$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

River Hotel

3 stars
View map of 75 E Wacker Drive Build, Chicago, IL 60601

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for River Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
377 out of 377
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJ 1940
Business
Chicago
Mar 15, 2014

Good value

Friendly staff. Convenient location. Room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brief travelers
Business
Pittsburgh
Apr 14, 2014

Great location, great price

Fantastic hotel with just the right amount of space for a fabulous price. Great staff. We were able to check in before noon which was very convenient for out of towners. The location was perfect: great view, easy walk to Millennium Park, Art Institute and access to transit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nascar petty fan
Business
warsaw, indiana
Apr 15, 2014

Nice weekend in chicago

We wanted to stay downtown and be able to walk around the area. Easy walk to restaurants of our liking.. Check-in and out were easy. Parking is a short walk. My wife really liked the look of the room, and she can be picky. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Red 51
Business
Cincinnati
Apr 26, 2014

Best deal, great value AND with 5 star service

We booked this hotel based on location and best price. Couldn't have gotten better value for a newer, trendy looking hotel that is a block off Michigan ave. Easy walk to River North bars/restaurants and Mich. Ave. shopping. In addition, the staff was of the quality you would expect from a 5 star hotel! I forgot my iPhone charger & one of the guys ran out to his car to let me borrow his. We requested a crib at check in and it was in our room before we even made it up the elevator ourselves. We would def stay here again & would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KenX01
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
Apr 28, 2014

Fantastic location

Nice downtown hotel located next to the Chicago river. Walking distance to everywhere. Close to restaurants and shops. Outdoor patio available in the warmer weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The emerald loop bar is open late and is very close the hotel. Other restaurant bars are only open to 11pm. I arrived in Chicago at 10:30 and wasn't up for a long journey away from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flash Gordon
Business
Elkhart,Indiana
Aug 31, 2009

Anniversary getaway

My husband and I had a fantastic couple getaway time in Chicago and the hotel was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portage, IN
Apr 14, 2010

One night stay...

Hotel was better than expected after reading some reviews. The check-in and check-out was quick and easy. I liked the fact that you had to put your room key in at the elevators to access the upper floors. The purified water and fillable bottles on each floor was a nice touch as well. Our room was very clean and decorated in a very modern decor. Shower pressure was a little soft but, didn't pose a problem. We had a suite and that offered a couch for sitting that could also be converted into additional sleep space. Overall we got a great rate and the hotel more than met my expectations. One other nice touch is the restuarant downstairs. We did not have to go out for breakfast and wait at a restuarant elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Just let the valet park your car. You get in and out priveleges and the price is comparable to most parking in the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jul 20, 2010

Chicago stay

The hotel is an old hotel with renovations. The room appeared small but the Club Quarters is known for their use of space. It was not a bad thing just not what I was use to. The beds were clean the restroom was clean. No complaints. Location was great about a block and half to the green line and about 3.5 blocks to the L which heads to O'hare. I really liked the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. If you plan to rent a car the valet is $34 dollars a night to park the car. That was more than what I paid for my rental so I took it back and decided to go to use public transportation which is close to the hotel. I enjoyed my stay there and would do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kvb
Business
Southern Il
Aug 4, 2010

The Chicago 24 hour family vacation

Filming of Transformers 3 was happening in the loop. Our room would be perfect on the last days of filming as our hotel was between the restaurant and the other hotel where the filming was to occur. We could see an amazingly awesome view of the Chicago River and Michigan Avenue. We only had 24 hours and due to our location crammed in the House of Blues, a Wendella Boat and Architecture tour, Navy Pier, the Willis Tower Skydeck Ledge, prepping for the Transformers movie, AND a little shopping to boot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of River Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt the Hoople
Business
Minnesota
Sep 28, 2010

Great Location, decent hotel

The location is perfect - right downtown, blocks from everything. Also easy to walk to rail stations. The room was clean, but fairly small. The bed was very comfortable - better than home. The air conditioning does not work well, and the room was stuffy most of the time. Overall, a decent hotel that's great value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the Chicago-style stuffed pizza in the attached restaurant (Bacino's). Excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top