaurant bars are only open to 11pm. I arrived in Chicago at 10:30 and wasn't up for a long journey away from the hotel

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
colotilly
Business
Colorado, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Mom/Daughter Getaway

Both my 23-year old daughter and I enjoyed staying at this hotel. Restaurant was very good, lots to see and do within walking distance. Hotel has a lively atmosphere. We felt like we were in the heart of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the architecture all around you!

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fenderman
Business
Keokuk, IA
Oct 10, 2011

Beautiful room, great location

We were met as we went through the entry door by a clerk who completed our registration in less than a minute, at a computer terminal in the wall of the main hallway. We went directly to our room. The room, like most old hotels was small, but the entire hotel had been recently totally redone/modernized and the room was very-cleverly and very-attractively done. It was very functional and the hotel provided many thoughtful amenities that were free--for instance a chilled, distilled water dispenser (with bottles) in each floor's elevator lobby and two free washers and dryers for guests' use as well as free wifi and wired internet connections, flat-screen TV and very-complete work desk. The decoration was very attractive and the bed comfortable. The location right on the Chicago River and just off Michigan Ave. is unbeatable. There is a nice restaurant and bar in the hotel and in the hotel next door. There are probably ten very-good restaurants within two blocks (five minutes) of the hotel. This was our first stay there, but it won't be our last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jab1987
Business
Long Island, NY
Oct 19, 2011

River Hotel Chicago

I had a great experience at this hotel. The staff was friendly, and the room was affordable. Also, it was a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you need a shuttle to McCormick place for a conference, walk down the street to the Hyatt Chicago and they have shuttles that run to the conference center

Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
irish fan
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Chicago/ South Bend Trip

Friendly staff. Clean/ comfortable room (although they could do a bit better job cleaning the room each day). Great location right in the heart of downtown Chicago. Short train ride away from nearly everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top